We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #413 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable hotel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really nice place to stay, the room was very comfortable, the fact that we could use the pool and gym was a bonus and the location is very central, with the Kilburn Park tube station only a short walk. Great for getting directly into London centre and Wembley. Staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Longley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Rich_longley,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

It is great to learn that you had the chance to enjoy the complimentary use of our facilities on site as well as taking advantage of the unique location that we are in, being within 10 minutes underground journey to both central London and Wembley Stadium.

We thank you once again for your kind comments and the feedback that you have provided regarding your recent stay.

Kindest regards from all the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    520
    205
    97
    47
See reviews for
349
285
74
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed here for 3 nights over Halloween. Very pleasant stay, executive lounge access brilliant, breakfast and other facilities in the E lounge, (including free wifi) wonderful. Hotel just a little tired but very clean and staff helpful and very nice to speak with. Had dinner first evening in diningroom and enjoyed it very much.
Tube station a short easy walk away and reasonable location for centre of London.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade! you might even get the Presidents suite like my friends did! Executive lounge wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParsonRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ParsonRussell,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your recent stay here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

It is always great to receive feedback regarding our Executive Lounge and we are delighted to learn that your experience was a positive one.

We are proud to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant Fratelli and hope that you had a chance to sample one of the pizzas cooked in our authentic pizza oven, a popular recommendation from all of the hosts here at the hotel.

Thank you once again for the feedback you have provided and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My partner and I stayed one night and were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room located on the 7th floor. The room had a very good size, was comfortable and clean. The decor is slightly old fashioned but it gives a cosy and homy touch that we liked. We had a king size bed and I must say it was a very good quality. The only thing that was annoying was a constant noise in the room (air conditioning or hot water in the pipes) The noise was coming from inside the walls, impossible to stop it. A bit disappointing to be in a superior room and having that noise all night! We didn't complain as we went to bed very late and stayed only at night but I would not have been very happy if we stayed longer. Otherwise I can't fault this hotel, the swimming pool/gym is part of a small Bannatyne gym that you can access directly from the hotel. We used the swimming pool/sauna/hammam and had a lovely time. Breakfast and room service were very good. We enjoyed being in Maida Vale and even walked from and to Paddington station. This area is much cheaper than central London and still so close by walk, bus or tube! Special thanks to Rebecca on Reception and Rajena in the breakfast room for both being very friendly and welcoming. If the noise in the room could be fixed, I'd give that hotel an excellent rating!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MademoiselleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear MademoiselleB,

Thank you so much for the feedback you have provided regarding your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Firstly please do accept our apologies with regards to the noise that you experienced during your recent stay with us, be assured that the Chief Engineer has been notified and that this issue will be investigated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We were delighted to hear that you felt that two of our host's deserved a special mention by name, we have informed their managers, along with the rest of the hotel, they are over the moon.

We are equally as excited to hear that you were able to experience just how close Central London is by walking to and from Paddington and that you found our hotel to be well located for public transport. We understand that location is key for many of our guests and we are pleased to hear that this location worked really well for you during your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and thank you once again for all the feedback you have provided.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My one complaint is You can't use Wi-Fi in your room. You can only access it from the main lobby. BUT!!!! EVERYTHING ELSE ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS WONDERFUL. The staff, the location, the restaurants (FISH AND CHIPS A MUST EAT). Again, the location is perfect if you don't know your way around London. The subway is very easy to catch and the area is very safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamkesha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Me and my wife stayed there for a show weekend. 5 min walk to the tube and your in the west end. Couldn't fault anything. Staff were spot on which is I bonus. Free use of the gym, friendly bar, shops close by if you need anything. If your in to it there is a night club with in a 10min walk. So all round this hotel was perfect for what ever your doing in london.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank td19670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here recently while on a trip to London and overall my experience was positive.

It certainly isn't the best, or most modern Marriott I've stayed in, but from reviews I had expected that. Check-in was quick and easy, made better by an extremely welcoming and friendly staff member (who remembered my name on two seperate occasions we encountered her during our stay. A small thing, but impressive). The room, while not overly large, didn't feel too cramped. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom more than sufficient.

With the Underground, Overground and bus services only moments away, connections to various parts of London were not an problem either.

The downsides were a lack of TV channels (perhaps to try and sway customers towards their pay-per-view entertainment options). The selection was extemely basic for a chain of this level, and more akin to something one would find in a Travelodge or Premier Inn. The second was the horrendously priced wi-fi service. There can be no justification for such extortionate prices. Thankfully forewarned is forearmed and I brought my own mobile broadband device. Had internet access been more reasonably priced, I probably would have left it at home and purchased on arrival. So, one wonders how much revenue the hotel might be losing by having such a sky-high access rate. In this day an age, having such extortionate prices for what is becoming an essential for many travellers is just bad business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colmirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,277 reviews
426 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here 4 nights on business in October 2013. Overall, I was disappointed; the quality of the accommodations was not what I have come to expect from the Marriott brand.

The major issue with the hotel is its condition. The hotel needs a substantial renovation--rooms and public spaces are well past their prime; the design of the rooms and public spaces made the hotel feel like a Marriott from the late 1990s. The decor is completely drab. In the room, the wallpaper was peeling at its seams. The carpet was faded and worn. The furniture felt old--dreary patterns, lumpy cushion on the couch, generic nightstands and desk. The lamps next to the bed were ancient. There was a light fixture in the center of the ceiling that was rusty looking and had paint on its edges. The curtains dragged on the floor and were faded. Everything was clean, but the past-its-prime decor gave an overall feeling of dinginess.

The bathroom was OK. The towels were fluffy and comfortable, but amenities were uneven--for instance, conditioner was not provided.

The bed was not up to the usual comfort of the beds in the Marriott chain. The linens were fine, but the mattress was not particularly soft.

I had access to the concierge lounge during my stay. It was totally depressing--small and out-dated with poor light. The evening lounge attendant was very pleasant, but the lounge's selections at breakfast and in the evening were well below what I have come to expect from European hotels.

The lobby was generic with little room for working or socializing. Service from the staff at check-in and check-out was efficient and polite--no complaints there.

Location of the hotel was a mixed bag. The hotel was a bit outside of central London, but central London was easily accessible by Tube (Paddington was three stops away). The hotel is about a 5-7 min. walk from a Tube stop and along a few major bus lines. Although the hotel labels itself as in Maida Vale, it's actually in Kilburn Park. While the neighborhood did not feel unsafe, it was not particularly charming.

Overall, not a particularly enjoyable stay. Although the hotel was more affordable than most in London, the trade-off for the room rate was a hotel in desperate need of renovation that is a poor representation of the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear brmusicman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the feedback that you have provided.

We are sorry to learn of your experience during your stay with us in October and that we were unable to live up to the high expectations you have come to expect from a Marriott hotel. Please be assured that the points that you have raised in your review will be given great consideration in future meetings concerning renovation.

We do thank you for the comments with regards to our host's efficiency and we hope that should you choose to return to London that you give us the chance to serve you once again and redeem ourselves from your past experience.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#774 of 1,068 in London
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing