We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery Excursion”

Belmond British Pullman
Ranked #136 of 785 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escape the every day on a thrilling adventure aboard the Belmond British Pullman luxury train. Step into lovingly restored vintage carriages—each with a story to tell. Our liveried stewards are on hand to pamper as gastronomic delights arrive at linen-coated tables, set with sparkling crystal and bespoke silverware. Savour exquisite cuisine with five course lunches, afternoon teas and exclusive celebrity chef dinners. Or choose from enchanting trips to historic cities, stately homes and sporting events. Embark on a timeless adventure from London, and revel in the spirit of the golden age of travel.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Great fun and a fabulous journey on a really beautiful train. The food was wonderful and the staff extremely courteous and attentive. Made us feel like royalty.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Baptiste L, General Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and shall pass on your kind compliments to the on board team!

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back onboard the Belmond British Pullman in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"orient express"
in 78 reviews
"victoria station"
in 92 reviews
"day trip"
in 62 reviews
"golden age of travel"
in 28 reviews
"kent countryside"
in 27 reviews
"steam train"
in 20 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 39 reviews
"return journey"
in 33 reviews
"oysters"
in 40 reviews
"christmas lunch"
in 15 reviews
"train journey"
in 17 reviews
"train manager"
in 14 reviews
"smoked salmon and caviar"
in 7 reviews
"pullman carriages"
in 7 reviews
"le manoir"
in 6 reviews
"celebrate a special occasion"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful carriages"
in 7 reviews
Filter

403 - 407 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2015

We had a wonderful day in the Pheonix carriage on 20th Feb 2015 when 4 of us went on the muder mystery lunch. 4.5 hours on the train with a 5 course lunch and the added fun of actors appearing now and again to give you clues to a murder!

The actors were very good at bringing fun to the occasion even if they perhaps adopted their 1930's persona and non-PC attitudes a little strongly, though it was all in jest and they were good at reading each table and the people at it and the level to pitch the scene at (not very high in our case!). I won't give away the murder answer (and I think they change it anyway), but it was an added bonus when we got the right answer in our carriage and won the champagne! (yay the working middle classes).

The food was fantastic and I can recommend upgrading the wine to the sommelier selection for each course if your budget will stretch to it (+£42 per person while onboard).

Service was also excellent, they could not do enough for you.

As others have mentioned the louge only has one toilet so large queues ensued. But 4 doors down off platform 2 there is a public loo you just need 30p to get in!

If you are travelling as 3 or 4 I recommend putting in a request on booking for a coupe for whatever carriage you are in which is a little more private.

2  Thank YellowVurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Baptiste L, General Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you very much for your post!

It is always a delight to read such lovely compliments. Be sure they will be shared with our on-board team but also the actors working to make your Murder Mystery Lunch a special moment.

Once again thank you for travelling with us and we hope to welcome you back shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

My husband and I recently took a trip on the British Pullman.

Check in is 50mins prior to departure but when we got there at this time the lounge whilst very nice was already full. There were some singers and tea and coffee available in take away cups. Check in took about 30 seconds and then we waited outside the lounge as it was too busy but within ten minutes the train pulled in and we were allowed to board immediately.

The staff looked lovely and smart in their uniforms and the train was beautiful.

We were on a three hour trip for brunch, the views were not amazing, it went to around Redhill and back but we hadn't gone for the views!

Brunch consisted of two Bellini's each and unlimited tea and coffee. We started with a fresh fruit cocktail and natural yogurt, then a choice of a warm crusty roll or fruit bread with strawberry jam, honey or marmalade, then scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and caviar, a buttered crumpet and mushrooms. Then to finish a warm apple cake with vanilla whipped cream.

After brunch we were encouraged to wander up and down the train to see the different carriages, which was nice and some singers came through the cabins as well. The toilets were large and spotless, there is around one per carriage and about 24 people per carriage. The carriages are really well laid out, the two's are very roomy all with a window view and the tables of four are in their own private compartment, which is nice.

There is also a full bar available to purchase, I cannot remember all of the prices but a bottle of Prosecco was £39 and the cheapest champagne was £62.

This is a once in a lifetime experience and I would recommend everyone to take one trip on this train, it's a very unique experience.

2  Thank LRE517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Baptiste L, General Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review of the Belmond British Pullman.

The staff will love reading your review and will be delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your Brunch!

Hopefully we will see you back on board soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I travelled to bath with my mum on 17th january and the whole day was amazing! The train is simply superb, the best journey ive ever taken and the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they were very down to earth. Ray our carriage manager was a superstar, the train was beautiful and the food and wine were delicious.a fabulous day of luxury and relaxation. Thank you orient express!!!I would recommend your trips without hesitation

3  Thank srogeiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Baptiste L, General Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am very pleased to read that your journey to Bath with us was a success.
Ray and the rest of the team on board are very proud of their train and will be delighted to read such comments.

We hope to welcome you back onboard the Belmond British Pullman sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2015

we were greeted with a glass of champagne and shown to our seats. Then we waited. And waited. 30 minutes after we should have departed the train manager informed everyone that we would be delayed as there was no heating on the train. Another glass might have made the delay more bearable but one was forthcoming.
The tone was set.
The food was bland but the service was poor: almost every server left their mark on the tablecloth or, in one case, in a glass, and it was left there! Perhaps understandable when rattling over points but less so when the train was stopped at a station! It was serve yourself to wine and water and,generally, more reminiscent of an old British Rail dining car than fine dining on wheels.
It's probably reasonable to expect more for £300 a head.
To compound the sense of disappointment the train, booked for that date as there was supposed to be a steam locomotive, was a diesel!
Not an experience to be repeated.

4  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Baptiste L, General Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Thank you for your comment concerning your recent experience on board the British Pullman.

I am very sorry to read of your disappointment and to hear that this journey did not meet your expectations.

With regards to the 25 minutes delay in leaving, as we wish to provide the most pleasant environment possible for our guests, we made the decision to delay departure to ensure that the heating was in order since it was a very cold day. Had we proceeded without the heating, the train would have been very cold and the experience onboard the train would then have been severely affected.

It is unfortunate that the information regarding the delay did not reach you as quickly as we would have liked. As the carriages are from the 1920's, we do not have a public address system and the information must be communicated verbally and individually along our 10 carriages.

Please also accept my sincere apologies if the level of service we normally pride ourselves on did not reach your expectations.
Every aspect of the experience should be perfect and I will investigate to see what happened to ensure that we get this right going forward.

You also mention that you were disappointed that the trip was not steam hauled as you had chosen it for that reason. This particular date was always planned as a diesel hauled trip - we operate with steam haulage on specified dates and this was not one of them.

Kind regards,
Jean-Baptiste Laglace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmond British Pullman also viewed

 

Been to Belmond British Pullman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing