We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Horniman Museum and Gardens
Ranked #143 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Horniman Museum and Gardens is an inspiring, surprising, family-friendly, free attraction in South London’s Forest Hill.The Museum has been open since Victorian times, when Frederick John Horniman first opened his house and extraordinary collection of objects to visitors. Since then, the collection has grown tenfold and includes internationally important collections of anthropology and musical instruments, as well as an acclaimed aquarium and natural history collection.Unusually for such an important museum, you can see the collection up-close and face-to-face. You can even pick up, try on and play with some objects.Visitors come time and again to explore this free museum, take part in our activities and enjoy the 16-acre gardens.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely weather so didn't go into the museum. Cafe busy and our order not quite right but it was bank holiday Monday and I'm sure on a quieter day all would be fine. The food was good and I didn't consider it too pricey by museum standards. Amazing views of the London skyline. The gardens are lovely with vegetables and fruit growing. My only concern I thought the animal pens quite small especially the sheep pen. Would prefer to see them in a field.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruarted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    194
    49
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
“set a entrance fee up front”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have no problem with a entrance fee what's so ever , I get it , that is how some museums survive, but do not advertise this as free , and when you get there its not, my gripe is , the staff were not that good to be honest , we took our grand children there on it being advertised as a children museum, we got there , and first they tried to sell us a family ticket , and when the wife asked for the age limit , & she pointed out our two were only 2 & 3 the look of disappointment was overwhelming, so they charged us for two adults, for the aquarium, which was ok, but here is the major problem, there were a few other exhibits that there was a charge for , but you had to go back to reception and join a queue, and start again, why did they not tell us this information at the start, overall quite a bit here to look at but not staff friendly, and why not just say this is a fee paying attraction, plus there food hall , WOW west end prices in Dulwich £5 for a piece of pie and some dried out salad, bearing in mind we sat down to eat at 11.45 was this yesterdays left over salad, and some of the other parents just let there kids run wild, I know that's not the museum thought but there staff could have acted a bit quicker, a sorry wet day out in Dulwich

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HornimanMuseum, Digital Assistant at Horniman Museum and Gardens, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Mike – sorry to hear about your bad experience at the Horniman.
Our staff should always strive to be clear and upfront when communicating the prices of our special exhibitions. While the Museum is free, the Aquarium has a small entrance fee and our major exhibition for each year will also carry a charge. We are currently offering a discount when these tickets are bought together, and our membership schemes also offers good value for money for those wishing to attend the 2 displays with entrance fees. Children under 5 are always free.
All of this information is clearly displayed on the wall and banners near the Information Desk, and our staff should be able to clearly communicate all the prices and options. This clearly didn’t happen during your visit and we will look into why that was.
I hope you have a better experience on your next visit to the Horniman and are able to visit our many free displays, including the Natural History, Centenary and Music Galleries, as well as the Gardens and Animal Walk (open 12.30 - 4pm). There is also usually a temporary exhibition on the Balcony Gallery, which is free to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing, but worth visiting if in South East London”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a small museum that is a great location for families to spend a day out at the week-end. It has a nice cafe and lots of outside space in the surrounding gardens.

The museum itself does not offer a huge amount, however it is worth visiting if you live or visit the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lillya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great value for all!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Wonderful, interactive museum for all ages. Lots of history and science available for a good educational learning.
The grounds are great and the café is a great place to unwind.
Go and experience it yourself!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank debsmillen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great day out for all the family”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic Mother's Day spent listening to many different types of singing and music which was being played in the grounds of the museum today. Always check the website for different event. First time my 3 year old granddaughter has been and was fascinated by the animals, including being able to look at som bugs under a microscope resulting in Nanna buying her a magnifying glass for the grounds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horniman Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Horniman Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing