We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to learn about the british army”

National Army Museum
Ranked #315 of 1,656 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Army Museum will open its bright new building to the public on 30 March 2017. It features five dynamic new galleries showcase thousands of objects from across our collections. They tell a huge range of stories from the army's history. Visitors can learn how to drum a battle command, or experience taking charge of a tank! The galleries offer many perspectives. They address fundamental questions such as 'Why do we have an army?', examine the army's relationship with society, and show how it has touched virtually every part of the world. They also reveal individual experiences of life as a soldier, including the conflicts they have fought in. The museum is a fun, interactive space for all the family. Our engaging museum experience reaches out to all. We want to connect the British public with its army, regardless of age, gender, race and religion. We aim to be a first class museum that moves, inspires, challenges, educates and entertains. We examine the army's role as protector, aggressor and peacekeeper from the British Civil Wars to the modern day. Through our collections we preserve and share stories of ordinary people with extraordinary responsibilities. We explore the role of the army and its relevance today. The new National Army Museum is for everyone, no matter what they think about the British Army.
TA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great place to learn about the british army”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Nice exhibits, especially the new one, about the war in Afghanistan. Recommended if you really interested in the history of armies, warfare and weapons.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    91
    27
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I wasn't expecting a great deal at The National Army Museum but ended up pleasantly surprised at what was on offer. There's something to keep everybody happy - I especially liked the vast WW1 & WW2 area. Great place to go if you need to learn about a specific conflict period.

It took 3 hours - instead of the 1 hour we'd planned, but we still didn't get the whole thing done, so need to visit again in the next few years.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent Museum - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Situated next to the Royal Hospital Chelsea, I found this museum a joy to visit with lots and lots of interesting exhibits to both look at and to get interactive way.

For me the highlight was the huge diorama of the Waterloo battlefield.

The only problem with getting to this excellent museum is that there are no tube stations near it, so you could walk it from a nearby tube station or get the bus, which is what I did.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So typical of dumbed down Britain”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Could be very good and certainly there is much in there but..........

The place is alive with screaming kids. Please dont tell me that they are there for educational reasons; some were in prams and pushchairs!

Bit too accessible for my liking, but not as god-awful PC and accessible as the IWM or the Maritime museum.

If you want a childrens playground for Trustafarian nannies to dump their kids for the day, then this is the place. As a serious educational or academic establishment - dreadful.

I've been to the lectures here as well and they seem to insist on holding them in the art gallery which has poor acoustics, uncomfortable seats and marginal AV system. Why they cannot use the marvelous lecture theatre downstairs is beyond me.

Typical dumbed-down Britain. If you are not having fun you cant be learning. No wonder we are a shambles as a country.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HP V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of London's hidden gems”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A superb museum, well laid out and thought provoking displays, pictures, photographs and objects of interest. Plenty of information and hands-on learning activities. There are many smaller rooms, nooks and crannies where you find yourself thinking: "What's in there?" "What does this do? "Where does this lead to?". I learned so much from my visit and highly recommend the museum to anybody with an interest in history or the military. There was also a resonably priced cafe, and museum shop selling interesting gifts and mementoes. Will look forward to visiting again when the museum has been rebuilt per the exciting new plans in the next couple of years.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandyfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Army Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Army Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing