We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife & I recently spent a night at The Goring for an anniversary treat. As we live in London it's not often we stay in a hotel here. Everything from check-in to breakfast & check-out was fabulous. The personal touch was great, we were greeted by name by almost every member of staff, from the doorman, concierge, reception and restaurant, every time we passed by. The room was a joy with lovely detail and finishings. We ate out in the evening, but had an excellent full english breakfast, and spent a long time lingering over it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear tonyandfi,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory stay with us.

We were thrilled that you chose to enjoy your anniversary treat at The Goring and delighted that you had an amazing experience on such a special occasion. Our team pride themselves on addressing each guest by name and it is always a joy to see this being recognised.

We all hope that you will be back before too long for another treat and a change to linger over breakfast in our Dining Room.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
There are newer reviews for The Goring
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

What can one say about the best boutique hotel in London? Their location is perfect. The staff does everything to spoil you and make you wish you could stay forever. restaurant manager is amazing person took care of us,definitely gem in the crown and will recommended Remember this is an older property and rooms were smaller in the past

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear john_levy,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent time at The Goring.

We are all thrilled that you regard us as the best boutique hotel in London and that when you are within the hotel you never wish to leave. I have passed your comments onto Mikko our Restaurant Manager who is chuffed to pieces to have been individually mentioned.

We hope that you will return before too long so that we will be able to take care of you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had the privilege of staying at The Goring twice in 2012 and I would love to return. The food was tremendous, especially their famous beef wellington. The bar was friendly and I was delighted that they did not allow mobile phones. My room was comfortable and the staff could not do enough to make my stay so very comfortable. Gonzalo

Room Tip: Guys - remember to take a jacket for dinner. Ties not necessary, but a jacket is.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Gonzalo G,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your time with us last year.

We are delighted that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and were able to relax in our Lounge Bar and sample the beef Wellington from our trolley in the evening. It is definitely a firm favourite with our guests and something not to be missed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring before too long and so that we can all look after you and ensure you have another comfortable stay with us.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What can one say about the best boutique hotel in London? Their location is perfect. The staff does everything to spoil you and make you wish you could stay forever. Always opt for a larger room. Remember this is an older property and rooms were smaller in the past. Actually, most European hotels have smallish rooms as their norm.
The bathroom was upgraded and it was a pleasure to have a leisurely soak in the tub after a long day walking about in London.
Absolutely have High Tea at The Goring.Quite pricey, but worth the cost for a trulynEnglish experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Randy105,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us earlier in the year.

We are all thrilled to be named as the best boutique hotel in London and we are delighted that once you arrive you never want to leave The Goring. It is true there is nothing better than having a long soak in one of our tubs after a day strolling around London’s top sites. We are so lucky to have many of the top attractions right on our doorstep and the Concierge team are brilliant at pointing al of guests in the right direction of all that London has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel before too long so that you can relax and sample some more of our Afternoon Tea delights.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I am lucky enough to dine at The Goring on quite a frequent basis and had the pleasure of visiting last night. From the moment of our arrival it was pure bliss. Sitting in the bar area with champagne cocktails and complimentary slices of asparagus tart, which were very welcome, we could easily have just sat there all night. But we had come to dine so dine we must. The choice of main courses was out standing, we could have eaten all of them. I can say that in all of my visits this was the best selection ever, from leek and potato cakes, monkfish, grouse, really something for everyone's taste. We both ended up ordering the goose, simply because you never see it on menus and it was heavenly. Then for dessert it was raspberry baked alaska, which would please even the most fussy of people. My godmother is quite frail these days but all of the staff are on hand to assist and to say hello. These little things make so much difference. A wonderful visit to an outstanding but unfussy hotel. The Goring is what London hotels used to be like, service, class, an escape, not flash and crass. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear jpc1973,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent dinner in our Dining Room.

We were delighted to welcome you back to The Goring and I am thrilled that you had enjoyed yet another gastronomic feast. It is always lovely to read that a guest has enjoyed a blissful experience from the moment they entered the hotel whether it be whilst sipping champagne cocktails or sampling the Michaelmas goose on offer.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another blissful escape from the bustle outside our doors.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a 5 star hotel at its best. We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Goring before returning home after a month in the UK and Europe. It was the perfect end to our wonderful trip.
From the moment we arrived and Rupert the doorman welcomed us we knew we were in for a treat.
What makes the Goring so wonderful is the staff. So warm and helpful. Our room was delightful on the 1st floor but in future would definitely upgrade to a bigger room.
The lounge was the perfect stop for tea or a pre-dinner drink and food was excellent.
Breakfast each morning was wonderful and a great start to the day.
Position is fantastic with Victoria station less than a 5 minute walk.
I could say much more but I simply know I will be returning to the Goring next time we are in London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear katgold,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that we were the perfect end to your month in the UK and Europe. It is true the team at The Goring are what makes us so unique and special. Each one of our staff prides themselves on ensuring that all of guests feel welcome and completely at home.

We are all thrilled that on your next trip to London you will return to see us and that you will be able to enjoy some more of our kitchen brigade’s tasty treats.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a recent 4 night stay at the Goring in mid-September and found this hotel to be absolutely perfect. After a somewhat on-the-go trip to Ireland it was so nice to set up shop here and relax. The rooms are beautiful, the bathrooms modern and the common areas delightfully old-school British. We ate breakfast in the restaurant most days and the food was always top-notch, after a day out and about we would slip down to the lounge for evening cocktails and most often would drop by when we returned for a night-cap as well after our nights out. It was all just so civilized and lovely.

But best of all is the service - it makes this place truly special. Everyone we came in contact with was excellent, from the front door to check-in to the restaurant and to the bar - it was all wonderfully friendly and truly personable. But we must give a special shout out to the concierge desk - Aaron and Patrick took a somewhat scrawled list of things we wanted to do - soccer, theatre, historical walking tours, etc. and places we wanted to eat - buzzy, trendy, fun restaurants - waved their wands and made it happen in the easiest manner possible. They were such competent, friendly and fun guys that it elevated our already high opinion of the establishment to the top of our list. We would truly recommend this hotel above the many others we have stayed at in the past - I know we will be back again anytime we return to London!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KD_lank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear KD_lank,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent four night stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you found the hotel to be perfect in every way whether it be breakfast in the morning, a cocktail in the evening or your bedroom. It is always a joy to read that a guest has totally relaxed under our roof and that they wanted for nothing.

I am thrilled that no matter where you were in the hotel the team were on hand to ensure everything was as you wished. Patrick and Aaron are over the moon with their special mention and along with them we all hope that you will both be back before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,072 in London
517 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,072 in London
1,974 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#13 of 1,072 in London
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £323 - £717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing