We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Je ne sais quoi”
Review of Medlar

Medlar
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 6/22
20:00
Ranked #238 of 26,887 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £30 - £55
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The sprinkling of magic dust that is Medlar flows through the entire experience from entering the front door to departure. Jeremy is an exceptional pro with banter and charm, and treats every customer as if they are No. 1. Service flows like a well-oiled machine, is not obsequious or overbearing, nothing is rushed and all of the staff are smiley and proactive. I lost count how many times the small ice bucket on the table was replaced. Some restaurants are continually topping up one’s glass but Medlar’s approach is more measured - there is no obvious hard sell - and they were appreciative of the claret we brought treating it with due care. Joe and his team produce exceptional and sure-footed food - I could happily eat the entire menu - and portions are generous. This is one of the best places to eat in London, not playing to the (Instagram) gallery but a class act: and assuredly Cornus will bring that same ‘je ne sais quoi’ to SW1.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank GlobetrotterTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2024

Medlar is one of my favourite restaurants in London.
I hadn’t been for a while and it has got even better.
The service is superb, the food excellent and all with a lovely ambience.
Our one reservation: we both felt the sommelier was a bit over-zealous in pushing the wine.
She visited our table once too often.
We limit ourselves to a glass of wine each with a meal, for all sorts of reasons, and don’t require repeated encouragement to imbibe.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A6954IGjonathanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2024 via mobile

Delicious lunch with an old friend at Medlay a couple of weeks ago. Hard to fault the preparation, presentation or the excellent service of our meal. The BYOB opportunity is a great idea and encourages one to drink fabulous wines, although £15 /bottle is excessive compared to Hawksmoor's £5 for any wine format! eg. Magnums+, etc. Thoroughly deserves its Michelin star(s) unlike several other establishments.
How about 10% or 13.5% for service instead of 15%?

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank ianwilliamhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2024

You can not fault this restaurant for the quality of the food or service and with effective acoustic panels on the ceilings the noise level is kept under control.
My only concern is the cost of the meal and the high price demanded for the items expected when attending a fine restaurant. £7.00 for a thimble full of black coffee seems excessive and the 15% service charge that is based on the gross amount of the bill establishes a gratuity that is possibly over generous.
We really like Medlar but now wonder if we can afford to go there.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timothy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

What a place. High end food and service down the Kings Rd.

Supremely well cooked food from an appropriately broad food offering.

Lots of lovely things in the menu I will try next time.

Kind, funny and knowledgeable staff made for a perfect lunch.

Many, many thanks.

We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank SirGordonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Medlar also viewed

 

Been to Medlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.