We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #447 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean, and relatively spacious. The Kilburn Park tube station is two blocks away. The neighborhood is a mix of upscale townhomes and a bustling, immigrant community: the streets are dotted with late model Mercedes, but there's a guy selling roasted chickens from a sidewalk rotisserie just two blocks away. It's pretty typical London.

It's a Marriott, so the staff is predictably poised and friendly, the rooms are very well maintained, the breakfast buffet is amply stocked, and everything feels comfortable and familiar.

It is expensive, though. While the tariffs don't soar into the West End stratosphere, they are at least thrice what we paid for a similarly sized room in a non-Marriott hotel located in the East End.

If you value the convenience and the reliability of the Marriott chain, this hotel is an excellent choice. If you see a hotel room as just a place to sleep while you squeeze everything you can out of your visit to London, then there are more distant, more spartan options just as safe, just as clean, and a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CortMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    496
    197
    92
    46
See reviews for
332
270
70
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I used to use this hotel quite a lot when I lived further from London and returned this week for literally an overnight stop on business. Like all Marriott hotels the rooms are reasonable size and the beds are comfortable with particularly good pillows - in fact it is one of the few hotels I do not need to take my own pillow. This Marriott is actually near Kilburn Park tube station, not Maida Vale. Although on the map it may look a bit out of the centre, in practice it only takes 20 mins from the West End. Ideally you have a room at the centre as then there is no noise (apart from other guests banging doors sometimes). Even the outside rooms are pretty quiet though. Breakfast buffet is of a good standard - much better than most. If you want a good nights sleep, quite nice bathroom, friendly and efficient reception and a good breakfast at a bit lower price than many in London of this standard, this is the one for you. All in all a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Select an inside facing room for quiet, though this may be hotter in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBZASING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights over the summer while visiting friends and family. The hotel location is not in central London but more in the northwest suburbs, which is perfectly acceptable if you're not here as a tourist. Like other contributors have mentioned already, this place is in dire need of an overhaul. The rooms and hallways are dark and gloomy and could use some serious updating. I was upgraded to a large room on the executive floor with access to the executive lounge, which made this stay somewhat tolerable since I was able to access free WiFi and enjoy a complimentary breakfast. The lounge also had a really nice view of the town from the apex at the top of the hotel. The pool and gym facilities are shared with the adjoining apartment complex and you need to go through a confusing labyrinth of corridors and hallways in order to get to it. All in all, an acceptable stay but certainly could do better for a London Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Property is closely located to Kilbun Park underground station. The staff is quite courteous and keen on making every effort to make your stay memorable. The breakfast spread is good.There is an Asian Restaurant close by which serves good Indian and Pakistani food

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aman_malhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear aman_malhotra,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the high ratings you have awarded us.

We are ecstatic learn about your opinion of our hosts here at the hotel and that they have succeeded in making your your stay memorable, we hope to continue to provide you with this service should you choose to return.

Many thanks for your kind comments and fantastic feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kindest regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really nice place to stay, the room was very comfortable, the fact that we could use the pool and gym was a bonus and the location is very central, with the Kilburn Park tube station only a short walk. Great for getting directly into London centre and Wembley. Staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Longley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Rich_longley,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

It is great to learn that you had the chance to enjoy the complimentary use of our facilities on site as well as taking advantage of the unique location that we are in, being within 10 minutes underground journey to both central London and Wembley Stadium.

We thank you once again for your kind comments and the feedback that you have provided regarding your recent stay.

Kindest regards from all the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed here for 3 nights over Halloween. Very pleasant stay, executive lounge access brilliant, breakfast and other facilities in the E lounge, (including free wifi) wonderful. Hotel just a little tired but very clean and staff helpful and very nice to speak with. Had dinner first evening in diningroom and enjoyed it very much.
Tube station a short easy walk away and reasonable location for centre of London.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade! you might even get the Presidents suite like my friends did! Executive lounge wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParsonRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ParsonRussell,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your recent stay here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

It is always great to receive feedback regarding our Executive Lounge and we are delighted to learn that your experience was a positive one.

We are proud to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant Fratelli and hope that you had a chance to sample one of the pizzas cooked in our authentic pizza oven, a popular recommendation from all of the hosts here at the hotel.

Thank you once again for the feedback you have provided and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My partner and I stayed one night and were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room located on the 7th floor. The room had a very good size, was comfortable and clean. The decor is slightly old fashioned but it gives a cosy and homy touch that we liked. We had a king size bed and I must say it was a very good quality. The only thing that was annoying was a constant noise in the room (air conditioning or hot water in the pipes) The noise was coming from inside the walls, impossible to stop it. A bit disappointing to be in a superior room and having that noise all night! We didn't complain as we went to bed very late and stayed only at night but I would not have been very happy if we stayed longer. Otherwise I can't fault this hotel, the swimming pool/gym is part of a small Bannatyne gym that you can access directly from the hotel. We used the swimming pool/sauna/hammam and had a lovely time. Breakfast and room service were very good. We enjoyed being in Maida Vale and even walked from and to Paddington station. This area is much cheaper than central London and still so close by walk, bus or tube! Special thanks to Rebecca on Reception and Rajena in the breakfast room for both being very friendly and welcoming. If the noise in the room could be fixed, I'd give that hotel an excellent rating!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MademoiselleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear MademoiselleB,

Thank you so much for the feedback you have provided regarding your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Firstly please do accept our apologies with regards to the noise that you experienced during your recent stay with us, be assured that the Chief Engineer has been notified and that this issue will be investigated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We were delighted to hear that you felt that two of our host's deserved a special mention by name, we have informed their managers, along with the rest of the hotel, they are over the moon.

We are equally as excited to hear that you were able to experience just how close Central London is by walking to and from Paddington and that you found our hotel to be well located for public transport. We understand that location is key for many of our guests and we are pleased to hear that this location worked really well for you during your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and thank you once again for all the feedback you have provided.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#774 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing