We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #432 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I liked this place. It was close to an underground stop and there are a few restaurants nearby, including a great doner kabob shop, where I had lunch every day. You can walk to Abbey Road and it's an all-around solid hotel with clean rooms and good service. But the most important reason to stay here: Ronnie James Dio stayed here. Enough said. There's a wall with pictures of famous guests and he's on it. What could be cooler than that?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lairdgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    505
    203
    95
    46
See reviews for
340
275
72
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
Level Contributor
215 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Reasonable location for our one night business stay. Check in experience was very poor with staff slow and seemed inexperienced and a poor command of English.
The rooms are ok, the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast is in the light and airy dining room but some our the hot tourines were very low and nearly empty and we could not get a full portion. They were later replenished but should be changed when low rather than empty.
Overall it was ok, busy and bustling, non English staff and reasonable rooms at a typical inner City high rate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've stayed here a couple of times as the location suits us and there is a pool in the next door Bannatyne's gym that you are meant to get access to with your stay. However this is not run by the hotel and the gym seem to have decided to make it awkward for hotel guests, with restricted times. Also whilst my wife was visiting family in London I came back to take the kids to the pool. The jobsworth in the Bannatyne's gym told us that their new policy is only 2 children per adult. I have three, who are all much better swimmers than me, but there was not bending the rules.

When I complained to the hotel management they appeared to be unaware of this, but did bend over backwards to try to help, offering to pay for a taxi to take us to a Marriot Hotel which had its own pool.

Not really what we thought we were paying for with the hotel though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firhill_for_Thrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Firhill_for_Thrills,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

Let us start by thanking you for your loyalty and choice to return to our hotel, we are delighted that you have chosen to do so.

With regards to the inconvenience that you received when trying to use the spa facilities available to hotel guests; our deepest apologies, we always try to ensure that our guests are well looked after and you kindly mentioned that a possible solution was proposed by our team in an attempt to rectify the situation.

Please be aware that Bannatyne's are a separate company to ourselves and are responsible for their own policies which we must adhere to. We will raise this information with Bannatyne's and we do thank you for providing such detailed feedback.

We do hope that your experience has not detered you from returning as it is always a pleasure to see families return.

We hope to welcome you back soon and kindest regards from all of the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Easter holidays for a two night stay in a family room,
We arrived on the Saturday quite early as frustratingly most of the hotels in London have a check in time of 3pm, we left the car in the hotel carpark whIch was ok at £30 a day and headed for the nearest tube station which wasnt too far, after spending a tiring day out with the kids we were glad to head back to the hotel, we checked in, staff were very pleasant and asked if my husband would like a complimentary paper in the morning which he did, our so called Family room had two queen sized beds and a fridge and tv and some draw space not much room for four to move around, but the one thing i could not get my head around was the lack of wardrobe space, the wardrobe was just a cupboard with an ironing board and enough space for three shirts at a squeeze , how is this suitable for four people? the bathroom was ok but not great we had a broken bath chain, terrible disgusting grout and a shower that piddled and you ended up having to hold the shower over you.The toilet was the best you had to limit yourself to two sheets of paper because anything more blocked the toilet!. not what you expect for over £200 a night.
No complimentary water in the room , and wifi was £15 a day, first time ive seen that !
followed by blairing music coming from the bar which went on gone past 1pm In the morning, the newspaper never appeard even after several calls to reception,it didnt arrive Sunday morning either.
Breakfast was good,not a great selection compared to some London hotels but cooked well and lovely staff.
The Following morning we spent the day out,came back at 4.15 to find the room was still being cleaned! we called reception to find out the swimming pool times and they said it was open all day, we followed the ridiculouse route to the pool where we were told that there was no longer entry from the hotel but you would have to go out side and enter from the gym door which we didnt mind but the security guard said if he wasnt at his desk when we returned we couldnt get back in and would have to walk the whole way round the block to the hotel in the rain,
to then get to the gym to be told they close at 5.30! so my dissappionted kids could only have a swim for 20 min, what a joke!
On a good note great area to get into London would I stay here again, No, not what I expected for the amount of money we spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crystal3022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Crystal3022,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such an in depth review of your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

I was sorry to learn that you felt your room to be less than suitable for the amount of guests per room along with the bathroom fittings were not up to the standards that you would expect from a Marriott Hotel. In light of the information you have provided we would like to further investigate and therefore if you would be kind enough to contact the hotel we would be grateful for the opportunity to rectify the challenges that you encountered.

I am delighted that you found our staff to be pleasant welcoming and that our location was ideal for all of your transportation needs.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon and please do get in contact so that we may carry out our investigations.

Thank you once again from all of the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Have stayed here a couple more times since my last review and again have found it to be a good hotel. The location, just down the road from Kilburn Park station, is very convenient and there are shops nearby too.

The rooms are a good size and well equipped, plus cleanliness is always a good standard here.

Breakfast is often a mixed affair; sometimes quick and efficient, other times slow and disorganised. The food is okay at breakfast but not anything above average.

For the location and rooms this is a good hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. Personally I found the room too warm during the night and the windows were locked. Breakfast was OK but you'd get better elsewhere and it would be way less expensive. Wait staff seemed rushed and hassled during breakfast. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spudlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited for an Easter weekend break and drove to the Marriott, the first good news was that it was easy to find a free parking space by the hotel (Sat, Sun and the bank holiday Monday) as that saved on the hotel parking fee.
The hotel itself has a nice reception area and the staff at checkin were very friendly and even moved things around so we could get into our room early.
The room was very good with 2 double beds and a good sized bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room light and modern. The bathroom was fine even though it was in need of some refurbishment..
The bar was nice but expensive and we chose not to use the restaurant as we were out and about most of the time. The restaurant looked good but the breakfast overpriced so best to go out if not on an all in rate.
Overall a good stay and reasonably convenient - bus or tube into central London (tourist sites) between 20 - 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Double double bedroom ideal when travelling with the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#760 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing