We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To understand the English, visit this park”
Review of Hampstead Heath

Hampstead Heath
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.07*
and up
Private Custom Tour: London in a Day
Ranked #47 of 1,631 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“To understand the English, visit this park”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

While England has changed in many ways, this place wasn't. You see English gentleman enjoying the sun on a warm day, teens playing rugby, joggers exploring the trails, and skinny-dippers swimming in the male, female, and mixed ponds (chilly!).

Also, on top of Parliament Hill, you are afforded a sweeping view of London. I love this place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DogenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    316
    46
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You can forget you're in London and don't miss the Saturday morning farmer's market”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've never been a fan of London or of big cities in general. I hate that feeling of being trapped in among towering buildings, breathing dirty air and being surrounding by hurrying, indifferent people. This was the perfect place to feel like you'd escaped from that and from the baking heat of a summer day in London. It's a seemingly vast area of beautiful open space with different areas all having different characters. I enjoyed the bustle of the Saturday morning farmers market (definitely worth a visit), the quiet of the leafy tracks, the friendly bustle of the dog walking paths, the stately elegance of Kenwood's house and grounds.
If you feel like getting away from the bustle for a bit, enjoying a walk and a bit of fresh air, I can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Park in the Middle of London”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an amazing, large green space that is very dog friendly. We recently went here and were surprised how huge it was, but also how dog friendly it was. We had brought our dog along for the walk and there many dogs running about all having fun.

Furthermore, the views you can get from this park of Central London (once you climb the small hill in the middle of the Heath) are amazing.

Would recommend you visit if you get a chance!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeffsumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely green space for relaxing or walking. A nice escape from the closeness of dwellings in London.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SelinaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Strolling around the gardens”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hampstead Health Gardens are fabulous. Spent two hours there with my aunt on a very drissly day in London. Well manicured lawns, fabulous old trees and flowering bushes and huge lakes. Saw squirrels too. The coffee shop was amazing and a welcome respite from the rain. Yummy cakes. The gardens are well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hampstead Heath also viewed

 

Been to Hampstead Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing