We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Clink Prison Museum
Ranked #185 of 1,647 things to do in London
Attraction details
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Too much of a tourist trap. Hyped up history. Very child oriented. Over priced definately. They could have made much more of this. Very superficial

Helpful?
Thank EPFAN1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    412
    200
    85
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short but sweet visit”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is an excellent museum. It's only small and our visit was less than an hour but it was very enjoyable. A lot of the exhibits are hands on and can be touched, so plenty of photo opportunities. You can sit in the torture chair, this proved very popular with my two children. As you walk round there is plenty of information about the exhibits displayed and stories of some of the inmates held at the prison.
It was a bit expensive to get in, but we had a 2 for 1 voucher so I managed to save a bit. There is a small gift shop at the end, but when we visited there was only one member of staff available and she was working the front desk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cleobury_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having read the reviews we only expected to spend a short while here but could have spent hours. So much information, really interesting, lots for the kids to look at and torture items to try out. So many sad stories of previous inmates but thoroughly recommend seeking it out. Used train 2 for 1 so even better value

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie7042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unfulfilled potential”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This museum has so much potential which hasn't been realised. Being on such an historic site a reconstruction of at least part of the original prison might work rather than a collection of artefacts and information boards. For the admission price of £20 for one adult and two children, including a guide book I would have expected more. The children were bored and we were hard pushed to spend more than 30 minutes in the museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonG41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I absolutely adored this charming museum and its knowledgeable, warm, agreeable staff. Yes, it is a small, humble museum, but I fail to see how anyone can leave a place like this without having learnt a great deal about the Clink Prison itself as well as the history of crime and punishment in England. It was fascinating. The staff member I encountered was happy to answer any questions I had and seemed incredibly enthusiastic about the place and the thrilling history that surrounded it. Do not expect a fancy, high tech, action packed museum. But expect to learn and engage yourself in a riveting, if indeed grim, insight in to the past. The feel of the eerie site is enough to give you a taste of the horrors of what prison life used to be.

Take the time to read the information on the walls.

Enjoy the modesty of this museum and appreciate the niche nature of the information you will find there.

It's fun, informative, and pretty creepy in some places. Very cool indeed. Super Staff!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flippety H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clink Prison Museum also viewed

 

Been to Clink Prison Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing