We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Linden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
136
353
184
70
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
353
184
70
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnotting hillportobello roadhoneymoon suitebayswater tube stationcontinental breakfastkensington gardenscold meatshyde parkluggage roomminute walkbigger roomstaff on receptionlovely hotelnice bathroombars and restaurantsrooms are smallyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2008

The building work at this hotel is now almost finished, it is only the lounge that is still being worked on (I stayed there 8-9th March). However, the work on the lounge is creating a lot of dust in the reception area!

I got a good deal on this hotel through laterooms.com. I stayed two nights in room 102, this was a very small double room (I was lucky i had it to myself!) but was very quiet, just a little street noise from buses, and in the summer it could be quite a pleasant room as it has a large balcony (though without any furniture to enjoy it!). My friend came to stay at the hotel for the second night and stayed in room 12 - this was a much much bigger room and much more stylish, BUT this room has a vibrating bed due to the boiler system for the hotel being right underneath, BEWARE! She couldnt sleep and as there were no other rooms she moved to the futon at the other end of her room and it was ok.. Not ideal of course!

I thought the hotel was really quite ok for a short stay, but i felt it was misleading in some of its descriptions, and indeed it downright lies in the photos on its website - that picture of the breakfast room is NOT the breakfast room! The breakfast room is in fact a very dull basement which reminded me of my sixth form canteen. We experienced the rooms to be of really variable quality. My room seemed to have been a very half hearted attempt at refurbishment, fittings were done very badly, and there was a massive mark next to the bed where replastering had been done over the paintwork, very ugly!! Some of the furniture in the room was very cheap and old and just dragged it down to shabby b&b style.

Overall, if you can accept that the hotel will not be quite what it seems, it really isnt a bad bet!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We often check trip advisor before booking a hotel, and tend to take the comments about small rooms with a pinch of salt this being London and all. We booked the New Linden Hotel as an overnight stop off in London as we were on our way to Scotland for the week and just needed somewhere to sleep. The hotel website promises newly refurbished rooms, which should re being refurbished. During the works the main entrance is through the fire escape to the side of the hotel and i had to dodge painters to get to my room which was in the basement. This really was a small room, so small that we had to put the suitcase in front of the door, otherwise we couldn't get in the bathroom. Open plan shower which looks nice but no practical with the slippery tiles. Simply decorated and clean, but one would imagine very dull even in summer as no natural light (or air) The main problem with the refurbishment is that they have decided to lay tiles throughout (even in the bedroom) which may look nice but makes the whole place echo and very noisy what with people clip clopping across the floor. Being situated next to the staircase didn't help as it banged closed every time someone went through it. Breakfast was adequate, don't drink the tea which was brown water.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mileoakseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

The rooms are a little small BUT don't let this put you off. The place is spotless clean and the people friendly. Our room was (as expected small) however the furnishings, bathroom, TV etc. etc. were all top notch. Only a few stops from the theatres and Bayswater has some lovely restaurants. Great value for money hotel.
LP

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank BarnsleyChop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Our travel agent booked us into the New Linden Hotel for 5 nights and from what we saw on their website we were very impressed - how we were so wrong!!

Upon arrival the lady on Reception took us down to our room in the basment. This area is being renovated totally and to get to your room you have to work through a construction site - great safety!! Our room had dirty coffee cups laying around and the room was so small you could barely put your bags inside the door (this is no exageration, the room was tiny!) Next door there was a noisy generator running. After we complained about the room size the lady put us into a family suite for the night saying that we be charged extra until something can be sorted out with the Manager the following morning. I tried to call our travel agent that night but alas all the phones were not working and upon asking Reception to use their phone, we were told that this was not allowed and that we would need to use a pay phone in the lobby. This phone turned out to be faulty!

The night staff man was helpful in at least getting us a better room above ground level for the remaining 4 nights and we were not charged extra thankfully.

The breakfast arrangements were nothing short of disasterous with Reception failing to tell us that you need to book a table each night for the following morning! There was a long line of people waiting to be seated and none of the seemed to be happy at all about this arrangement, we instead of choosing to wait went out to breakfast where there is an excellent choice of cafe's that serve full English breakfasts at a great price. New Linden Hotel's breakfast looked terrible and the breakfast room was so small and was totally unorganised.

On 2 seperate nights the fire alarm went off in the middle night and on night it went off on no less than 12 seperate occasions. Reception said that it was a faulty smoke detector!

The lift was like something from the middle ages, it took forever to move and you waited an eternity for it to arrive. The call buttons did not light up on several floors.

The hotel has no air conditioning at all so you need to have the windows open all the times. The window locks were broken and one window pane was cracked.

We found a lot of the day staff to be very adrupt and rude and found English difficult to understand and when asked for the simplest requests like to borrow an ironing board and iron, they became exasperated and tried to make excuses for not assisting you.

The toilet frequently blocked and it required a half dozen flushes for it to clear properly.

Please do not be fooled by their fancy website, it is misleading and is not good value for money. For the money we paid we expected far better service and facilities. The website it presents is nothing like the real experience we had and we found that other people were checking out earlier than planned because of the poor service and facilities. Often when passing through the lobby we overheard guests complaining about various things. We would have checked out the first night but there was nothing else available at that time.

Hopefully this review will prevent others from having the same experience as us because in order to to get half decent service in this Hotel you need to jump up and down and complain to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SydneyFlyer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Nice and tidy rooms, just renovated. Everything worked well, really great value for money! On the down side the way from the tube to the hotel is rather long.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoulSisterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews