We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in London”

Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street
Ranked #375 of 22,679 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: Aloha! Welcome To Kua 'Aina - Our Burger and Sandwich Grill faithful to the original on Hawaii's North Shore which opened in 1975. Lava-grilled burgers, succulent sandwiches and delicious salads all served with a ray of sunshine! We also offer a wide range of fluffy American pancakes, sumptuous brunch, real ice cream milkshakes, specialty cocktails, Hawaiian craft beer and much more. Mahalo (Hawaiian for "thanks!") and see you soon!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best burger in London”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Okay, so I've tried quite a lot of the "best burgers" in London. This is still my favourite.

The burger itself is just so so meaty. Perhaps because the meat is ground less smoothly than other burgers. It's cooked to perfection and the bun is great... although low-carbers/ smaller appetites will be pleased with the burger-and-salad option, which is also delicious. The location is smashing too - near Carnaby Street so perfect after shopping on Oxford Street.

I've also had the american pancakes here, which I found a bit too big and fluffy. And not enough syrup - but then is there ever enough syrup?

The onion rings and chips are also delicious. The onion rings are monstrous though - make sure you eat the burger first so you aren't too full!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    234
    59
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went to this lovely little cafe after reading some of the excellent reviews on here. Pleased to say that it did live up to expectations: the food was good, the service was friendly and quick, and the atmosphere was pleasant. A definite 5* gem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatrionaRennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Funky Joint.... with decent Burger & Sweet Potato fries!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just off Carnaby St. (We visited with memories of 'Cheese Burger in Paradise' on Maui)..... couldn't reach those heights ;-)... but, still turned out a good burger, plenty of fries and a half decent atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second review about Kua Aina, and before I said the atmosphere had changed........ But we tried again and the Atmosphere was excellent.

We came back last Friday Evening was sat and a very friendly Waiter came over and asked us if we would like a drink.

We had some Fire Rock Hawaiian Beer which is a great Beer............

The Burgers are the best burgers in London, the Burgers are very juicy

We really enjoyed our visit with the great food, beer and the Service was the best we have had for a long time, he had a great smile, and it was a joy to be served by him.

Thank you Pål Anders your service was great.

We will be back and we will tell our friends

Thanks Again Kua Aina

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good food, rushed service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Visited at 1pm on a Sunday and the food was very good but as it got busier while we were eating we could tell they just wanted us done and out the door, particularly when they tried to take a bowl of chips we were still eating from. Waiter even went as far as suggesting we didn't take the hint!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Kua 'Aina - Carnaby Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing