We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad they didn't have a concert, since it looked so Royal outside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Albert Hall

Royal Albert Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.18*
and up
Grand Tour of The Royal Albert Hall in London
Ranked #4 of 339 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1871, the Royal Albert Hall is the world’s most famous stage. It is also one of London’s most iconic and visited tourist attractions. Over the years, it has been the scene of over 150,000 performances; from Wagner to Sinatra, The Beatles to Beyonce, Muhammad Ali to Adele, and is home to the celebrated BBC Proms. Whilst the venue is most famous for its shows by night, by day this treasured building is open for coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and guided tours of the building. Tip for tour ticket holders: Enjoy a 10% discount on items in the Hall’s gift shop and Cafe Bar.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Too bad they didn't have a concert, since it looked so Royal outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We checked to see if they had a concert or other event when were were visiting, but there was not. Still didn't keep us from crossing the street when visiting Kensington and Hyde Parks to take a look. To see such a historic venue from the outside yet see such historical performances on TV, one wonders whether such a venue in the States would survive. What? No sky boxes? No Luxury Suites? No naming rights splattered on the outside defacing the building built in 1871? The UK has history. The US has ?

Beautiful architecture, renovated several times, it still retains it's regal splendor. Wish we could have gone inside, but even from the outside was worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,478
    1,183
    216
    80
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Guided Tour much more exciting and informative than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had mixed feelings about spending time taking a tour of a concert hall, but was very pleased with the guide and tour. It was fun, informative, and we even got to see a lighting check for a concert. The venue is full of history and is simply beautiful. I have already recommended the tour to other tourists and Londoners I met along the way during my visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Perfect Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We visited last night for the Symfunny concert at the RAH and had an almost perfect concert experience. This is a review of the venue rather than the event (which itself was fantastic).

From our walk up to this iconic venue to the crowd dispersal and finding a cab at the end this really is a top venue.

The use of separate entrances all round the building mean no cues or fuss as the building just soaks up crowds. We were seated on the floor of the hall so used one of the downstairs bars. Quick friendly service again meant a speed throughput of customers which again means you can get on with enjoying yourself rather than waiting.

Plenty of ushers to help find seats and a sensible seating layout let us settle in and enjoy being entertained in a world class concert hall.

Interval drinks in the lovely, comfortable bar were just where they were supposed to be. Toilet facilities were fine and not too crowded but, as ever, be sensible and avoid the crush at the start of the interval.

Getting out was a zero hassle experience and, even though it was raining, there were plenty of black cabs cruising for a fare.

All the staff we encountered were professional, friendly, smiling and happy to be there.

Well done Royal Albert Hall you definitely delivered a top notch evening.

Helpful?
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gladiator on Screen - a spectacle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This venue has been putting on cinema for a while now and the screen showing is accompanied by the whole orchestra with live film track. This film was outstanding on the large screen in this environment. Thrilling, emotional and listening to the choir singing as they marched into battle was quite overwhelming. These are a must see for anyone. We have seen West side Story and Lord of the Rings and you can sit on swivel chairs to turn to the screen and watch in relative comfort whilst losing yourself in the live music. Although the tickets are not cheap at £50 each, I would say that for a special treat (my birthday) they are worth every penny. Get there by underground straight to South Kensington and a short walk from the station.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mordy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went to see Gladiator here (film on a screen and orchestra laying the soundtrack) and it was fantastic.
If you are in London do try to go. You can buy quite cheap tickets for the higher levels and super cheap for the very top. Being circular it is such an unusual space and atmosphere but the music flows around you and the other attendees are all quite relaxed and friendly so it makes for a great night out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss_London_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Albert Hall also viewed

 

Been to Royal Albert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing