We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and very informative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houses of Parliament

Houses of Parliament
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.42*
and up
Inside the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey Tour in London
Ranked #8 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most of this iconic building was built in the mid-19th century following a devastating fire in 1834. Westminster Hall survived the fire and dates from 1097. Visitors can book tours through the House of Commons and the House of Lords, and are welcome to watch debates and committees when the Houses are sitting..
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful and very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I booked a guided tour for my 10 year old granddaughter and myself. I was apprehensive that she might find it too long, as the tour lasted nearly 2 hours, but there was so much to see, from awe inspiring architecture to amazing art. We both found the tour fascinating, covering as it does 1,000 years of history, that covered not only the history of the buildings but the evolution of the present parliamentary system. It is a place of interest that words really cannot do justice too and gets my vote as one of those places you must visit before you die. Booking online was very easy, with tickets sent by post. When we visited there was no queuing, just the few minutes it takes to go through security, as all tickets have a timed slot. You need to be aware that sitting is strictly forbidden in most places on the tour, except in two or three places, even on steps!, so after your tour, head to the cafe, situated in one corner of Westminster Hall, to refresh aching bodies and tired feet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol_trower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,815
    2,962
    442
    59
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

its massive and stunning. amazing architecture. and tells the history about the government. lovely place to visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VM123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Very British Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

History totally imortalised here. The granduer inside and outside is just magnificent. Felt privileged to go to a building where so much history has been made. The architecture has to be seen to be believed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
202 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very revealing tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Enjoyed the audio tour which is well thought out and informative.Surprised in many ways that one can wander around the Houses as freely as one wishes.Would appeal to those of a political/historical bent.Very reasonably priced

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing place and a great afternoon tea ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

If you go to the ticket booth now in portcullis house opposite Big Ben you can't book afternoon tea

To do both tour and afternoon tea you have to use ticket master

I couldn't get it to do both do had to ring and comain and ticket master customer service sorted it out. I probably would have given up if it wasn't for a special occasion

Security us tight as you would expect and us airport style so leave time

Two types of tours audio do it yourself or guided The extra for the guide is well worth it

Almost two hours of wonderful history and in one if the most over the top buildings ever

You see both the Lords and the commons debating chambers.

Sadly you can't take photos except in a couple of places and they aren't the debating chambers. Given it's on TV and photographed by the press I'm not sure why you can't take photos whilst it's not in session

Good gift shop and cafe but we went for Afternoon Tea which was lovely and us in a Marque on the Terrace beside the Thames

Nice sandwiches scones and clotted cream and cakes with good service and it really made for a memorable visit

Desire living in London for years I had never been and it will certainly be a memory for the rest of my life and I can't recommend it enough

Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houses of Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Houses of Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing