We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Queensway Hostel
Ranked #100 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Graz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

it's my first internet rating at all. but this is the time to start.
the first impression was quite ok, but then some things came together which made it a not so pleasant stay. very loud marilyn manson music at the breakfast, a not working key system, unclean carpet floors, incompetent staff members, the tinnest shower rooms which gave you a feeling to live on a little boat, expensive wifi, five pounds for towels.
it just summed up to be disappointed by the hostel...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    107
    42
    16
    7
See reviews for
6
23
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Good location, friendly staff, good breakfast and free wifi. The rooms were really clean as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrence41035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My boyfriend booked a twin-private room for us to stay one night while visiting London.

Unfortunately whilst out seeing the sights my wallet was stolen. When it came to checking in late that evening, the staff almost wouldn't let me stay because I didn't have ID! This is despite the booking being made in BFs name, and he had ID. They were actually insisting that I leave and find somewhere else to go! I had to argue with them for ages before they eventually relented, with me giving them my National Insurance number as ID (lucky I knew it off by heart!) So ludicrous but at least I wasn't homeless for the night!

The hostel itself is pretty average. One thing I found strange was that they had no towels, but instead they invite you to use a cupboard full of bed sheets to dry yourself with after showering. Bizarre!

Breakfast was alright, plenty of bread, hot drinks etc but not enough places to sit.

Overall it's fine if you're in the area but personally I wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was the first of many hostels that we stayed in while in the UK. It was a great introduction to backpacking and set the standard for many to come.

It was in a great location, in a good area, a quick tube trip into the main city, but surrounded by gorgeous parks and amazing little streets. Close to a main street with biggish shops, take aways, pubs and the like.

The people at the hostel were amazing. Made good friends with a few of the travellers there as well as the staff. They were fun and friendly. Took a little while to get acoustemed to the lifestyle, but we were there for around 6 days so by the end of it we knew everyone and got along well.

The kitchen was fine. Not immaculate but not messy. The fridges were always full, but just squeeze your food in there and you will be fine.

We shared in a mixed dorm of 6 beds. Not too pricey, with a bathroom. Had a few ppl coming in late at night and being disrispectful, and one guy had a big argument with management about his bed, and he was chucked into our room. At first we were put into a room where we couldnt actually get into our lockers under our bed, cuz another bunk was in the way, and our beds were not made (not allocated beds so someone had decided they wanted clean sheets that night and slept in our future to be bed). But we went straight back down to management and they got us a new room. Only thing was that there wasnt enough actual keys for every person in the room. I was travelling with a friend so we only really needed 1 key, but a lot of the guys there were by themselves and it ended up that there was only 3 keys, for a 6 bed dorm.

MASSIVE MASSIVE CLIMB up to our room on the like 7th floor? the place just kept going, but we dealt with it and had fun!

The guys working there organise nightly things like movies or pub crawls or nights out, and we actually met up, after leaving this hostel, at a club on a friday, and all had a good night out, so they are a super friendly bunch.

Overall it was good for the money we paid, i had a great time and i would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stairs galore so dont go here if you cant handle a hike!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Overall, I thought this was a perfectly fine place to stay. I don't expect much from hostels--I just want to sleep and get out. The beds were fine. There was a bathroom inside the room and the toilet was disgusting and there was some mold in the bathroom as well. In the basement bathroom the hostel owners keep things people leave--deoderant, hair products, lotions even toothbrushes!! There were probably 15 used toothbrushes!! Why they bother keeping them is a mystery to me as I highly doubt anybody, no matter how desperate for a teeth clean, would want to use a strangers toothbrush!! The rooms have lockers underneith the beds that are quite large. You can easily fit a couple of backpacks and other random things inside. The hostel doesn't provide locks for free--they charge 5 for them. Luckily, since we were so exhausted and didn't feel like going on a search for a cheaper one, the locker was big enough for us to keep all of our stuff in one instead of two so we opted to buy the overpriced lock in return for more time and energy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persephone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to stay in london. The value for Money was really good and it was clean, not noisy and there is Internet, so what else can you ask for =)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r0binss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Great location. Friendly folks. Opportunity to work there to earn your keep. Dorm-style rooms (don't gripe about that, or you ought to stay in a hotel). Fair to crappy breakfast--bread and jam in a dumpy common eating area with a tv. But heckuva deal and the noise is tolerable, especially if you're willing to go to the top floor.

Room Tip: If you can stand the stairs, take the top floor for a quieter night's sleep. It's also bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayersrock2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#593 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#502 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#498 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#41 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#484 of 837 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#110 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Queensway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Queensway Hostel

Property: Astor Queensway Hostel
Address: 45 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SY, England (Formerly Astor Quest Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Queensway Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Astor Quest, a boutique budget hostel located in the bustling neighbourhood of Bayswater. With 100 beds, this hostel is charming and welcoming and set is in a quiet street minutes from Hyde Park. The Astor Queensway is one of the best low budget hotels, and the staff will keep you staying with a smile on your face throughout your stay. Welcoming backpackers through it's doors for over 20 years, this has the feel of a guesthouse. A short bus or tube ride takes you into the centre of town and all the sights including Oxford Circus, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. With a tranquil kitchen and dining room to converse with fellow travellers, 24-hour reception and clean comfortable beds, with breakfast included, the team at the Astor Queensway present much more than just a low cost room. Please note that we only allow guests between the ages of 18 and 35 years old as we are a backpackers hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Astor Queensway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing