We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel even by London standard's”
Review of New Linden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Linden Hotel
Ranked #598 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very average hotel even by London standard's”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a standard room in this hotel and it genuinely was no bigger than a standard box room. The bed was blocked by 3 walls and I had to climb over my wife to leave the bed. The staff were nice with the exception of one of the breakfast staff who argued with me and another guest that breakfast finished at 10 disregarding the fact that we were both told at checkin that it was 10.30. The breakfast was poor and the rooms not too clean. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    325
    164
    62
    53
See reviews for
103
304
70
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Easy walk from the Tube and a lovely quiet nights sleep and enjoyable breakfast. Some rooms are bigger than others, there is a good selection so make sure that you ask for a larger one if this is your requirement! Rooms equpped with fans and nice helpful staff who call cheap taxis! Will visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting family in Notting Hill excellent location. Great value for money with continental breakfast rooms small but beds comfy and bathroom had bath with shower and a window Would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really liked the location of this hotel as I had never stayed in this part of london before.... Lots of places to eat.... Walking distance of portobello road... Tube stations near by.... The rooms are exceptionally small..... Initially stayed in a twin room which was so noisy because of the boiler room being next door that neither of us slept... Second night moved to a standard double.... The room was so small that it was uncomfortable for two people to be in the room at the same time... No curtain on shower meant that the bathroom became soaked... However saying that the staff were most helpful I. Trying to change rooms for us, giving directions and suggestions for eating...

Room Tip: Don't go for room 1 in the basement....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline_power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Genuine boutique hotel in nice area that is nice enough for short business stay or longer tourist stay Nicely situated 5 minutes from Bayswater tube though tube services through that station not the best - though that's not hotels fault - means this hotel is maybe more for the tourist than the busy business person (which is what I was on this occasion) However, my room was beautiful and the bathroom exquisite and the desk staff on arrival exceptionally efficient I also really valued the free wifi Breakfast good quality continental but not available before 07 30 and getting there by lift a bit haphazard due to size of lift and it pretty much doing what it felt like rather than what the occupants had asked it to do! Some noise form corridors and street but by London standards very peaceful and I slept exceptionally well

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
290 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed one night for a theatre break. A short stroll from the tube station and bus stops so very convenient. We hopped a bus straight down to Tottenham Court Road and a night bus all the way back. We had a room in the basement which was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was great with a shower to die for (the best we have ever had in a hotel) Breakfast was plentiful lots of choice and constantly replenished.We were amazed that there were so many people in the hotel as we had heard no noises around us. The staff were all warm and welcoming with many offers of help and assistance.

Room Tip: We were in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simba3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and got a room on the third floor. The room was very nice and big with a nice bathroom. The staff was very helpful and nice, the breakfast was really good and the location was just perfect. We would definitely book again in this hotel. Thank you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarafinn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#350 of 1,067 in London
1,454 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#282 of 1,067 in London
1,600 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#413 of 1,067 in London
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#606 of 1,067 in London
659 reviews
Notting Hill
Princes Square Hotel
Princes Square Hotel
#757 of 1,067 in London
483 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#618 of 1,067 in London
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Linden Hotel

Property: New Linden Hotel
Address: 59 Leinster Square, London W2 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#351 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Linden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Linden Hotel belongs to the Mayflower Collection, a family-run collection of properties which have been part of London's hotel scene since 1995. The unifying factor across the Collection is design. Each property boasts a strong East-meets-West theme, conveyed through sumptuous fabrics, luxurious colour schemes, and many pieces of stunning antique furniture. At the New Linden Hotel, these striking design features blend seamlessly with state-of-the-art modern conveniences in the rooms. The hotel offers 50 en-suite rooms, including some luxury suites complete with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful bathrooms, and gorgeous views, as well as Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury mattress toppers, and large HD LED flat-screen TVs. The hotel itself is a stylish boutique gem in a spectacular Victorian townhouse, and offers a comfortable Eastern-inspired lounge area and an open roof terrace where guests can relax. New Linden is located on a peaceful residential street off trendy Westbourne Grove, in the heart of London's West End. We are a short stroll from Notting Hill and Bayswater Underground stations, providing quick access to all that London has to offer. Around the corner from the hotel is the world-renowned Portobello Market, alive with stalls, cafes, and restaurants. View famous faces at Madame Tussauds or relax at the many cinemas and theatres that are available. This is one of London's most thriving districts, situated on the edge of Hyde Park. There is easy access to Paddington station, Marble Arch, Oxford Street and the well established area of Marylebone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Linden London
Hotel New Linden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing