We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent garden to visit”

Chelsea Physic Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$232.04*
and up
Secret Gardens Tour of London with Afternoon Tea
More Info
US$78.23*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #95 of 1,647 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent garden to visit”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We unfortunately visited the gardens on a wet and miserable day. They are lovely gardens with so much to see and I would imagine would vary at different times of the year depending on the seasons. I am very interested in how plants are used for medicine and have undertaken a few courses on homeopathy in the past. However I was quite disappointed that there were not more signs up beside plants explaining their medicinal uses. We were hoping for a tour but the lady said she would only give the tour if enough people came through the gates. Quite a few came through the gates after us, so we went back to ask about the tour and were advised she had gone home. We were then offered an audio machine to tell us about the gardens. We felt quite let down by this experience. We enjoyed seeing the falconers with the Harris Hawk - a wonderful bonus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NZcouple_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    123
    21
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great place for exploration and education”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from my second visit to the Chelsea Physic Garden ... This is the ideal place for a family to explore, have fun and learn. An oasis tucked in the middle of London with a unique collection of medicinal, edible and historic plants. Spend time in the new garden of medicinal plants. It's a place to linger and learn .... explore and have fun. You can either go on one of the many tours with an experienced guide or take a garden plan and recorded tour from the entrance booth and saunter through an your own pace. It will be worth it. Adults and children will come away with a great appreciation of the wonderful world of plants and the history of herbal medicine. The restaurant has good food too but is a bit pricey ... $4.00 for a cup of tea. Come on now!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAMCANBUDGET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tranquility peace and aromatic delight”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well this is a wonderful place to come and to join and support,
The garden is heaven and there is a lovely section which I always love to go to which is devoted to perfumes! It is amazing and such a credit to the lovelym talented and committed staff who make the place a joy to visit. Terrific tea and cakes, excellent gardens...I have little doubt that everyone in the residential development business want to get thier hands on the site but that is its greatest pleasure - money cannot buy the joy of nature!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“If I lived in London I would spend time here”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This little secret garden in Chelsea is a lovely way to while away the hours on a sunny day. The garden is delightful, there are very regular free tours, you can picnic on the lawns, enjoy a varied menu of fresh home cooked specials, salads, knockout quiches, cakes and decent wine and soft drinks and exceptional coffee. The only drawback is the serving system, it would be enhanced (and a lot more profitable for the garden and less time consuming for the visitor) if the serving line was divided so that desserts and coffees could be bought without standing in a very slow food order queue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh spring walk in the park”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stunning oasis in the heart of London. A fascinating step back in time to view all the medicinal plants growing in their original grounds. London's oldest botanic garden. (1673) Restaurant had quite amazing food too. A very 'English' experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank girlpianotruckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chelsea Physic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Physic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing