We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Ranked #243 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This was a great Hostel and good value. It was a lot of fun and a great location. I stayed there with a friend in a shared room. The rooms were very clean. The showers and bathrooms were clean. There were enough showers to accomadate everyone. The pub downstairs had a nice mix of guests as well as locals. The staff was as friendly as I expect a staff at a hostel to be. If you are young, want to experience London and meet a lot of great people, stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    103
    87
    39
    28
See reviews for
9
32
104
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Stayed here for a few nights with some girlsfriends. The rooms were horribley warm, not the most comfortable sleep. Do not eat downstairs in the bar- horrible. There's a really nice Greek restaurant striaght across the road which is really tasty and very good value for money

  • Disliked — Bed, Bathroom, food
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ruadh_ruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I mainly picked this hostel due to its location - it is very close to a lot of the museums and historical locations that I would like to visit during my stay.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and made the stay as good as it was. I stayed in the female-only section of the hostel, which was very good. Hostel is both safe and secure.

Didn't go out for the nightlife, though it was an option, so I could have if I'd wanted. Internet came with a cost [£1 = 1/2 hour, £3 = 2 hours] but no more costly than internet cafes.

Free breakfast was provided in the bar at a convenient time.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Bathrooms were average, but not much else can be expected for a hostel :)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Feinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2008

The St Christoper's Inn forms a part of three Hostels owned by the same company on Borough High Street - The Inn, The Village and The Orient. All the rooms are mixed apart from the latter which provides some female-only rooms. The exterior and room doors all work on a secure swipe card system.

I stayed for two nights at the Inn, a small hostel above a quiet pub of the same name. The Village, about 100m down the street is above a Belushi's party bar and seemed to be quite a lot louder. The rooms are quite small, and the toilets are in average to poor condition however all the facilities worked and were cleaned each morning. The showers are on a push-button which may not suit some people.

What really made the stay for me were the people staying. I met a German girl and a French lad with whom I spent the evenings. I spent much of my time with them on the Balcony in the Village portion where most of the facilities (breakfast room, tv room, social area etc) are. Many guests were staying long-term and working in order to finance and continue their travels; All were keen to share their stories and meet new people. There was an excellent community atmosphere when I stayed.

The location is excellent, about 2 mins walk to London Bridge station for quick transport in to town or you can explore the South Bank and Tower Bridge areas which are on the doorstep. There is a Sainsbury's Local store across the road which is open to 11pm.

I would certainly return in the future.

  • Liked — Great People; Free Wi-fi; Good Location
  • Disliked — Toilets desperately need refurbished
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Part of 3 hostel on the same street, St Christ Inn is quiter, but has the same problems as the larger "Village" up the street. It's more like a college dorm, they didn't change the mattress street, no top sheet, and they did not change the duvet cover. Washroom nearest me was the one nearest the little deck. It was not clean. One down the hall was better. Don't expect much from this place. Pluses? 15 minute walk to waterloo station, and the Eurostar, close to the Tate Modern, and the Globe theatre. If you have low expectations, or care more about the party, than the place, it might be right for you.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 May 2006

Do not go to the pub St Christophers, the hostel is ok.

Went in April 06, could not get served because bar staff were too busy chatting up girls. A couple of mins after 11 we were bullied to get out of the pub, the reason was not because of the local regulations. The reason was because that the bar staff and the bar staff not on duty wanted to have a party.
Were were bullied by staff on duty who would not leave you alone and other members of staff not on duty, who were drunk and all the time going behind the bar helping themselves to drink. Ironic when we could not even get served in normal hours we watched bar staff off duty helping themselves to the bar.
The final staw was when we were forced out of the pub with the words, **** off ringing in our ears from bar staff working that night.
DO NOT STAY HERE, FEMALES ALL THEY DO IS TRY TO PICK YOU UP, AND THAT IS THE BAR STAFF, OR THEY WANT TO HAVE A PARTY AFTER HOURS SO THEY CAN HAVE A PARTY WITH THEIR FRIENDS

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2004

I stayed at a lot of hostels in Europe. This was among my least favorite. The crowd was very young and annoying (making out in the bar and lobby). The shared rooms are filled with people coming in and out. I'm sure there is another cheap way to enjoy London. The location was bad too. Nothing was nearby. It was a very quiet and industrial area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Southwark
Allstay Hop Art House
Allstay Hop Art House
#181 of 843 in London
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Address: Southwark 121 Borough High Street, London SE1 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an Inn for weary horse drawn coach travellers, this St Christopher's Inn offers a traditional taste of English life and easy access to the attractions of the South Bank. You can enjoy fish n' chips with a pint of ale at the pub downstairs and be at the Tate Modern 15-minutes later. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Inn - London Bridge Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing