We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Major Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #384 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here 4 nights on business in October 2013. Overall, I was disappointed; the quality of the accommodations was not what I have come to expect from the Marriott brand.

The major issue with the hotel is its condition. The hotel needs a substantial renovation--rooms and public spaces are well past their prime; the design of the rooms and public spaces made the hotel feel like a Marriott from the late 1990s. The decor is completely drab. In the room, the wallpaper was peeling at its seams. The carpet was faded and worn. The furniture felt old--dreary patterns, lumpy cushion on the couch, generic nightstands and desk. The lamps next to the bed were ancient. There was a light fixture in the center of the ceiling that was rusty looking and had paint on its edges. The curtains dragged on the floor and were faded. Everything was clean, but the past-its-prime decor gave an overall feeling of dinginess.

The bathroom was OK. The towels were fluffy and comfortable, but amenities were uneven--for instance, conditioner was not provided.

The bed was not up to the usual comfort of the beds in the Marriott chain. The linens were fine, but the mattress was not particularly soft.

I had access to the concierge lounge during my stay. It was totally depressing--small and out-dated with poor light. The evening lounge attendant was very pleasant, but the lounge's selections at breakfast and in the evening were well below what I have come to expect from European hotels.

The lobby was generic with little room for working or socializing. Service from the staff at check-in and check-out was efficient and polite--no complaints there.

Location of the hotel was a mixed bag. The hotel was a bit outside of central London, but central London was easily accessible by Tube (Paddington was three stops away). The hotel is about a 5-7 min. walk from a Tube stop and along a few major bus lines. Although the hotel labels itself as in Maida Vale, it's actually in Kilburn Park. While the neighborhood did not feel unsafe, it was not particularly charming.

Overall, not a particularly enjoyable stay. Although the hotel was more affordable than most in London, the trade-off for the room rate was a hotel in desperate need of renovation that is a poor representation of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear brmusicman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the feedback that you have provided.

We are sorry to learn of your experience during your stay with us in October and that we were unable to live up to the high expectations you have come to expect from a Marriott hotel. Please be assured that the points that you have raised in your review will be given great consideration in future meetings concerning renovation.

We do thank you for the comments with regards to our host's efficiency and we hope that should you choose to return to London that you give us the chance to serve you once again and redeem ourselves from your past experience.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We began our tour of the British Isles here. Very welcoming staff, friendly and helpful concierges. A full breakfast was included each day which was fabulous. Various hot items, cereals, pastries, plus an omelet station where you could request your own choices. Quite pleasant! The breakfast staff was at our service in every way! The rooms were average size, nicely appointed and very clean!! A large bar/pub downstairs had a nice ambience with a big screen TV for watching football, etc. The only downside was that the hotel is a little far from center of London and the "sites". It is in Northwest London near Wembley Stadium. The Tube was a short 5 min. walk away which would take you downtown in about 15 min. Overground also near the hotel. This worked out for us. We really loved the hotel and enjoyed learning our way around!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanajo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear nanajo_9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the high ratings you have awarded us.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed all of your experiences within our hotel and that you had a chance to experience our bar, hopefully you enjoyed the mood lighting!

We do hope that although we are not located directly in Central London, that you found convenience in the multiple public transport links that are within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.

We hope that should you return to London that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards to all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed here twice, and on both occasions the staff bungled all sorts of things. They are very nice at check in but ultimately incompetent. Requests are forgotten, if they don't forget it takes forever for them to respond, and the beds are incredibly uncomfortable. For the money this hotel isn't worth it and needs management and employees worthy of a four-star hotel. Then again, most Marriotts have poor management and staff so I'm not surprised - although this is the worst Marriott I've ever stayed in (I do try to avoid them since I've never stayed in a good one).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CRoberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I consistently choose Marriott and the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale provided an experience similar to every other Marriott. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean with only minor issues in rooms, like handle sometimes falling off faucet. I didn't find the mattresses to be the same quality found in US Marriotts. The Hotel was located near the UK Islamic Center, good restaurants (English Pub, Spanish tapas, Thai), and close to Tube station. I'll stay at hotel during future holidays in England.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank nd41180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear nd41180,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, your feedback is highly valued.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a chance to explore the surrounding area and all that it has to offer.

With regards to the experience you encountered with the faucet; we do apologize and would like to reassure you that our maintenance team work to ensure that we are constantly maintaining and improving the quality of our bedrooms. The feedback you have provided will be brought to the attention of our head of engineering for further investigation.

We are excited to hear that you plan to return to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you once again for the feedback you have provided.

Kind regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here recently with a great experience to share:

I was upgraded upon check in to a 7th floor (top) executive room, even though I had booked through Priceline.

Welcoming staff was excellent, free freshly made popcorn in the lobby as well. The different concierges we spoke to were all very patient and helpful. They allowed us to log into our e-mail and print out our boarding passes as well. If one of the staff didn't know the answer to something, a nearby staff member would come in and happily tell us what they knew.

Large bed, a little too soft for my liking. Spacious rooms, quick service. The location is a little far from central London but it is still considered zone 2. Took a while to get there from Gatwick Airport. It would be good to have clearer directions for tourists using public transit or to suggest using the Gatwick Express service on their website.

Wifi was very strong in the lobby, cuts off the second you enter the elevator. We didn't get a chance to see the pool, business centre, or fitness room as our stay was very short.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fakelogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a standard Marriott Hotel but the staff go the extra mile. I stayed here because it is cheaper than many others in central London and is outside the congestion charge. We were upgraded to a suite and had a fabulous room, with a kitchen. That meant we didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant but ate in our room - feeling very luxurious. The bar staff were great and really friendly, the breakfast was excellent. My only gripe is the £30 car parking charge (per day), which is probably not extortionate for London but then were are provincials. We have stayed before in a standard room and they are very comfortable. Overall, it is the staff who make this hotel exceptional.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Elizabeth H,

Thank you so much for high ratings you have awarded us and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

We are over the moon to hear that our staff have really gone the extra mile and were able to provide you with such a positive experience, we aim to provide such a service to all of our guests and are delighted you have taken the time to give us a special mention.

We understand that car parking charges are always an undesirable expense but we do hope that the convenience of the on site secure parking outweighed the negative during the colder months of the year.

We are always happy to upgrade our guests when possible and on this occasion we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed it to full extent, enjoying the dining area and living space that comes with our suites.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards from all of the staff here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on 19th October 2013 for 2 nights , on arrival at 11 am ( shouldn't be able to check in until 3 ) a lovely welcome by the reception staff Shelby I think her name was , we were told we can check in as the room was ready SHelby also asked what our plans were for the weekend we told her we were shopping and going to see a show .
Shelby then told us in great detail of what would be the best route explaining that there was a bus 98 going to Oxford street and then it would drop us off at the show . Shelby asked who's birthday it was when we came back from shopping there was a birthday card signed by all the staff and a lovely bottle of wine the thought that went into the birthday card was fantastic as Shelby had also taken note of which show we were going to see and mentioned it what a asset to your company Shelby is .
Can recommend this hotel very comfortable beds very clean and nothing too much trouble

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Business Hotel in London
#368 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a relaxed oasis in the heart of the vibrant city at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Whether you're in England's capital for work or on a fun family holiday, you'll be delighted with our comprehensively redesigned rooms and suites, which offer luxury bedding, Apple TV and original artwork celebrating our local area. Additional amenities for your stay in North West London include on-site parking, free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby and complimentary access to the nearby Bannatyne's Health Club. The Brew Bar Lounge showcases a full menu of handcrafted cocktails; you can also enjoy 24-hour in-room dining. If you're hosting an event in Maida Vale, you can explore our light-filled function spaces and expert planning services. And our prime hotel location places you near some of London's most popular attractions, including Lord's Cricket Ground, Wembley Stadium and Little Venice. We look forward to your visit at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing