We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family break in London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #453 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family break in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited for an Easter weekend break and drove to the Marriott, the first good news was that it was easy to find a free parking space by the hotel (Sat, Sun and the bank holiday Monday) as that saved on the hotel parking fee.
The hotel itself has a nice reception area and the staff at checkin were very friendly and even moved things around so we could get into our room early.
The room was very good with 2 double beds and a good sized bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room light and modern. The bathroom was fine even though it was in need of some refurbishment..
The bar was nice but expensive and we chose not to use the restaurant as we were out and about most of the time. The restaurant looked good but the breakfast overpriced so best to go out if not on an all in rate.
Overall a good stay and reasonably convenient - bus or tube into central London (tourist sites) between 20 - 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Double double bedroom ideal when travelling with the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    496
    197
    92
    46
See reviews for
332
270
70
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The best part of this hotel is its staff. Without exception they all are very helpful. I found the breakfast staff were great. Very hard working and efficient. I must say that they get more than their fair share of ignorant guests being exceptionally rude to them. How some guests speak to them is disgraceful. Breakfast buffet extensive and very tasty. Regularly re stocked.
Public areas clean and bright but some corridors could do with a lick of paint. Our rooms were clean and bright but furniture a little past their best. Beds very comfy. Nice linen and lots of fluffy, good size towels.
Car parking was secure and reasonably priced. However was difficult getting in and out. Had to call reception and wait some time for them to answer then open gates. Although it says that room keys open them it did not work.
We got an excellent room rate (pre paid in advance)
Tube station a short walk.
Abbey Road zebra crossing only a little stroll away!!
All in all a good option for a London stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Classic1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I spent the first 6 days of a 10 day holiday celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary here, and everything went fine. As some have said in previous reviews, the property could use an interior remodel, but it's not that bad and the staff appeared to keep it well maintained. The rooms seemed and adequate size, given the horror stories of most European accommodations. There was enough room around the bed to navigate the room without difficulty. Check in and out was fine, and the concierge and security folks, especially Ralph, went above and beyond to assist us. The only negatives are two: Twiggy would have had trouble fitting into the narrow shower space. This was exacerbated by the location of a grasp bar on the tile wall opposite the normal standing position for most average humans. I'm 6'4" and it was difficult. The other issue was the £350 hold the hotel put on our AAA Travelcard, freezing a siginificant chunk of our budget. They were less than understanding about our concern over this issue. Still, a pretty good deal for London, in a good location, with Kilburn Park tube station a reasonably short walk away, and not too far from most of the major tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Room 634 is at the end of the farthest point from the front of the hotel. It's relatively quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColorBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very pleased with our experience. Reception and Concierge staff were welcoming and efficient. Room was spacious and clean, if a little worn in parts (bathroom floor and some furniture). Spa facilities very good and boys enjoyed pool. Breakfast was plentiful and staff were helpful and very attentive without intruding. We were asked if we were staying for a special occasion - we told them it was our son's 10th birthday and when we came back to our room in the evening there were balloons, a card signed by several staff and a dessert with cream on a covered dish waiting for him. His face was a picture - what a lovely gesture! Location was brilliant - will return. Only realised on return home that there was no comment card in room, but thanks to all at Marriott Maida Vale!

Room Tip: We were at front of hotel facing main road, not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I struggled immensely in finding a hotel that would be accessible to my friend who is in a wheelchair. This particular hotel was the only one within our price range, but they did say they could at least give us a "stool" in the shower. Now, my friend is able to transfer so we took a gamble and said that would work. Yes, this was a gamble, but in almost any European city we knew that accessibility would be difficult since they don't want to destroy their history. Slightly understandable, but besides the point.

When we arrived at the hotel after 4 (over an hour past when check-in is) we were told that our room wasn't ready, and wouldn't be until 6. If the check-in is at 3, I expect my room to be ready then. They didn't have another handicap accessible room available, but they did (after quite a bit of pushing) allow us to get ready for our show (which started at 7) in another room. This was pretty unacceptable to us, but we were pressed for time so we took what we could get.

Later, when we came back from our show, I asked to speak to a manager on how upset we were. I was spoken to quite condescendingly about how, "I knew that the accessibility wasn't perfect" and that "sometimes rooms aren't ready on time". *I* have worked in hotels before and if you have a check in time 4 hours after the check out time I expect the rooms to be ready. If your hotel is not accessible when I need it after it promised to be, I expect things to be made right. If you treat us rudely continuously than the very least you can do is attempt to make things right. They finally conceded in giving us the breakfast option.

This was fine, not enough, but ok considering that the room was big enough for the wheelchair and they did give us a stool (it was dirty, but still).

The facilities overall were fine, the concierge Ralph was wonderful and the breakfast was, passable.

Unfortunately the creme de la creme of our stay was when they told us a time table for when to get to the airport and it was about 2 hours too quick. My friend missed her flight completely and had to wait until the next morning to catch the next one (with expenses incurred).

I would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go, and definitely don't trust the reservation department, the check in desk, or their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Guest Relations Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Holly N,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. Please be aware that the experience you encountered during your stay is something that we are investigating with our team and will be contacting you directly very shortly.

We thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to review this highly out of the ordinary guest experience and rest assured that a full investigattion is under way.

Our sincerest regards - The Guest Relations Team at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel for four days and was disappointed at how the front desk handled my complaint in charging me for Internet Service at 15 pounds per day. First, I indicated that I made the reservation via Priceline and the site indicated that the room came with Internet Service. I used my cell phone and took a camera of the screen showing the same, but the front desk manager said it was only for the lobby, even though the site said room amenities. In addition, I did not have my Marriott Gold Elite number and Marriott said they could not find me in the system, but they did look....disappointed in overall hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspec180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Inspec180,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, it is greatly appreciated.

I do apologise about the experience you encountered regarding the internet package and the third party website that you booked through. We work with a large number of third party websites such as Priceline and we will review the information that we provide them to ensure that all details are up to date.

Regarding the search for your Marriott Rewards Membership; should you wish to stay with us again, please do kindly call ahead and provide us with your details and we will ensure that we make up for the negative experience you received during your say.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is very well managed and has easy access to all parts of London through buses and Tube. The rooms are clean and look new, the service is appreciable, the facilities are great too. Loved the Launge for its breakfast though they have a good scope of adding varieties in fresh food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pseudo_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#774 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing