We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate London Luxury”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Goring is elegant..welcoming..and friendly. Magnificent rooms..beautiful restaurant..great bar..BUT the stand out is the staff..young..full of life and wanting to share this historic hotel with guests..afternoon tea is a must...rooms are beautifully decorated...where else would you find silk walls..details are very thought out..everything is elegant

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear raenette,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the elegance of the hotel and I have to agree with you it is the team that make The Goring. Every member of our team work tirelessly to ensure that each of our guests enjoys their time with us from the moment they arrive to when they sadly depart.

We all hope that you will return to The Goring before too long so that you can sample more of our Afternoon Tea delicacies and be cared for by the team.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Goring Hotel Is THE standard in luxury hotels. There were no disappointments during a recent return visit. The folks at The Goring really know how to make you feel welcome, how to provide service, ambiance, comfort and all those other good things. This is done with great polish and without being stuffy. The restaurant is super. The bar is terrific. The garden is lovely. If ever one has the possibility of experiencing this great hotel I can't say enough that one should.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoJCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear SanDiegoJCU,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel and thrilled that yet again we didn’t disappoint. The team and I are chuffed to pieces by your comment that we are the hotel that provides the standard for luxury hotels.

From all of us in London we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so that you can enjoy yet again the comfort of The Goring and of course so that we can take care of you.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was treated to Afternoon Tea at the Goring Hotel for my 50th birthday by my best friend. WOW - it was amazing. The whole experience lasted 3 hours, we didn't pour a cup of tea for ourselves all afternoon. There was a plentiful supply of food and tea and always opportunity for more sandwiches or cakes. The service was excellent and the whole afternoon was truly memorable. It was excellent value for money and I can't imagine another afternoon being as good as this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sue C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory tea at The Goring.

We were thrilled to welcome you to the hotel for your birthday treat and I am delighted that we didn’t disappoint. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed every moment of their time with us whether it be the delicious treats they sampled or the service they received.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back to The Goring before too long so that you can relax and enjoy another perfect afternoon.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have eaten here many times so whilst I can review the restaurant I have never stayed here. This is one of my favourite places in London to eat. The quality of food and service is excellent. It is unpretenious like some other top hotels/restaurants but you just feel special here. My friends and I started coming here before it made the headlines as the place that the Duchess of Cambridge plus family stayed before the Royal Wedding and we were concerned it would be 'spoilt' but thankfully it has not been and is still my favourite place. I have just attended a private birthday luncheon here and once again it was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear jackie m,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your visits to our Dining Room.

It is always lovely to welcome old friends to the hotel and we were delighted to see you again the other day. I am thrilled that during your numerous experiences at The Goring you have enjoyed excellent service and food.

We all hope that it will not be too long before we see you all again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was a special occasion, and I have to say I was very dissapointed.

The bedroom was small and was very noisey. There was a constant buzzing noise all night.

The hot water was luke warm .

However, the staff were exellent in every way.

Finally , I think that the hotel in general is very overated, and doubt I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davidmaxmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Davidmaxmurray,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us in March.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay with us and that we failed to up to your expectations. At The Goring we always strive to ensure that all of our guests are able to enjoy the true Goring experience and it appears on this occasion that we have failed. I wish that you had highlighted your issues with the room and the water to us at the time so that our team were able to address them and rectify the problems.

I do hope that you were able to celebrate your special occasion and that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and indulge you in a truly memorable stay which will be the true Goring experience.

With kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Meeting a colleague for breakfast tomorrow and just realised hadn't written up my last visit. The fact I cannot wait for a full English tomorrow really says it all!! The kidneys and black pudding is sublime. Move over Middleton's!! 8 hours and counting...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bogla-Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Bogla-Jnr,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your breakfast at The Goring.

We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again and thrilled that the draw of our kidneys and black pudding led you to return. I trust you were not disappointed!

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Meeting friends in London for lunch and a good gossip- we settled on the restaurant at the Goring. They never falter in the quality of their service and the food experience was equally exquisite. Its not an endless menu choice, but wide enough to satisfy all tastes - and a food allergy in one of the party. We all thoroughly enjoyed the choices we made, perfectly cooked and presented. The whole ambience from the moment you arrive makes you feel valued and cosseted, friendly but not intrusive - if you want advice, it is available but not thrust upon you. It is simply a wonderful, comfortable visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Kate G,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your luncheon at The Goring

We were delighted to welcome you back to the Dining Room and thrilled that you enjoyed another delicious meal accompanied by faultless service. I am thrilled that you felt well looked after by the team but were also able to have a good gossip with your friends without being intruded.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring for another exquisite meal and catch up with your friends.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,076 in London
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,989 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £325 - £633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing