We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Ranked #406 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I liked this hotel; it was my first trip to London and I traveled with another female. We stayed 2 nights here the first week of April 2014. The hotel was pretty easy to get to from the Tube. If I remember correctly we took the Heathrow Express to Paddington Station and then took the Bakerloo line to Kilburn Park (we may have had to connect with the Circle line, I can't remember..to get from Paddinton to Bakerloo???? check with the London Tube website to confirm) (do not take the Maida Vale station it is too far away)...from the Kilburn Park station exit the Tube and take a left, walk a little ways maybe 2 blocks?, then at the next main intersection take a right and the hotel will be down about 1 block? on the left. We had no problem taking the Tube it was clean and very easy. We felt safe in this area during the day; however at night we did not walk from the Kilburn Park station as it was very dark and the thought of doing it made us uncomfortable. We opted to take a taxi home, but you could have taken the over-ground bus as well. When you exit the hotel and take a right, the bus station and Starbuck is about 1 block down. The double decker bus is also pretty easy to navigate (it is little more complicated then the Tube), but totally doable.
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful - they gave us maps, told us about the bus and a couple of good places to go, and they set up a very early morning cab pickup to Heathrow for our departure. The hotel room was huge; we did not use the kitchen facilities, but they seemed adaquate. Our room also had a separate living room that we sat in once or twice - really it was actually much larger then we needed. The bed was nice and the bathroom was sufficient; the bathroom could use more counter space and better lighting. We did not pay cash for this hotel...my friend's husband used Marriott points for our stay, but I would definitely stay here again. The area is very culturally diverse and I thought it was very interesting. It had a large variety of authentic restaurants...just down the street from this hotel is the Islamic Center of England and across the street from that is a very good restaurant; I'm not sure if it was Lebanese or Greek? but the food was very good. They had a few tables outside a tavern type of building. We ordered a plate of food and several types of meat, the meat was grilled outside on a BBQ and came with bread, feta cheese, etc. we were not 100% sure exactly what we were eating but it was very good. There is also a Persian restaurant a about 100 yards from there and we heard it was good, but we did not try it. Overall I was very happy with this hotel; the only thing that would be of concern is walking from the Kilburn Park station when it is dark outside...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurora_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    520
    205
    97
    47
See reviews for
348
285
74
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked the hotel in June for my travel in August with the so called advance purchase price (seems cheap), however several days ago, the advance purchase price decreased by more than 15%! Be careful, do not trust "book earlier, price cheaper". Really poor customer experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CUSOMTER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Customer C,

We are sorry to read your review regarding your negative experience as a result of booking on the advance purchase rate.

We have addressed this challenge with you through our cutomer care service however please do feel free to contact us directly with any further questions you may have.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamia, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Unacceptabe to pay for WiFi in such a hotel.
Very expensive breakfast.
Otherwise it is a nice hotel, clean, with nice beds, comfortable environment. Firendly staff, close to underground station (just 5 minutes by foot).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantinos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kostas_F1975,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

The comments that you have made regarding our internet and breakfast will certainly be taken into great consideration during upcoming meetings about these two very well raised points.

We are delighted that all other aspects of your stay with us were well enjoyed and that you found the hotel to be a comfortable environment, something we pride ourselves on.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Kindest regards from all of the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As far as Marriott's go, this hotel is average at best. However, as far as London hotels go, this Marriott is above average. The hotel appears to be a converted apartment building (as evidenced by the actual apartments that you can access from the 2nd floor of the hotel!). The rooms are dated but large for London. At 199 pounds (AAA rate) this hotel is a very good bargain. With 2 double beds and a full shower this is actually an excellent choice for a family of four vacationing in London. In addition the staff are very nice and courteous and provide excellent service.

North London isn't the most high profile part of the city, but it appears to be an up and coming residential area. There was not a ton of restaurants close by but certainly a good selection within walking distance. There were plenty of take away places and a Tesco market up the street if you wanted a quick bite. The room had a mini fridge which is a nice convenience.

The hotel is 5 minutes walking distance to the Kilburn High tube stop on the Bakerloo line. It is 3 stops to Paddington where you can get to most anywhere else in the city (and get to/from Heathrow easily - take Heathrow Connect and not Express - it's cheaper and only 10 minutes longer) and about 15 minutes direct to Piccadilly.

As with most urban hotels (not just London) there is no free internet and no free breakfast. The hotel has a casual restaurant pub and an Italian restaurant. The pub is decent, but I probably wouldn't eat there regularly.

If you are vacationing in London, this is a very good, affordable choice. I was traveling from London to Maidenhead for business. This hotel allowed me to stay in and enjoy the city and be close to Paddington (to take the train to Maidenhead).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dchen666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights in June. While the weather was not extremely hot outside, the rooms were very poorly air conditioned, making them very uncomfortable. The lobby was welcoming. The attached restaurants and bars were very good. The hotel advertised a pool and a courtyard. The pool turned out to be a lap pool at a neighboring gym. It was nice to have access, but it was nothing special. Access to the courtyard had been discontinued as it actually is part of the residences attached to the same building of the hotel. I was disappointed about this courtyard not being available. No free Internet in the rooms-not what I expected from a Marriott, as I usually stay at a Marriott family hotel for all my travel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. One person stood out though, Ralph the Security Officer on duty during the day. He was very exceptional in assisting with issues in the hotel and providing information about businesses in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the property are nicer and more quiet. The street traffic on the front side do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel Man S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Travel Man S,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to review our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

The feedback you have provided has been greatly helpful in assessing some of the areas that we require improvement, we do apologise if you were inconvenienced during your stay. Please note that our maintenance team work tirelessly to ensure that all of our bedrooms are as comfortable as possible and should you feel the air conditioning was below your expected level please do contact us directly with your room number and one of the team will be happy to look into this for you.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience Bar Hemia and Restaurant Fratelli, we agree with your opinion of them entirely. Ralph our security guard will be delighted to learn that he earned a special mention in your review.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards from all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for seven days in early June, had some problems about the reservation but the front desk helped me. Front desk and concierge were very helpful. good location. Try Fratelli restaurant breakfast, very delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Cuba
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

On a recent stopover in London, during the busy time in London calendar, I was lucky enough to get a reservation at this hotel. Located in the leafy suburb of Maida vale, just a few minutes by tube from Paddington station and also a short bus ride away from Victoria, No 16 bus, it is one of the mot comfortable hotels I have stayed in.
First of all the staff, I had been lucky to have met Jaewon Baek who is at the front desk who assigned me a good room, with access to Executive Lounge. The ladies in attendance at Executive Lounge were all from eastern europe as is the case these days in London and I particularly remember Ana from Roumanie. It was nice to spend a little time sipping wine in the evening at the lounge. At the breakfast table, I chatted with a pleasant man from Mindanao in the Philippines
The room was spacious to say the least and the bed most comfortable.

Room Tip: It helps if you are a Gold Elite of Marriott Rewards since that gives you access to the Executive Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aungkhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#769 of 1,068 in London
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Property: London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
#372 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for work or leisure, enjoy refined comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale. Boasting spacious rooms, luxury amenities and delicious dining options, we offer all you need for a memorable trip to London. We feature an ideal location moments from Lord's Cricket Ground and Westfield Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing