We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #433 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
527 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was an excellent value hotel for London. The service from every employee we met was fantastic especially the polite efficient receptionists. We had asked for a quiet room as I am such a light sleeper and were allocated the perfect room plus allowed to check in very early. There is a bus stop almost outside for an interesting bus trip into the west end - we enjoyed the views from the top deck plus a tube station a few minutes walk away. Our room was great but the bathroom spotlessly clean but slightly tired. Overall a great spot and we had a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    506
    203
    95
    46
See reviews for
341
275
72
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was my second stay here in December having stayed two weeks prior on a business trip. This trip was a family stop over for several nights in London. Chose this property because it represented good value (hotel rates in London got very pricey on New Year's Eve.) and is a short walk to the Bakerloo line. Our room was on the large side especially for London (compared for instance to those in the Marriott Regents Park) and it was quite comfortable though at times a bit warm. Fortunately the windows opened so we were able to moderate the temperature and get fresh air at the same time. (Our windows faced the residential neighborhood across the street and so one could open the windows without concern of street noise.) The executive lounge while on the small side proved more than adequate as the service staff there were quite attentive and even on very busy days kept the food items stocked (We were there after Christmas and before New Year's which was a very busy time). The executive lounge staff were also very keen to attend to several individual requests we had during our stay and for this we were quite appreciative.

P.S. I would be remiss not to mention my experience over any years and many trips has been in general, Marriott executive lounges in London and across Europe are no comparison to those in Asia (Beijing, Seoul, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok) which tend to be far more upscale.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonZeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

From the moment I entered the lobby until I left the staff could not have been more attentive and pleasant. The hotel is located in Kilburn which is just on the edge of the center of London. You have to take a bus (right outside) or the Tube (a 5 minute walk to the Bakerloo line) and very quickly you are in the center of London, especially the Marble Arch/Oxford St area.I preferred to stay in this area since it was a real neighborhood, local restaurants and no hoards of tourists. Yes, the hotel needs a refurbishment and in that way is not worth the very high price for a room. You could pay the same and get a better furbished room somewhere else, so they need to look at that. I had access to the Lounge and it was good, not great, but a good place to grab breakfast.

My room had a nice lounge chair, good TV, and windows that opened to get fresh air, a real plus for me. As I said, a bit worn room and bathroom but comfortable none the less. There is free internet in the lobby, which is not typical for London.

The location is good (not central) and the service is fantastic. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is on a busy street but with the windows closed you do not hear the traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

A Marriott hotel not in line with the expectation of the brand due to a very old facility not recently maintained.
The rooms are ok in size, but the fornitures and the bathroom are old and should be changed for an hotel of this category.
Disappointing not to find baiscally bathroom amenities and no sleepers which are normally a standard in Marriott hotels.
The heating is ok in the hotel, while in the room was basically not working and keeping the temperature at the limit of comfort, moreover the quilt was super thin and the feeling of coldness guaranteed during the night...
The location is ok as it is very close to the metro line, however it is not cheap even if quite far from the center.
Internet is overcharged if you don't have a Marriott status (gold/plat) but is free in the lobby.
The lounge is very small but reasonable in the choice of food and beverages for breakfast and aperitive.
The italian restaurant downstairs is not bad and the staff of al hotel is nice and efficient.
In conclusion, if you expect a Marriott standard this is not the right choice, but if you need to spend 1 night in London, despite the rate not cheap, it is still resaonble compared to similar hotels around.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Lorenzo R,

Thank you so much for your review of our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the constructive feedback you have provided.

I am sorry to learn that you feel the bedroom that you were allocated during your stay was not up to the standards that you have come to expect and I would like to assure you that the points you have raised will be given great consideration during future assessments of our bedrooms.

I am delighted to hear that you found the public transport connections to be to your convenience and that you had the chance to enjoy our food and beverage outlets. The hosts here at the hotel will be delighted when they are informed that you found them to be nice and their service to be efficient.

Once again I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the contructive feedback that you have provided.

We hope that you will consider returning to our hotel so that we may have the opportunity to demonstrate that we are able to achieve the high standards that you expect.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed in mid december for business reasons and was very upset i couldnt get to spend time with my family as it was christmas however the staff there cheered me up and made my day. Very friendly staff, they were very helpful and very attentive to me needs. There was a woman called kolsooma she was very friendly and very helpful and was very patient with me, she listened to what i had to say and was ever so helpful. there was another female, a black female i didnt get her name she was also very helpful and told me where to go for a good night out. The negatives are that the location is average there arent many high quality restaurants nearby, however west end aint to far from there, the hotel is dated and needs an urgent refurb but all in all the service provided to me was what made this hotel stand out i am very pleased and will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevortbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Checked in and the front desk agent must have had a bad day because she was rude. It got so bad that we only stayed one night (out of 3) and decided to leave early. The hotel is also dated. Very surprised by the poor service given by the usually reliable Marriott chain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uswmnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff.

Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

We had a drink in the bar, but did not try any of the other hotel facilities. If I stay in London again I would consider this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DarrellllerraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#761 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing