We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon tea for the girls!”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #9 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea for the girls!”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My daughter and I had the most wonderful visit here for afternoon tea, with a friend who lives in London. The food, atmosphere and service - particularly the service - were excellent. We stayed on to chat and have a couple of glasses of wine and it was such a lovely evening. The girls who served the tea and drinks were so charming. What a gem! Unfortunately my travel budget doesn't stretch to staying overnight - but worth saving up for! Thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GirlsAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear GirlsAboutTown,
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. And to hear that you felt so at home here that you just had to stay on for a drink too!
I hope that you will come and stay soon to complete your Goring experience.
With best wishes,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    124
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
242
558
67
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Just returned from our stay at the Goring. We had an excellent stay. The concierge was amazing getting us great dinner reservations, getting us last minute theatre tickets and even getting us the best table at a competitor for afternoon tea. The room was very nice and had a great view of the garden in the back of the hotel. The bathroom was clean and updated but it is a hundred year old hotel and even for a fifty something it was difficult getting in and out of the bathtub shower. The hotel is beautiful from lobby to bar to restaurant. We had a bit of bad timing as there was a lot of work going on in prepartion for the arrival of Kate Middletons wedding party in two weeks and the announcement that she would stay there the night before the wedding. The location is great as it is right next to Buckingham Palace and a very short walk to Victoria Station which has trains and buses to almost anywhere in the city. We would definately go back as we now feel like family. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burkie318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Dear Burkie318,
Please do come back again soon. And please do speak to our friendly Reservations team upon booking and make a special request for a walk-in shower. They will be very happy to assist with this.
With warmest regards,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The perfect hotel to stay while in London. My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at The Goring last month. The entire experience was lovely from beging to end. We were impressed by the overall service and pride taken by all employees of the Goring. Comfy robes, cozy rooms and location, location and location......what more to ask for??

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toesinthesandCt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Dear "toesinthesandCt_"
We take the utmost pride in our service here at The Goring and we are so pleased you enjoyed this so much. Please come again soon - it would be our pleasure to serve you again!
With warmest regards from the team at The Goring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I stayed there for business and everything was perfect, the staff, the room and the location is great!

A special thank you to the the General Manager Graham Copeman for his warm welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Thank you - I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience here at The Goring.
It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope we have the opportunity to do so again soon.
Warmest regards,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Goring. I am a fairly frequent traveller to London and I enjoy staying in good quality hotels. The service at the Goring is exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble.
Another reviewer complained of "tired" decor in the rooms, however, it seems that there is refurbishment in progress. Ours was very modern - everything controlled by a touch screen (hours of fun closing and opening the curtains!). Breakfast is good, too.
The hotel is a couple of minutes from Victoria Station, but very quiet, particularly the rooms over the garden.
This is a very traditional hotel without gym/pool etc (although the hotel can arrange this locally), but it's a real home from home.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elizabethlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear elizabethlynne,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at The Goring. We are so pleased you enjoy your regular stays at the hotel - it is a pleasure to welcome you here. Please make it a fifth stay very soon...
Indeed, we are constantly improving and refreshing our rooms and public areas - do feel free to ask one of our team to show you a new room next time you stay, if you would like to see one. Each room and suite is individually designed so no two are identical.
With kindest regards,
Graham Copeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My partner and I have been very busy at work with very large projects that were coming to an end so we decided to invest in some quality time together.
After much debate we decided to stay at The Goring as we had heard about its reputation and wanted to experience it for ourselves and we certainly weren't disappointed. From arrival at the hotel to our departure 2 nights later everything exceeded our expectations even to finding the Molton Brown toiletries in our room to pamper ourselves with. I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacardi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Dear Bacardi99,
We are so pleased to hear that we were able to make your special weekend together even more special here at The Goring. See you again sometime soon.
With warmest wishes,
All of the team at The Goring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was my first trip to London with my girlfriend. The hotel staff was very helpful throughout our trip. We arrived in the early morning on an overnight flight from Philadelphia and they allowed us to check in early and let us get some needed rest then switched us to a better room when it became available. The concierge was very helpful at suggesting the best way to see the tourist sites and best restaurants in the in the city. They were able to arrange for Valentine's Day flowers be sent to the room on very short notice too. Also the hotel was a short walking distance to see Wicked, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace and tour bus stops. I'd definitely go back to the Goring next time I visit London.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
372 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#8 of 1,067 in London
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing