We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor Queensway Hostel
Ranked #102 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I've been to many hostels in London and been very disappointed. I had reservations about this hostel, but I was incredibly surprised. Very clean and spacious. Not many hostels have carpet! The bed luggage cages are amazing and I had three different cleaners come in on the one day. Free breakfast is great and everything they offer is free. Showers are good also! I definitely recommend staying here. Location is also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    108
    45
    16
    7
See reviews for
6
23
80
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I stayed in this hostel one night in a 4beds dormitory.The room was not so big for the luggage, but the bathroom was in the room so, nice and near. Everything clean,but the atmosphere was not really nice. No lift to arrive to the 3th floor where there was my room, but nice staff people who helped me and gave advices for everything you may need. There's not a really common area, only the kitchen downstairs, so, it's not a relaxing common area, to spend time and to meet other people. I thought better, in other hostels the atmosphere is much better, but if you need a cheap bed, with a nice breakfast in a really central area, this is really good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessia_Camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I came to Astor Quest Hostel in January fresh off the boat from NZ and not knowing anyone. It was the best place to be and I met so many people. It turns out that over the year I have travelled to many countries and rather than get a house and
pay rent when I am not there I decided to just stay at the hostel in between travelling. The hostel is just that, a hostel. You get a comfy bed, and a reasonably clean bathroom, t.v. Room with movies galore, free breakfast in the morning and free towels! But what makes this hostel the best are the awesome travellers you meet and the staff who really try to bring everyone together and make it a family. I am currently working here at this hostel for 9 weeks, 3 more to go until I leave for to go back to NZ. I will miss this place and everyone I've met.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great location, a 3 minute walk from Queensway tube which is a great link to many of the best sights in London. The Natural History & V&A museums can be walked to through the park within half hour which is great on a sunny day.

Stayed in the 6 bed female dorm which was clean. Bed were comfy, pillows a little thin but that's what jumpers are for!! The hostel is warm and you are only able to open the windows a small amount (health & safety rule) but it wasn't too uncomfortable to sleep when I stayed as not warm outside.

Breakfast was a nice touch as not expected in hostels. Cereal selection, toast & fresh brewed coffee.

For the price I paid I was impressed with Astor & would definitely stay again if in London. Thanks to all the staff & fellow travellers that made me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I used to work at the quest as a manager from the ages of 22-24. It was the most fun I have ever had in my life so I am naturally biased to this place. Even though I could afford a more upscale place I would go back to the quest anyday. I think like any backpackers the place can either be made or broken on the staff and that changes frequently as there are a lot of part time backbackers who work in it. but from an affordable , fun, and be sure you are Ok with noise, possbily roomates, foam mattresses, no private bathroom then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: if there are two of you get the double room. for an average of 30 pounds a night it is great value a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I had a really good time staying at astor quest, the staff is not from this world :) i will deffinetly stay there next time when i visit london

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrvoje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I had tons of fun at this hostel, all the staff were amazing and I've made tons of great friends for life. Zach, Jarrad, Alessandro, Amanda, Felix and Dreis are awesome. The best team I've met. The rooms are good, the quality of te stay was great. Clean rooms and showers, a well stocked kitchen, good security and lots of activities organized by the hostel. The only problem was that there wasn't a lift and the hike to the 6th got a bit old pretty quickly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razaxwoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#494 of 1,067 in London
551 reviews
Troy Hotel
#597 of 1,067 in London
541 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#526 of 1,067 in London
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#40 of 838 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Astor Museum Hostel
Astor Museum Hostel
#87 of 838 in London
315 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#105 of 556 in London
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Queensway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Queensway Hostel

Property: Astor Queensway Hostel
Address: 45 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SY, England (Formerly Astor Quest Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Queensway Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Astor Quest, a boutique budget hostel located in the bustling neighbourhood of Bayswater. With 100 beds, this hostel is charming and welcoming and set is in a quiet street minutes from Hyde Park. The Astor Queensway is one of the best low budget hotels, and the staff will keep you staying with a smile on your face throughout your stay. Welcoming backpackers through it's doors for over 20 years, this has the feel of a guesthouse. A short bus or tube ride takes you into the centre of town and all the sights including Oxford Circus, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. With a tranquil kitchen and dining room to converse with fellow travellers, 24-hour reception and clean comfortable beds, with breakfast included, the team at the Astor Queensway present much more than just a low cost room. Please note that we only allow guests between the ages of 18 and 35 years old as we are a backpackers hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Astor Queensway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing