We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star quality and service”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #94 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star quality and service”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at the Windmill whilst coming to enjoy a day out at Wimbledon. Upon arriving I was a little put off by the debris and burger van just outside the pub entrance. But I put my fears to one side and entered.I was directed by a Bar staff member to the Hotel Reception, whereupon I encountered the friendliest, most helpful staff. We checked in and asked for help in getting to Wimbledon. They advised us to get a taxi as it was the easiest way and hassle free. Taxi price checked and ordered.
We went to our bedroom to drop our bags and were delighted by the room. Fantastic modern, shabby chic. Loved it. Every facility you could ask for. Gorgeous decor, amazing bathroom and the biggest wall clock I have ever seen!
On the road home, we realised we might be late for dinner so called ahead to order some food. The staff sorted this for us with no hesitation. Upon arrival and after ordering a bottle of wine, our burgers arrived, hot and exceptionally tasty.
We retired for the night and enjoyed a very comfortable nights sleep on the cleanest , crispest linen I have ever encountered.
At breakfast the next morning, the staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly, helpful and pleasant. The buffet was perfect and the cooked to order breakfast was tasty and hot.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Fabulously friendly staff, great accommodation, amazing food and of course a not too bad bottle of wine.
Thank you Windmill on the Common. I shall return!

Room Tip: All rooms seem perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wuddy1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    156
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
109
224
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Windmill recently after a great day out at Wimbledon. The staff were absolutely lovely, very friendly and very accommodating. We were slighter later in getting back from the tennis so we phoned ahead and they kept dinner for us. The hotel has recently been refurbished and it has been done very tastefully. The room we had (room 9) was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb and freshly made to order. My only regret was not booking 2 nights! I would definitely reccommend this hotel and would not hesitate to rebook.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a very nice stay for 4 nights, eating in the restaurant 2 of them. Great and very clean room with no noice from the pub or trafic (double glaced windows + must be soundproofed, we lived ontop of the pub :)

Room Tip: Go superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mats H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This is a gem of a place to stay in London if you're looking for something in that area. They've really nailed the decor and feel of the place. It's been recently refurbished and it's spot on! The breakfast is great, the staff are very friendly, the bar is great for drinks and has a good atmosphere. Location is good...right on the common with a bus stop just outside and a tube station 5 mins walk away so it's easy to get around if you want to. We went to Wimbledon and Soho without any trouble. Highly recommended!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becca115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed two nights for the Wimbledon finals - room was very well decorated and furnished and with the added bonus of a Nespresso coffee maker . Very comfortable bed that in my opinion compared well with the beds in the Marriott hotels .

Restaurant was OK - first night Saturday - loud musak pervaded the eating area and it was quite hard to hear a conversation . A glass of Sauvignon Blanc for £6.25 was a bit of a rip off . All the wines were unnecessarily expensive and the food over elaborate for what is basically a hotel within a pub . Second night - Sunday - was better as the restaurant moved to another area near the front of the hotel and there was no musak . Service on both occasions was very good . Breakfast on both days was really excellent .

The reason why we have rated it only 4 stars is because there was a cockroach in the bedroom which was removed by the reception staff - ground floor rooms leading onto the rear of the hotel need to be avoided.

Room Tip: See the comment about ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and it was a lovely surprise. The quality of the fixtures and fittings in the room were more than we expected for 3 star, a real gem! The staff were very helpful and the bar staff could not have given us better service when we came back from a long day out and about. The food was good, the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing and the service great.

The room was quiet, breakfast which was included was wide ranging and fresh, free parking was a bonus and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112AnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked an overnight stay as part of a surprise trip for my wife to see her childhood hero Stevie Wonder at the Calling Festival 29th June on Clapham Common. How glad I did. It really made the trip complete. Excellent decor throughout, lovely little touches in the rooms - real milk, cappuccino machine in room. Great staff at reception and breakfast. She loved it all, including the festival, and wants to return. Enough brownie points to keep me going for a year....thanks Windmill.

Room Tip: Room 12 on the ground floor at the rear/side so quiet, but quite dark as bushes outside but no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#64 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Star Hotel B&B
#62 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Property: Windmill Clapham
Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Best Value Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing