We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Goring
Nearby Hotels
US$245
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$418
US$358
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo(London)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$375
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$406
US$383
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveller rating
1,262
137
30
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,262
137
30
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorengbuckingham palaceafternoon teakate middletonlobster omeletteroyal weddingenglish hotelvictoria stationmoment you arrivebeautiful hotelconcierge deskbottle of champagneluxury hotelevery member of staffsmall hotelwonderful staybirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a curious mix of amazing and average this turned out to be! But mostly amazing. I will return, but for drinks and bar snacks.

Lovely environment and fantastic food and service. I had a lovely birthday afternoon tea, and the cake with candle was a nice touch. the cocktails were lovely.

However, I am unsure why this was voted the best afternoon tea in London in 2013. There were excellent elements to the experience, but they didn't all gel into the perfect Afternoon Tea.

For instance the tea was a little strong although a fresh pot was brought asap once this was pointed out. The cold water we asked for never arrived.

The scones were perhaps the best I have ever had - delicious, light and fluffy.

The sandwiches also a mixed bag - the smoked salmon was divine. The coronation chicken and egg mayo - were just to bland and over reliant on mayonnaise for their flavour. A healthy dose of seasoning required for both. I also requested some non mayo sandwiches for one of the guests - these were an interesting mix and included a curried cauliflower one - a tad random! I also would have liked a simple roast ham or gammon and english mustard option instead of the plain cucumber. I also noticed the several of the sandwich fingers had some crust on still - a little gripe, but at this end of the market it is all about perfection.

The canapes with the drinks were amazing! The cocktails amazing. The champagne amazing. The service and attention was generally pretty good.

We were so full after the cocktails and sandwiches that the whole pastry and cake level wasn't even touched, we took this home in a doggy bag to enjoy later.

I would recommend this as a venue for a special afternoon tea. But if you wish for the quintessential London Afternoon tea experience you simply cannot beat the Palm Court at the Ritz.

Worthy of the price and a good experience, I would say a 9/10 overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Benjamin S,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent celebratory afternoon tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that you had a lovely birthday afternoon tea accompanied by cocktails, a surprise cake and fantastic service. Ian our Pastry Chef is a master at scones and I have to agree you would have to try hard to discover any to match his. I am just sorry that you didn’t have enough room to taste all of his pastries until you had returned home – they certainly shouldn’t be missed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring before too long for another cocktail and a selection of delectable bar snacks.

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We visited the Goring in July for an afternoon tea for my friend's 25th Birthday. It was a fantastic afternoon and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone for an afternoon tea. The location is great and the food was delicious. The staff were also very friendly and even brought out a birthday cake without us requesting it. Really really thoughtful. Will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amber d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Amber d,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that you had a fantastic afternoon with us and that your friend enjoyed their special birthday. It is always lovely to read that our guests wouldn’t hesitate to recommend us to others and we are all thrilled that you will be back to see us before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Goring Hotel last week for part of our honeymoon and we will never forget it! Besides being completely beautiful inside and out, the staff were professional, warm and did not miss a beat. Gabor in the lounge took such great care of us and John, the head concierge, was so very helpful in arranging our airport pick up, before we arrived. I'm an admittedly picky hotel guest and I can honestly say that the Goring thoroughly impressed me! In the spirit of royalty, we were absolutely treated as such and we will definitely return. Thank you for the stay of a lifetime.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Vanessa A,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us for part of your honeymoon.

I am delighted that you found the team to be professional, warm and always on hand to look after your every need. Gabor and John are both chuffed to pieces to have been specially mentioned and have their heads held high.

We are all thrilled that you had the stay of a lifetime and that you will never forget The Goring. We hope that we will see you soon and that we can help you celebrate one of your many anniversaries to come.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This storied small deluxe hotel is just steps from Buckingham Palace and has a wonderful British feel in a city grown increasingly global. We stayed for several nights, had excellent meals and a lovely air-conditioned room, but most of all we just enjoyed the illusion of stepping into a Merchant-Ivory film, complete with tea and scones and croquet in the secluded walled garden out back. The staff could not have been more friendly, courteous, or helpful. The Goring exudes an old world charm and civility rare these days, combined with a whimsical informality, as evidenced by the trademark sheep that pop up everywhere around the hotel, even on staff neckties and socks. (The origin of the iconic sheep motif is a story in itself, gladly shared by the staff.) If we have "world enough and time" we'll return to The Goring "in a New York minute." It's a wonderful, tranquil retreat from the crush of humanity in the city beyond its doors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farsider5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Farsider5,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that your time here provided a tranquil retreat from the city surrounding us. We are so lucky that Beeston Place is so peaceful but that is also within moments of the hustle and bustle of London’s top sights.

The recent sunny weather in London has allowed our garden to be shown off in all of its glory. Croquet and afternoon tea have proved to be very popular with some highly contested matches taking place!

We are all thrilled that the staff and the sheep dotted around the hotel ensured that you had a memorable stay and we all hope that before too long that you will have enough time to return to The Goring.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the only place we stay in London. It is like staying in a private Great House! We were two couples traveling together and stayed 6 nights. The staff know you by name, and you will know all the staff by name also! The best concieriges (John and Patrick), best doormen (Rupert, Peter and "Mr. Poland") and excellent dining and bar. Every evening there was a new "surprise" in our room. You will be spoiled rotten by how well you will be treated and taken care of! This will always be our London home!

Room Tip: We love all the rooms, but #2 has a tiny bathroom (from previous trip.)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippenDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear TrippenDallas,

Thank you very much for another wonderful review from you of your time at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you back for your six night stay and that yet again we are the only place that you would stay whilst in London.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your cocktail hour; my favourite has to be the Classic Champagne Cocktail. It is the perfect way to relax and reminisce after a day of seeing all that London has to offer.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to your London home for another few days of being spoilt rotten!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews