We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Ranked #244 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average! ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Not bad for a hostel, had a wide range of activities to do! Breakfast was just typical European. The only disappointment was that staff are lazy. At the reception we had multiple encounters with staff members who didn't want to help us by calling taxis and making dinner reservations at local restaurants. Need better Costner service!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    104
    87
    40
    29
See reviews for
9
32
106
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here with my sister for a summer holiday. We had a great time. The borough market is just across the street. The staff were friendly and greeted us every day when we were leaving or coming home. Could use more bathroom space, but for the value, this place was perfect. The pub downstairs is nice as well, met many people and had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel D, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hey

Thank you for leaving us such a great review!!!! It makes us really happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you soon.

St Christophers Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

There are actually 2 properties a block from each other. the one with address listed is the stepchild of the actual one which is where you have to go to check in (with all your bags, etc) Wifi only works there, which is fine if you're in that building.. I was not. I was in 121 borough hall st. The only people there to help you is a bartender in the bar below it. BTW, DO not bother eating at the restaurant/bar even for the 25% discount. You have to order at bar and wait over 30 minutes for a pissed off person to bring it to you. Mine was cold the 2 times I ate there. There are almost 20 rooms I think with 3 floors, 1 bathroom / shower on each of two top floors for dozens of people. I was there sun night til thurs am and even wednesday night was crazy loud outside bc of bar below. I can't imagine sleeping at all on weekends. If you can find any hostel for similar price, go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnightrider444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel D, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hey there,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback it is much appreciated.
We are sorry your experience in the hostel and restaurant/pub didn't match your standards.
We are also shocked and surprised by your dinner experience, and really want to apologize.
This is a very unusual comment and we really want to apologize about it.

Our hostel has 12 Rooms, and 7 bathrooms .3 on the 1st floor and 4 on the seconds floor.
We have live music bands in the pub downstairs Wednesday to Saturday night so, it can be really noisy, that's why we are providing free earplugs at bar.

Kinds Regards
St Christophers Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Horrible place. the only thing that let us stay for a bit was the nice live music. But the drinks were expensive and average, and the doorman was just a person with poor manners and treating us like potential future criminals... seriously?? that guy should not be working with people... never again!!! if I was you I would not even consider this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There is a bar downstair, so I can't fall asleep in friday and saturday night until it closed, the noisy was really loud and I stay in first floor, reception said there are full booking so sorry can't change my room. I never try food there but I met a girl also stay there said it's good and you can got discount if you stay in hostel. Breakfast is including. You can pay deposit and borrow hairdryer for free. Can't find plugs to recharge my phone in room, room number 3 for 4 people.Wifi didn't work well in room too. But this price in London city center, I have to said it seems a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vm6jo3jp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Inn, on Borough High Street in London, is supposedly the original that spawned the network of St. Christopher’s Inns across western Europe.

While I couldn’t praise their Paris Gare du Nord location highly enough, the opposite is sadly true for The Inn.

The building itself doesn’t have a reception, and the entrance on the street leads into a pub. The entrance to the hostel is down a side alley. Upon arrival, travellers are directed to walk another block further down the street (from No. 121 to St. Christopher’s Inn – The Village at No. 165) in order to check in and get a keycard.

Those arriving before the official check-in time of 2pm can leave their belongings in secure lockers at The Village. However, in order to do so, you basically have to go through the Check-In process to be issued a visitor keycard, which will be replaced by a proper one after 2pm (and another go at the Check-In process). This means that their recommended online-check-in is useless in these cases.

The Inn is an old building, with many sharp angles and more steps then it should have. I have counted only three toilets/showers for the entire building, and one is dirtier than the next. There is a lot of mold and mildew, no air circulation, not enough space to place all your stuff so it doesn’t get wet and the shower temperature is set to just below boiling. So there is no chance of a nice, cold shower to cool down on a summer day. By the time everyone has showered, the rooms are funky smelling sauna and everything will get drenched.

My friend had a cockroach run over her foot in one of the bathrooms.

What I was amazed by in Paris were the beds and facilities in the rooms. Our room had a creaky old bunk bed and a folding stool. While they had curtains for the beds to cancel out light, shelves above the head end with lights, sockets and USB ports in Paris, you get two equally hard accessible power outlets and a bottom bunk bed you can’t sit upright in.

The room, though private, was very stuffy and small and smelled of damp cloth. The window had to be propped open with a water bottle, as you couldn’t breathe in there with the window closed. The top window pane was broken and had been fixed ages ago with newspaper, instead of being replaced

The pub downstairs has live music every Tursday, Friday and Saturday until 2.30am and they move tables into the alleyway as a beer garden. That means there’s not only a party downstairs that you will hear through your pillow and feel rattling through the metal bedframe, but there is also a party just under your window – a window you can’t close to get some quiet.



Alleway beer garden at St. Christopher's Inn - The Inn, London
Alleway beer garden at St. Christopher’s Inn – The Inn, London
There is also no actual hostel staff on site. So if you have any problems, you have to walk back to The Village. The same goes for when you want to have breakfast or when you want to make use of the supposedly “on-site” facilities of a common room and cinema lounge. None of them are at The Inn. The only way to socialise at The Inn is by going down to the pub, paying for a drink and hoping to find a table – which is not something every traveller just wanting to sit and quietly update notes wants to do. The advertised Free WiFi doesn’t work either.

Our keycard stopped working on the second day, as the lady checking us in made a mistake with the nights booked. Despite us correcting her right away, she still gave us the wrong keycard. After breakfast, (which we first tried at The Village’s Dugout, but discovered that absolutely everyone had had their fingers in the food so we paid extra for breakfast at next door’s Belushi’s Bar) we found out that we couldn’t get back into our room. We were dressed and pretty much ready, but if that had happened after a shower, we would have had to walk down the Borough High Street in a towel to get a replacement card.

They did at least provide linen and towels, but they smelled rather dodgy too.

After the experience in Paris, this hostel is a complete letdown. I’ve stayed at many dodgy places before, but this one is trumping them all. The only thing it’s got going for it is the proximity to London Bridge Station (about 350m) and Borough Market, Southwark Cathedral and The Shard (all approx. 350 – 400m from the hostel).

If you want to have easy access to the tube and a party all night, this might be the place for you. If not, look elsewhere! Your sanity will thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shoestring-Editor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were having a walk on sunday morning and decided to stop for some food, the pub offers a brunch menu on sunday morning as well as their delicious sunday rost.
i was not desapointed, the benedict eggs were amazing with the toasted muffins!
They have tables outside so it s great to enjoy your meal on sunny days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Southwark
Allstay Hop Art House
Allstay Hop Art House
#162 of 860 in London
17 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#41 of 860 in London
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Address: Southwark 121 Borough High Street, London SE1 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an Inn for weary horse drawn coach travellers, this St Christopher's Inn offers a traditional taste of English life and easy access to the attractions of the South Bank. You can enjoy fish n' chips with a pint of ale at the pub downstairs and be at the Tate Modern 15-minutes later. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Inn - London Bridge Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing