We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food for Flowers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Physic Garden

Chelsea Physic Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.88*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #134 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Food for Flowers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to see the flowers and had a stupendous meal. Wine is served where you buy tea, we had a wonderful prose coo. The food was good value, the kitchen served salmon en croute; the steak my wife and son had was superb, I tried surf and turf with a beautiful mouthful of sea bass, which my sister ordered and I had a delicious mackerel. Obviously, vegetables and service are great, supplied by a Tangerine Dream

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FinnFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    116
    20
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chelsea Gem, worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Chelsea Physic Garden is a gem, originally a teaching garden for druggests a few hundred years ago when the property when to the waterfront. The 4 acre garden that remains is just wonderful, volunteers provide tours. There is also a lovely cafe on the property so plan on having lunch or tea while you are there. The quality of the food was very high, smoked Mackrel, quiches, salads, home baked goodies. Just the gentle respite a busy tourist needs!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MOH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
664 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“An interesting tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a 4 acre historical garden in the middle of Chelsea. It costs about £9.50 per adult to get in and there is a cafe and small shop. We joined a 40 minute tour of the gardens led by Mike which was included in the price. This really enhanced our visit and helped us to understand the purpose and history of the garden. It is a beautiful place with lots of interesting stories. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
134 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A little bit of peace in busy Chelsea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have been visiting London for over 25 years and had no idea this little garden spot was in Chelsea: I know it know.

A French, Lady friend of mine, a resident of Chelsea, invited me to join her for a late morning visit to this apothecaries' garden on a recent spring morning: was I surprised. This little place (well, not so little) is in the heart of Chelsea, just off Kings Road and very near historic Christ Church, the famous Royal Hospital, and Sir Thomas Moore's place of residence. It has been a garden since 1673.

The Garden is a great get a way from the bustle of the high street. If one has an interest in learning more about medicinal plants, and plants in general, this is a great little adventure. It's also a great place for a glass of wine or a light garden lunch in a very pleasant garden setting.

A visit takes about an hour and one will find it refreshing. It is a nice place to add to ones visit to Chelsea.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank denniskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little miracle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Possibly the most beautiful urban garden we've ever visited. You could be in the middle of the countryside; so little noise can be heard once you're inside the walls. A real secret garden. Magical.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chelsea Physic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Physic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing