We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waste of time and money!”

Sherlock Holmes Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.27*
and up
Private Sherlock Holmes Walking Tour in London
More Info
US$18.55*
and up
London Marylebone and Baker Street Walking Tour
Ranked #249 of 1,651 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I totally agree with other people that this so called ‘museum’ is very poor value for money, to have to queue for up to 2 hours or more just to see artefacts etc of the period is simply stupid. Please remember Sherlock Holmes is fictional, he didn’t exist, also at the time that Arthur Conan Doyle invented the character, this part of Baker Street was called ‘Upper Baker Street’. Baker St was a very small part of which is now Baker St and the numbers never went into the 200s, the whole thing is a sham, let me put it this way, would you part with your hard earned cash to go and see where ‘Superman’ lived!! ………. Enough said.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    814
    566
    228
    187
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing, very little information”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This museum was the most disappointing place I went to on my trip to London. It is expensive and tiny. There is no information about the author, the books or anything. It is a replica of Sherlock's home. It has many badly made dummies.

I expected the staff would provide a presentation or tour or that there would be an audioguide or at the very least some information in the rooms but there was nothing.

Amazingly the place was crowded. I wish I had read the other reviews on here before wasting my time on this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

First of all. If Sherlock himself was alive and operating. I'd personally hire him to investigate who's responsible for the horrific waste of 2 whole hours of my precious life. Most of which was spent ,standing on the side of the road damaging my lungs.
Second of all, Once inside, all be it for a very short period. An overwhelming sense of jbf(justbinfu#ked). came over me.
Third of all . This is my first time reviewing on trip advisor. I felt so strongly about how shafted I feel. I was impelled to post.
For the people who happen to read this,that are thinking of paying this sham establishment a visit. I urge to think twice.
Save your ten pounds or multiplies of it and join me and help get to the bottom of where my,and thousands of other people's money and time have gone.
Cheers David. Pissed off a little bit.

Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not got value”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Expensive for what it is, as you only get about 20 to 30 minutes in there. We had to queue for over an hour at 11 o'clock in the morning. We also didn't realise that you are supposed to buy your entrance ticket in the shop next door before you queue as it doesn't say anywhere that you had to. Having said that we only went there as my daughter is a massive fan of Sherlock Holmes and she did enjoy it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martinlfc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pricey but a must-visit for Sherlock Holmes admirers to see him in reality!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a small shop-cum-museum that recreates the environment of the home of famous detective Sherlock Holmes. Although Sherlock Holmes is a fictional character created by Scottish writer Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, his (Holmes) popularity makes him a living person and the address used in the novels - 221B Baker St, London - becomes arguably world's one of the most discussed addresses. Interestingly, the address didn't exist at all until 1990 when the museum was opened in memory of Holmes and still today it's a cameo address, not a real one. If you visit the museum, you get to see the number 221B on the door, but the building is actually located in between the numbers 237 and 241 on Baker Street. Nonetheless, that won't stop you from getting the feeling that you're actually entering into the real home of Sherlock Holmes as the environment and exterior setup is perfect to welcome you into the world of our childhood hero.

As described in the novels, you see the interior that includes arrangement of the rooms, furniture and stairs. The most notable room is the Living-room where Sherlock Holmes and his friends and companion in many cases (who actually describes the stories in first person) John Watson sat together to talk to the clients. This room is an ideal place to take photographs and the authority gladly allows you to sit on the chair and take some pictures to keep your memories alive with Holmes.

The rest of the house shows characters from a number of novels and regenerates some scenes that gives you instant feelings of not only entering into the home of Holmes but also walking (and sometime investigating) through the cases!

However, I must also warn you that people who never read Sherlock Holmes before might find it a bit boring. You must have the 'connection' with the characters and the environment either through novels or TV shows or movies to enjoy the location. If you think that you don't have that connection, simply stay away from this place. This is probably not your cup of tea!

P.S. Please note that it's not free and costs £10 to enter (used to be £6 when I visited). Given that it's a small house, the price looks a bit harsh, specially when many people visit together. This is the only reason why I didn't give it a 5-star. Also be prepared for the long queue as it might take a while to enter the house. 'Rain' and 'Cold' should be taken care of as you might be forced to stand at the pavement without any roof on your head!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NiazChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherlock Holmes Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sherlock Holmes Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing