We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Museum of the Living Room?

Formerly known as the Geffrye Museum, this museum is located in old East End almshouses founded by... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
989pezza
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Enjoyed our visit

Really enjoyed our visit. Interesting perspectives of the home it's contents and the people that... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2021
VegetarianDiner2014
,
United Kingdom
Read all 743 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around London
from US$83.93
More Info
from US$42.24
More Info
from US$106.95
More Info
from US$20.31
More Info
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
386
284
54
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
284
54
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hoxton station middle classes sir robert new extension gardens are lovely free entry centuries homes century displays eras donation timeline chapel overview britain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I have been here a few times over the years so know what to expect and the display doesn't change much. The first thing that strikes you is that this place does not fit in with its gritty surrounding. The building itself is beautiful and the front lawn and garden provide a perfect landscape for it. The museum itself is not huge perhaps 45 minutes but it is unusual in tracking the tastes and living standards of the middle classes from about 1630 to 2000 through their living space decor. There are a number of rooms fitted out as they would have been at the time with period or reproduction furniture and wallpaper plus china and lighting etc. There is not a great deal of explanation in the rooms so a guide may be worthwhile. In between rooms are timelines and comments on building design and construction as well as new inventions that were driving changes. In the new building there are 20th century rooms and a few interesting paintings. Do not miss the garden at the rear - it is open now and looks and smells fabulous. The cafe is quite expensive and does not appear inviting.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2017

A fabulous way to bring history to life, a serious of rooms displaying life through the ages as defined by the drawing room of the middle classes, if more history was shown this way maybe we might be more respectful of our heritage, hands on activities for younger children make this suitable for all ages. Highly recommend for a couple of hours including time in a lovely cafe overlooking the gardens.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

I really love period rooms so this was just up my alley. I did not enjoy the Teenagers room exhibit as much as the rest of the museum. Nice area for coats and the actual building is beautiful.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Lawgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2017

I used to come here all the time as a child. 30 years later I thought I'd bring my children. Its a great idea but there's only a few dinning rooms/lounges to see. from the 1800's their are even less. Dissappinted to go from the 1960s-1990s without the 70s and 80s which would be so iconic. Maybe it's a space issue. Unless you are in the area I wouldn't make a special trip.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank racgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Worth a visit if you're looking for some alternative museums around London. This showcases homes in London throughout the decades. An interesting walk into the past!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Travelain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews