We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treasure trove of medicinal plants”

Chelsea Physic Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$230.89*
and up
Secret Gardens Tour of London with Afternoon Tea
Ranked #146 of 1,615 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amman
Level Contributor
336 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A treasure trove of medicinal plants”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you like gardens you will love the Chelsea Physic Garden. It is a gem hidden in Chelsea and close to the Thames . Founded by the Society of Apothecaries centuries ago, when the area was a boat ride outside London, the garden is a treasure trove of medicinal plants.
A tour of the garden with highly a informative guide is included in the admission price. I loved the raised pond - made of all sorts of historic bits and pieces - the mature trees, and the amazing collection of plants. The garden is not very large but it is densely planted and there is something of interest at every step. There is a peaceful cafe, which stretches out onto the lawn. Above the cafe there is an exhibition area and when I visited this had a most impressive collection of botanical paintings. They were unbelievably detailed and beautiful. The whole experience was both restful and informative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    121
    20
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow what a find”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I didn't even know that this existed. My wife and I had a couple of hours in here on a beautiful sunny day. £9 each and learnt so much about the medicinal properties of plants and flowers and how throughout the centuries they have been at the front of our advances across the world. Gave us some ideas for growing grape vines as well!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJ, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Garden oasis that educates”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Trekked along the riverfront towards Chelsea to locate this historic Garden even though I was not expecting much at the end of August. Whether you are an expert or novice gardener,there is so much information about plants local and exotic, packed into charming and varied display beds, that I strolled the grounds several times and still found new things to catch my eye. A clever teepee from repurposed branches, a mobile of milk cartons planted with starter seeds, herbs used in cutting edge medicines or ancient remedies, stacked crates overflowing with tomatoes and complimentary planting, knot gardens,sunken gardens,woodland gardens, formal beds and borders... Time flew by and I am sure I only scratched the surface. I was particularly struck by the harmony of these plants collected from all over the world and how they thrived together to create such a peaceful beauty....there is a lesson here. Take a break from touring to enjoy this green oasis.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank opusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heavenly Garden”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Thought the entrance fee £9 was terrible but once inside i thought id gone to garden heaven! price includes tour, spent 3 hours looking around it will delight you....also wine on sale in the cafe!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deniscroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A lovely, hidden garden in the heart of London. Yes it does cost £9 to enter, but you could stay for hours if you wanted, or if you want to visit regularly, you can get a year's membership. It is full of beautiful plants and interesting info about them. The guided tour was interesting, or otherwise just amble about. And their cake and coffee is delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyW1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chelsea Physic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Physic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing