We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #97 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed two nights for the Wimbledon finals - room was very well decorated and furnished and with the added bonus of a Nespresso coffee maker . Very comfortable bed that in my opinion compared well with the beds in the Marriott hotels .

Restaurant was OK - first night Saturday - loud musak pervaded the eating area and it was quite hard to hear a conversation . A glass of Sauvignon Blanc for £6.25 was a bit of a rip off . All the wines were unnecessarily expensive and the food over elaborate for what is basically a hotel within a pub . Second night - Sunday - was better as the restaurant moved to another area near the front of the hotel and there was no musak . Service on both occasions was very good . Breakfast on both days was really excellent .

The reason why we have rated it only 4 stars is because there was a cockroach in the bedroom which was removed by the reception staff - ground floor rooms leading onto the rear of the hotel need to be avoided.

Room Tip: See the comment about ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    157
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
109
231
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and it was a lovely surprise. The quality of the fixtures and fittings in the room were more than we expected for 3 star, a real gem! The staff were very helpful and the bar staff could not have given us better service when we came back from a long day out and about. The food was good, the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing and the service great.

The room was quiet, breakfast which was included was wide ranging and fresh, free parking was a bonus and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112AnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked an overnight stay as part of a surprise trip for my wife to see her childhood hero Stevie Wonder at the Calling Festival 29th June on Clapham Common. How glad I did. It really made the trip complete. Excellent decor throughout, lovely little touches in the rooms - real milk, cappuccino machine in room. Great staff at reception and breakfast. She loved it all, including the festival, and wants to return. Enough brownie points to keep me going for a year....thanks Windmill.

Room Tip: Room 12 on the ground floor at the rear/side so quiet, but quite dark as bushes outside but no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked my (very fussy) parents in there for one night as it was convenient for me. I booked one of the feature rooms (Room 27). We were delighted with the room - beautifully decorated, extremely clean and had pretty much EVERY single amenity you could ask for. Nothing was missed! Breakfast was very good the following morning too. The staff were all very friendly. I'm so glad I've found this place, I will be booking everyone in who come and visits me now!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here on a business trip earlier on this month and I was very satisfied. Upon arrival reception staff were very polite and helpful, my room (Room 9) was very well furnished and very clean, didn't want to get out of bed in the morning (it was that comfy) but unfortunately I had to as I had an important meeting to attend. My evening meal was lovely and the bar/restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also lovely, I choose the royal cooked breakfast that included fresh salmon with eggs benedict, just what I needed to kick start my day. Can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights whilst on a course in Abbeyville Village. Asked for a quiet room and got one. Perfect in every way. Double aspect windows with fab view. Felt like I was staying in someone's home. Shabby chic room, comfy bed and crisp linens. Reception staff welcoming efficient and friendly. Food in glasshouse nice, service efficient but not so friendly. Young man on reception when I left on Sunday 8th June at 2pm who was helpful and a credit to Youngs. Would definitely stay again, in a 3rd floor room

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sallyanne199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent one night here whilst visiting our daughter who lives in Clapham. We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation. There were 6 of us in 3 rooms. All the rooms were slightly differently decorated. They had recently been refurbished and were done to a very high standard.The rooms ere very clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful. There was fresh milk in the mini bar fridge for tea and coffee in the room, which was so much better than UHT milk in containers, and chilled water.
The breakfast was informal with a buffet and excellent choice of cooked food. Good atmosphere in the dining room. I can recommend The Windmill for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs rooms overlooking the common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#61 of 1,068 in London
951 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#111 of 1,068 in London
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#560 of 1,068 in London
152 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,068 in London
220 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Property: Windmill Clapham
Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Best Value Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing