We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #446 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Bristol uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Me and my wife stayed there for a show weekend. 5 min walk to the tube and your in the west end. Couldn't fault anything. Staff were spot on which is I bonus. Free use of the gym, friendly bar, shops close by if you need anything. If your in to it there is a night club with in a 10min walk. So all round this hotel was perfect for what ever your doing in london.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank td19670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    503
    199
    94
    46
See reviews for
336
273
72
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here recently while on a trip to London and overall my experience was positive.

It certainly isn't the best, or most modern Marriott I've stayed in, but from reviews I had expected that. Check-in was quick and easy, made better by an extremely welcoming and friendly staff member (who remembered my name on two seperate occasions we encountered her during our stay. A small thing, but impressive). The room, while not overly large, didn't feel too cramped. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom more than sufficient.

With the Underground, Overground and bus services only moments away, connections to various parts of London were not an problem either.

The downsides were a lack of TV channels (perhaps to try and sway customers towards their pay-per-view entertainment options). The selection was extemely basic for a chain of this level, and more akin to something one would find in a Travelodge or Premier Inn. The second was the horrendously priced wi-fi service. There can be no justification for such extortionate prices. Thankfully forewarned is forearmed and I brought my own mobile broadband device. Had internet access been more reasonably priced, I probably would have left it at home and purchased on arrival. So, one wonders how much revenue the hotel might be losing by having such a sky-high access rate. In this day an age, having such extortionate prices for what is becoming an essential for many travellers is just bad business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colmirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,253 reviews
428 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here 4 nights on business in October 2013. Overall, I was disappointed; the quality of the accommodations was not what I have come to expect from the Marriott brand.

The major issue with the hotel is its condition. The hotel needs a substantial renovation--rooms and public spaces are well past their prime; the design of the rooms and public spaces made the hotel feel like a Marriott from the late 1990s. The decor is completely drab. In the room, the wallpaper was peeling at its seams. The carpet was faded and worn. The furniture felt old--dreary patterns, lumpy cushion on the couch, generic nightstands and desk. The lamps next to the bed were ancient. There was a light fixture in the center of the ceiling that was rusty looking and had paint on its edges. The curtains dragged on the floor and were faded. Everything was clean, but the past-its-prime decor gave an overall feeling of dinginess.

The bathroom was OK. The towels were fluffy and comfortable, but amenities were uneven--for instance, conditioner was not provided.

The bed was not up to the usual comfort of the beds in the Marriott chain. The linens were fine, but the mattress was not particularly soft.

I had access to the concierge lounge during my stay. It was totally depressing--small and out-dated with poor light. The evening lounge attendant was very pleasant, but the lounge's selections at breakfast and in the evening were well below what I have come to expect from European hotels.

The lobby was generic with little room for working or socializing. Service from the staff at check-in and check-out was efficient and polite--no complaints there.

Location of the hotel was a mixed bag. The hotel was a bit outside of central London, but central London was easily accessible by Tube (Paddington was three stops away). The hotel is about a 5-7 min. walk from a Tube stop and along a few major bus lines. Although the hotel labels itself as in Maida Vale, it's actually in Kilburn Park. While the neighborhood did not feel unsafe, it was not particularly charming.

Overall, not a particularly enjoyable stay. Although the hotel was more affordable than most in London, the trade-off for the room rate was a hotel in desperate need of renovation that is a poor representation of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear brmusicman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the feedback that you have provided.

We are sorry to learn of your experience during your stay with us in October and that we were unable to live up to the high expectations you have come to expect from a Marriott hotel. Please be assured that the points that you have raised in your review will be given great consideration in future meetings concerning renovation.

We do thank you for the comments with regards to our host's efficiency and we hope that should you choose to return to London that you give us the chance to serve you once again and redeem ourselves from your past experience.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schroon Lake, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We began our tour of the British Isles here. Very welcoming staff, friendly and helpful concierges. A full breakfast was included each day which was fabulous. Various hot items, cereals, pastries, plus an omelet station where you could request your own choices. Quite pleasant! The breakfast staff was at our service in every way! The rooms were average size, nicely appointed and very clean!! A large bar/pub downstairs had a nice ambience with a big screen TV for watching football, etc. The only downside was that the hotel is a little far from center of London and the "sites". It is in Northwest London near Wembley Stadium. The Tube was a short 5 min. walk away which would take you downtown in about 15 min. Overground also near the hotel. This worked out for us. We really loved the hotel and enjoyed learning our way around!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanajo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear nanajo_9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the high ratings you have awarded us.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed all of your experiences within our hotel and that you had a chance to experience our bar, hopefully you enjoyed the mood lighting!

We do hope that although we are not located directly in Central London, that you found convenience in the multiple public transport links that are within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.

We hope that should you return to London that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards to all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed here twice, and on both occasions the staff bungled all sorts of things. They are very nice at check in but ultimately incompetent. Requests are forgotten, if they don't forget it takes forever for them to respond, and the beds are incredibly uncomfortable. For the money this hotel isn't worth it and needs management and employees worthy of a four-star hotel. Then again, most Marriotts have poor management and staff so I'm not surprised - although this is the worst Marriott I've ever stayed in (I do try to avoid them since I've never stayed in a good one).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CRoberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I consistently choose Marriott and the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale provided an experience similar to every other Marriott. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean with only minor issues in rooms, like handle sometimes falling off faucet. I didn't find the mattresses to be the same quality found in US Marriotts. The Hotel was located near the UK Islamic Center, good restaurants (English Pub, Spanish tapas, Thai), and close to Tube station. I'll stay at hotel during future holidays in England.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nd41180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear nd41180,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, your feedback is highly valued.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a chance to explore the surrounding area and all that it has to offer.

With regards to the experience you encountered with the faucet; we do apologize and would like to reassure you that our maintenance team work to ensure that we are constantly maintaining and improving the quality of our bedrooms. The feedback you have provided will be brought to the attention of our head of engineering for further investigation.

We are excited to hear that you plan to return to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you once again for the feedback you have provided.

Kind regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here recently with a great experience to share:

I was upgraded upon check in to a 7th floor (top) executive room, even though I had booked through Priceline.

Welcoming staff was excellent, free freshly made popcorn in the lobby as well. The different concierges we spoke to were all very patient and helpful. They allowed us to log into our e-mail and print out our boarding passes as well. If one of the staff didn't know the answer to something, a nearby staff member would come in and happily tell us what they knew.

Large bed, a little too soft for my liking. Spacious rooms, quick service. The location is a little far from central London but it is still considered zone 2. Took a while to get there from Gatwick Airport. It would be good to have clearer directions for tourists using public transit or to suggest using the Gatwick Express service on their website.

Wifi was very strong in the lobby, cuts off the second you enter the elevator. We didn't get a chance to see the pool, business centre, or fitness room as our stay was very short.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fakelogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#799 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing