We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea - as it should be”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #6 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - as it should be”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Ask for a seat in the main lounge (as opposed to the extension looking out on to the garden), and this is Afternoon Tea to perfection. Comfy seating, good service, delicious, fresh food. Big pots of tea. My new favourite in London. Will be fabulously cosy in winter, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolakmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear nicolakmorgan,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that following your afternoon tea we are your new favourite in London. It is always lovely to read that a guest has enjoyed their whole experience whether it be the service or the tasty treats they were served.

We look forward to welcoming you back during the colder months for a cosy winter tea beside our roaring fire.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    126
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
251
576
71
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Attentive and personal service as always. A delightful hotel in which to stay. This is my second review and I have remarkably little to say. When a hotel operates to this standards only praise is due.

Room Tip: Room 114 is my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear JHMH1959,

Thank you very much for another wonderful review from you of your time at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you back to The Goring and even more so that we didn’t disappoint you on this visit. It is wonderful to read that simply all there is to write is praise.

We all hope to welcome you back before too long and we are thrilled that you loved room 114.

With warmest wishes,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Goring is a small, gem nestled just behind Buckingham Palace. A short walk to Victoria Station makes covering all of London's key sites a breeze via the Tube. And, it's an easy walk to the Palace grounds and the beautiful walkways and park that surrounds the palace. It is an expensive place to stay but the service was top notch -- it was impressive that the doorman and the concierge greeted us by name each time we returned to the hotel in the afternoon. The concierge was very helpful and made our stay stress-free by providing advice and helping us secure tickets to the venues. The rooms are lovely and comfortable with US outlets in the room as well as UK outlets -- a nice surprise. Dining in both the bar/lounge and the formal dining room was outstanding. Top notch service and delicious food. I would return to the Goring again and recommend it highly for the discriminating traveler who is looking for a superior, high-end experience and willing to spend a premium price for it.

Room Tip: Lower rooms allow for easy access via lovely staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Lee S,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us in May.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. It is always a joy to read that guests have enjoyed every aspect of their time from being greeted at the door to the food they sampled in either the Lounge or the Dining Room. Our team pride themselves on addressing each of our guests by name and I am thrilled that this has been acknowledged.

I have to agree, Big John and his Concierge team have a wealth of knowledge on what to see and do in London. They are also brilliant at securing tickets to ensure you don’t have to queue and have the best seats in the house.

We are all thrilled that you would highly recommend The Goring to any traveller looking for a high end experience and we hope to welcome to back before too long.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My first time in this superb hotel. Great location in quiet street. Beautiful garden with resident duck and new ducklings , a lovely quiet place for food or drink devoid of the surrounding hustle and bustle of the city. Very friendly and professional staff. Superb breakfast - silver service , cooked to order. No ubiquitous buffet ! Room a little on the small side but very well appointed.
Very close to the useful hub of Victoria train station

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear graham w,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you had a fantastic first time experience with us. It is true we are so lucky with our location tucked away on Beeston Place but just moments from Victoria Station and plenty of London’s top sights.

I am thrilled that you found the team to be friendly and professional and that our breakfast was the perfect start to your day. Our resident duck and her ducklings have become celebrities in recent weeks and I can assure they are thriving on the attention!

We hope that we will welcome you back to our oasis that is The Goring before too long.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Famous for the Kate and William wedding. Lovely hotel in very central London position. Room and bathroom were first class. Our room was on the front and on that particular night suffered from a lot of street noise, not the hotel's fault of course. Service was excellent and breakfast was very good. Room rates were very high and prices for drinks expensive. Overall a great hotel for those that can afford it.

Room Tip: If you like to have your windows open for fresh air at night then maybe a room at the back might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johartrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear johartrog,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us at The Goring.

I am delighted that you thought that the hotel was lovely and in a great location. We are very lucky be tucked away on a quiet street but within a moment’s walk of some of London’s top sights and attractions. With our central London location with of course do have some ambient noise from the surrounding area. However there is never a need to open a window in a bedroom at The Goring as O. R. Goring installed air conditioning in 1921 ensuring that all the temperature in each of the rooms can be adjusted to the guest’s preferences.

We are thrilled that you found the service to be excellent during your time with us and enjoyed your breakfast. From all of us at The Goring we hope that you will return before too long and of course please do request one of our garden facing rooms for your next stay.

With warm wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at the goring for 7 days and had a wonderful experience. The service was exceptional and the staff went out of their way to give us anything we needed. I would highly recommend The Goring Hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear 2011Cindy,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent seven night stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the service during your stay to be exceptional and that you were well looked after no matter what you needed.

We are thrilled that you would recommend a stay at The Goring and we hope to welcome back before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I went with friends to The Goring for a drink - I have been a few times before and have always enjoyed the aptosphere. At this visit it was very crowded but we were served quickly - once seated they bring round trays of nibbles - very tempting!.
The Goring is a small hotel but one of my favourites - very central (not far brom Buckinham Palace). The doorman was very friendly as soon as we stepped out of the taxi made us feel very welcome
Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Julia C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent visit to our Lounge Bar.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed the atmosphere and the canapés which I have to agree are very tempting!

We are thrilled that we are one of your favourite London hotels and hope that we will see you soon for a drink and another selection of nibbles.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,787 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,956 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,069 in London
399 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing