We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
50th Birthday Treat

My husband treated me for my 50th birthday a trip on the British Pullman to Raymond Blancs superb... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
icequeen738
,
Angmering, United Kingdom
via mobile
Pullman perfection

My wife and I spent a wonderful 6 hours on the Belmond Pullman on New Year’s Eve travelling around... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chris_CJT
,
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
via mobile
Read all 644 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around London
from US$32.86
More Info
from US$38.12
More Info
from US$19.72
More Info
from US$39.43
More Info
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
528
55
37
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
55
37
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orient express victoria station day trip golden age of travel kent countryside steam train return journey glass of champagne oysters train journey beautiful carriages train manager christmas lunch smoked salmon and caviar celebrate a special occasion afternoon tea roman baths
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas lunch - 9/12 on the British Pullman. From the moment we entered check-in to when we arrived back at Victoria the service from everyone was impeccable. The food was divine & each course was certainly delicious - especially the Christmas dessert. The entertainment from the Spitfire Sisters was also a highlight. So glad we booked this experience.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank MaxieRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryEFranklin, Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear MaxieRichie

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am pleased you had such a great trip with the Belmond British Pullman.

All the team love reading these reviews and appreciate such glowing comments.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon and in the meantime Happy New Year

Kind Regards



Gary Franklin


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Enjoyed our trip on New Years Eve, the staff all looked really smart in their uniform. Unfortunately we were near the kitchen in Gwen and the door was constantly being opened and not shut so was a bit chilly and after someone had smoked in the toilets at the other end meant everyone had to come our end of the train. My husband fillet of beef was a bit chewy and when the steward asked if everything was ok he mentioned it but she made no comment and we didn't get petits fours with our coffee which was a minor issue. But the biggest disappointment was that someone had told my husband that the train on a previous occasion had stopped on the bridge in London to see the fireworks and we didn't. Having said all that it was a great experience and so pleased we did it.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank jmg492016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryEFranklin, Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear jmg492016,

Happy New Year to you.

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your New Years Eve trip. I think it is such a relaxing way to see in the new year.

I am sorry that there were some service issues and I will bring this up with the team to ensure it does not happen again.

Once in the past we had managed to get a stop on one of the railway bridges over the Thames, As I am sure you understand we have to operate within the national railway timetable and this year we were unable to secure that slot. We will work with Network Rail to see what can be done again in the future.

I hope you did enjoy the Scottish Bagpiper who came through train which we felt was very atmospheric.

Once again we appreciate your review, and use it to continue to improve and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards



Gary Franklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

The British Pullman is such a special train - beautifully restored luxury carriages pulled by a steam locomotive with attendant staff dressed smartly in their livery waiting to greet and guide to seats. The Christmas lunch trip is extra special with festive decorations, attractively set tables, Christmas songs provided by the Spitfire Sisters and even a magician to amuse patrons during the four hour round journey from Victoria.

Lunch starts with champagne and canapes followed by a smoked salmon starter and main course of turkey, pheasant, roast potatoes and vegetables (all hot and served on warm plates!). A generous choice of cheeses and dessert to finish. Accompanied by a good choice of wines and coffee and served professionally by a friendly team of attendants.

The great age of steam certainly makes this a memorable trip and obviously delights the numerous people photographing and waving to the Pullman as it chuffs through the Kent countryside and many stations. A real treat at Christmas!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Philgyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryEFranklin, Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Dear Philgyuk

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

The team will be delighted to read such a glowing review. They are all very proud of the train and all agree that the train is very special.

Thank you once again for such a lovely review and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards



Gary


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We have been on this twice, once for a birthday treat and enjoyed it so much we decided to do it all again for our anniversary. On both times we loved it, so much so we have booked again for our next anniversary! Its not cheap i accept but in our opinion worth every single penny! We thought we were treated like royalty the first time but the second occasion was even better. On this occasion we were really stunned to find out that we were not only on the exact same carriage and sat at the exact same table but also had the same waiter Thomas as the first time. We gleefully pointed this out to Thomas and whilst I'm sure he didn't really remember us like we had done him he acted just as if he did and that made it even more special. Throughout the whole journey we were treated the the very best of service and wonderful food and drink. On our first trip we remembered the train manager who told the most wonderful story about his 25th anniversary and a wonderful trip he had taken that seemed like around most of the world with the company. Low and behold he promptly appeared and I mentioned to him about this and he promptly told us in even greater detail about other wonderful trips he had been on. The final flourish being at the end of the trip he came back to us and shook our hand and thanked us by name for coming and hoped we would join them again sometime soon, what a wonderful gesture as I hasten to add we never once told him our name so he had taken the trouble to go and look it up. We went on the Garden of England trip which is basically around the Kent countryside, with a little stop of at a station on the way for a glass of bubbly and oysters whilst being treated to the tones of a jazz band on the platform! We cannot speak highly enough of this whole adventure, we loved every minute of both trips. It is high class service in the extreme. We have told everyone who wants to listen how good it is and the mother-in-law has since been too on one of the 'steam train' trips which is what we are lucky enough to be doing for our next one. Would we go again, well we are so a big fat yes to that. we are looking forward to hopefully catching up with Thomas again he really is a credit to the company and enjoying yet another very special occasion! Save up, splash out in my view you wont be disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2016
4  Thank johnty1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryEFranklin, Manager at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Dear John T

Thank you very much for your lovely review and so pleased that you came back to the Belmond British Pullman for your anniversary.

Thank you for spreading the word about how good your experience has been and Thomas will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed his efforts.

A lot of the team on board have been on the train for a number of years and are very proud of the train and love reading about our customers experiences.

Thank you for taking the time for posting such a complete review and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards



Gary Franklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

From the warm welcome from the Spitfire Sisters singing outside the British Pullman lounge to the minute you see the Pullman pull into Victoria station, you feel like you've stepped back in time. And the Pullman is a very beautiful example of retro luxury.
At a quarter of a mile long, the train has many carriages, all individually named with each one steeped in their own history. Ours was Gwen and by pure luck on our part, was one of the most beautiful. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The endless food, wine & champagne was delicious and the service was outstanding. We were on the train as a celebration for my husbands birthday and as it was December, the train was decorated for Christmas with no expense spared & it was stunning. I would love to do this again as it was an amazing day out. Do it, you won't regret it!

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank lady_britts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryEFranklin, Owner at Belmond British Pullman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Dear Lady_britts

Thank you very much for your lovely review

Everyone on board will really enjoy reading your review and very pleased you had such a lovely day out

I hope the celebration for your husbands birthday went well and a belated birthday greeting.

We would love you to do this again, and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards


Gary Franklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews