We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent afternoon tea”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #5 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was treated to Afternoon Tea at the Goring Hotel for my 50th birthday by my best friend. WOW - it was amazing. The whole experience lasted 3 hours, we didn't pour a cup of tea for ourselves all afternoon. There was a plentiful supply of food and tea and always opportunity for more sandwiches or cakes. The service was excellent and the whole afternoon was truly memorable. It was excellent value for money and I can't imagine another afternoon being as good as this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sue C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory tea at The Goring.

We were thrilled to welcome you to the hotel for your birthday treat and I am delighted that we didn’t disappoint. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed every moment of their time with us whether it be the delicious treats they sampled or the service they received.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back to The Goring before too long so that you can relax and enjoy another perfect afternoon.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    125
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
248
569
70
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have eaten here many times so whilst I can review the restaurant I have never stayed here. This is one of my favourite places in London to eat. The quality of food and service is excellent. It is unpretenious like some other top hotels/restaurants but you just feel special here. My friends and I started coming here before it made the headlines as the place that the Duchess of Cambridge plus family stayed before the Royal Wedding and we were concerned it would be 'spoilt' but thankfully it has not been and is still my favourite place. I have just attended a private birthday luncheon here and once again it was superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear jackie m,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your visits to our Dining Room.

It is always lovely to welcome old friends to the hotel and we were delighted to see you again the other day. I am thrilled that during your numerous experiences at The Goring you have enjoyed excellent service and food.

We all hope that it will not be too long before we see you all again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnt Green, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was a special occasion, and I have to say I was very dissapointed.

The bedroom was small and was very noisey. There was a constant buzzing noise all night.

The hot water was luke warm .

However, the staff were exellent in every way.

Finally , I think that the hotel in general is very overated, and doubt I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davidmaxmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Davidmaxmurray,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us in March.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay with us and that we failed to up to your expectations. At The Goring we always strive to ensure that all of our guests are able to enjoy the true Goring experience and it appears on this occasion that we have failed. I wish that you had highlighted your issues with the room and the water to us at the time so that our team were able to address them and rectify the problems.

I do hope that you were able to celebrate your special occasion and that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and indulge you in a truly memorable stay which will be the true Goring experience.

With kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Meeting a colleague for breakfast tomorrow and just realised hadn't written up my last visit. The fact I cannot wait for a full English tomorrow really says it all!! The kidneys and black pudding is sublime. Move over Middleton's!! 8 hours and counting...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogla-Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Bogla-Jnr,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your breakfast at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again and thrilled that the draw of our kidneys and black pudding led you to return. I trust you were not disappointed!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Meeting friends in London for lunch and a good gossip- we settled on the restaurant at the Goring. They never falter in the quality of their service and the food experience was equally exquisite. Its not an endless menu choice, but wide enough to satisfy all tastes - and a food allergy in one of the party. We all thoroughly enjoyed the choices we made, perfectly cooked and presented. The whole ambience from the moment you arrive makes you feel valued and cosseted, friendly but not intrusive - if you want advice, it is available but not thrust upon you. It is simply a wonderful, comfortable visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Kate G,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your luncheon at The Goring

We were delighted to welcome you back to the Dining Room and thrilled that you enjoyed another delicious meal accompanied by faultless service. I am thrilled that you felt well looked after by the team but were also able to have a good gossip with your friends without being intruded.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another exquisite meal and catch up with your friends.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My lovely friend works at The Goring and arranged for us to stay for a night as we were going to see Wicked at The Victoria Apollo nearby. When we arrived the staff were helpful and friendly - as they were throughout our stay! We stayed in Room 78 which is absolutely beautiful - the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was gorgeous and we loved the light controls! The turndown service was brilliant and made the room lovely and cosy. The view of the garden was fantastic, too. All of the staff were really friendly and greeted us by name whenever passing by which made us feel very special! The breakfast was really nice and we were well looked after. We have been raving about The Goring to everyone we know since we came home! There is nothing we could possibly fault, we just wish we could stay forever!

Room Tip: Room 78 is spacious, luxurious, beautifully furnished and has a lovely garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Charleypixie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you were well looked after and that this continued throughout your stay. We are thrilled that you liked Room 78 which I feel is the perfect room for a romantic getaway with its view of the garden and soft furnishings.

We all hope that you will return to The Goring and that you will be able to stay for more than one night next time.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My family and I were celebrating a most special occasion and we chose The Goring as a convenient location to Buckingham Palace. Our focus was on the palace and although it was special I have to say that for me, our stay at The Goring was the highlight of the whole event.

From the moment we arrived we felt we were in the right place. Friendly, attentive staff, superb surroundings and delightful rooms. My son's room was modern and suited them perfectly whereas ours was more traditional; even the allocation of the rooms had been thought through such is the detail of the service you can expect.

Lunch on our special day was outstanding; every single detail perfect. Service, surroundings, quality all fantastic and I think an important point for us was the fact it was not 'stuffy'. The highest standards in the very best environment with the friendliest service you could wish for.

To all the staff at The Goring - and I mean all of you because I know you are all part of the Goring family - thank you for making our special day exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Colin W,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you and your family to the hotel for such a special occasion and I am thrilled that we were able to ensure that your special day was truly exceptional. Our team all pride themselves on caring for each of guests and making sure that even the smallest details are recognised so that their stay runs smoothly from the moment they arrive to when they sadly depart.

We are all blown away that the highlight of your time in London was your time with us and we hope that you will be back to stay with us before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,757 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,069 in London
390 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,932 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#8 of 1,069 in London
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing