We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #10 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A wonderful experience having afternoon tea at the Goring. From the moment we stepped inside it was so lovely. We were treated to such first class service and felt like truly valued customers. The food was heavenly and just kept on coming. We didn't have to lift a finger to even pour our tea. We sat in comfy chairs for nearly three hours in the cosy dining room warmed by the huge open fire. The offer of more pastries made it difficult to leave. We will certainly return in the summer to sample tea served on the terrace over looking the delightful gardens. A real come down returning to our travel lodge in covent garden but just for a few hours we could dream!!! It really was the best!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear julcook,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea with us.

I am delighted that from the moment you stepped into the hotel for your tea you were not disappointed and thoroughly spoilt by our team. They all pride themselves on ensuring that our guests don’t have to lift a finger whilst in our care and it is always lovely to see this been recognised.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring in the summer so that you can dream away a few more hours.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    123
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
236
544
67
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just step inside this wonderful family run hotel is a must on any visit to London. Take a tour of Buckingham Palace or the Royal Mews then pop into THE GORING. The service is second to none with all members of staff making you feel special. If you only visit London once this is a must venue to give you that life long memory. Please don't just think about it "JUST DO IT." You will love each moment - ENJOY!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear John F,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent afternoon tea with us.

We are all thrilled with your comments and delighted that you see popping into The Goring as a must for anyone that visits London. The team at the hotel pride themselves on looking after each and every one of our guests and it is always lovely to see this been recognised.

We all hope to welcome you back to The Goring before too London on your next visit to the city.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

OK, so over the years our business trips to London have seen us stay at the County Hall Marriott, near our client’s world headquarters and The London Eye. Very convenient for us. But, after one particularly nasty run-in with a haughty department head there, we resolved never to stay there again, whatever the convenience. We moved out the next morning, and headed several miles away, to another hotel we had just researched, called The Goring.

Thank heavens for that haughty Marriott person.

The Goring is an absolute jewel, on quiet little Beeston Street, just steps from Victoria Station, The Royal Muse, Buckingham Palace, and other London attractions. But that’s not why we stay there.

We stay there because of the remarkable service, the fine rooms, and the terrific food. But, as if that were not enough, here are a few of the other things that have happened to us at The Goring.

• Our flight always arrives at Gatwick in the early AM, and we arrive at The Goring way before check-in time. We have never failed to be ushered to our room immediately. Coincidence?
• One morning upon check-in a different person grabbed my bags and ushered me to my room. I chatted him up to get acquainted, and the more we talked the more suspicious I became. This was not your ordinary bellman. I had to drag it out of him, but he finally admitted his name was George. George Goring. The owner. Lovely chap.
• On a couple of occasions I’ve bumped into actor Christopher Plummer, staying at his favourite London hideout. Lovely chap.
• On one stay George invited me to the rather private Sunday evening cocktail party, held for special guests who happened to be in residence. Why I was invited remains a mystery. I went, and met a fine elderly British couple (the man with an eye patch, thanks to the war). Lovely chap. The lady reported that while single during the war, she actually met and danced with my # 1 aviation hero, the legless British flying ace, Douglas Bader. Such history at The Goring.
• In our travels around the world my wife and I have run into various dishes in various restaurants that simply can’t be matched anywhere else. The cream of corn soup at The Hyatt in Acapulco. The crème brule at Visconti, in Paris. Add another to that list. The lobster bisque at The Goring. Not to be missed.

Treat yourself, spend a tiny bit more and get so much more value in return. Choose The Goring. Try the bisque. You’ll be oh so glad you did.

Dean Herrington

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deanherrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear deanherrington,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stays at The Goring

We are all delighted that your initial move to The Goring proved to be such a success and that you have returned many a time since. All the team at the hotel pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests are cared for and of course whenever possible an early check in after a long flight. It is always lovely to read that the little things that we make happen are what remain with a guest throughout the years whether it is the now retired Mr Goring helping a guest with a bag or a signature dish in our Dining Room.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the jewel of London and hope that it will be in the not too distant future.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for an evening in late November, and it won't be the last time! Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff, wonderfully comfortable rooms and the perfect location from which to explore the capital. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank millsy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear millsy1975,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in November.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and felt that the hotel was in the perfect location for exploring all that London has to offer. We are so lucky as Beeston Place is a very quiet side street but within moments you are outside Buckingham Palace and many of London’s other top sights.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring so that you can enjoy our team taking care of you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

What can one say about the Goring? Well a lot. From the moment one steps out of a taxi outside the hotel, one is treated as special. Yes, special. The rooms are lovely, the restaurant is great, the bar is excellent but that is not the point about the Goring. It is special because its staff care. They really like guests and seek to serve them as if they were welcoming visitors at their home. Special indeed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pjk55017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear pjk55017,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that from the moment you stepped out of your taxi you felt at home and that nothing was too much for the team. They all pride themselves on looking after each and every one of our guests and it is wonderful when this is recognised.

We all hope to welcome you both back to The Goring before too long so that you can indulge in a few more special nights away from home.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Visited the Goring on numerous occasions now for a mix of pleasure and business and have always come away with that WOW factor.
The Goring is an experience in its self and everybody should visit at least once in their life time.
Fantastic service always received in the bar and lounges under the watchful eye of Brian.
There are so so many places to dine in London, yet I always find myself suckered into the restaurant within the hotel. The service is truly flawless and faultless on every level. Always highly staffed, with presentable, well trained and professional staff all working extremely hard under the ever so watchful eye of Stuart.
Thank you to all the FOH & BOH teams at the hotel - have a merry Christmas and I will see you in the new year!
Mr D. Moran

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Inspector89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Hotel_Inspector89,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us earlier in the year.

I am delighted that you would recommend the hotel as somewhere that everyone should visit at least once in their life time. It is always lovely to read that a guest has experienced flawless service throughout the hotel and the teams are all chuffed to pieces to see that this has been recognised.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring and we hope that your next visit will be in the early part of 2014.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Yesterday, My husband and I were lucky enough to enjoy afternoon Tea at the Goring. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were pampered and attended to by the most exceptional staff. The clean comfortable and quintessentially English room where our tea was served has just the right ambience and level of activity for a thoroughly relaxing afternoon of fabulous food and first class service. The food was plentiful and very willingly replenished , as was the copious freshly made tea which we chose from a menu. I was particularly impressed with the effort which had gone into creating the most beautiful Christmas themed cake assortment on the top tier of the cake stand and only wish I had included my camera to share a picture of the most perfect meringue snowman, chocolate log and snowflake biscuit. We were made to feel welcome, unrushed and valued customers and I for one cannot wait to return. Huge thanks to all concerned. Now officially my favourite place !

Room Tip: You are allocated a table but I would not have been disappointed with any particular area, it was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear lucy O,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent Afternoon Tea at The Goring.

I am delighted that from the moment you stepped into the hotel you felt pampered and cared for. I have to agree with you, our Christmas themed tea is something to behold. The snowmen are definitely my favourite and every time I see them they bring a smile to my face. It is always lovely to read that a guest couldn’t fault any part of their time with us from the food they sampled to the staff they encountered.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to your new favourite place – The Goring.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing