We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well laid out and very informative”

National Army Museum
Ranked #343 of 1,631 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Army Museum will open its bright new building to the public on 30 March 2017. It features five dynamic new galleries showcase thousands of objects from across our collections. They tell a huge range of stories from the army's history. Visitors can learn how to drum a battle command, or experience taking charge of a tank! The galleries offer many perspectives. They address fundamental questions such as 'Why do we have an army?', examine the army's relationship with society, and show how it has touched virtually every part of the world. They also reveal individual experiences of life as a soldier, including the conflicts they have fought in. The museum is a fun, interactive space for all the family. Our engaging museum experience reaches out to all. We want to connect the British public with its army, regardless of age, gender, race and religion. We aim to be a first class museum that moves, inspires, challenges, educates and entertains. We examine the army's role as protector, aggressor and peacekeeper from the British Civil Wars to the modern day. Through our collections we preserve and share stories of ordinary people with extraordinary responsibilities. We explore the role of the army and its relevance today. The new National Army Museum is for everyone, no matter what they think about the British Army.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Well laid out and very informative”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spend three hours looking at the displays, which are very informative and well laid out. The toilets were very clean. It was a pity that some visitors did not seem to understand the horrors of war, and maybe did not want to. The gravity of the historical context was wholly minimised by some people.

There were several badly behaved and ill disciplined children climbing over delicate exhibits. The parents did a lot of shouting, but did not impose any sanctions, thus reinforcing the bad behaviour. This spoiled the visit for us. We felt that unique exhibits were being treated disrespectfully by some people, and that some displays, like the one about the Japanese WWII POWs, were being viewed in the same manner that one might play a computer war game.

We really felt that this exhibition was well thought out and well arranged. It is a great pity that some of the visitors did not learn anything, and they obviously didn't/maybe couldn't teach their children anything either.

The horrors of the past should be used to learn, so that we don't repeat those awful events in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    76
    25
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Only visited the Army museum because the men in my life wanted to. The Imperial War Museum was closed due to refurb so we came here instead.
I have to admit I really enjoyed it. Lots to see and lots to learn! Didn't realise how ignorant I was to the wars of past years. Take time to read the information not just look at the displays.
Lots of interactive stuff for the kids. Also a small cafe and shop.
I didn't think it was very well signposted like the larger museums but well worth the journey

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“So much to see! A real eye opener”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Clearly a lot of thought has gone into the displays, making them relevant and interesting. I was expecting a relatively quick visit but ended up spending most of the afternoon here and didn't manage to see everything.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tuftynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Worth a visit if you enjoy military history. Good amount of detail, interesting displays and the interactive areas are insightful and a fun way of learning about the history of the great british army. Particularly enjoyed the sections on the Army Medical Services and IED's.
Very inspirational

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lilypond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not great....”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Maybe i was expecting too much after seeing the brilliant RAF museum in colindale & the Imperial war museum. The national army museum was distinctly average by any standards. I will be uploading photographs i took at the museum but to be honest there wasn't much there to interest me. The gift shop was pretty good- and that says a lot about this review !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveyboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Army Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Army Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing