We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The occasion was a surprise weekend treat. From the outset the level of service was outstanding - extremely courteous and not at all overbearing - on par with some of the best hotels I have stayed in on business in the Far East. The room was very comfortable - the bed in particular. And the breakfast was first class with a wide range of starters and for our main some wonderful smoked haddock and poached eggs made to order. Afternoon drinks in the rear garden were accompanied by endless supplies of freshly-made nibbles.

I have rarely felt more relaxed and comfortable in a hotel.

This very elegant and English hotel made for the perfect visit to London.

Room Tip: Ideally, get a room overlooking the garden. Note that rooms do not have a fridge or coffee machine b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jarowatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear jarowatkins,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent surprise celebratory stay at The Goring.

It was wonderful to read that you found our service to outstanding from the moment you arrived to the moment you sadly left. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed every part of the hotel from their room to our Garden, Lounge Bar and Dining Room.

As you mention, we do not provide a fridge or coffee making facilities in the room as standard as we feel that while you are with us you should not have to lift a finger for yourself. However, we are certainly happy to provide both of these on request so please do let the team know on your next stay if you would like this arranged.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write and we all very much look forward hopefully to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I live in London, so have never had the need to stay at The Goring - but I suppose that shouldn't stop me! I have, however, been visiting the restaurant on and off for a number of years. It is quite simply the place I always choose to go for a special occasion - and quite a few ordinary ones too!

Of course I visit other restaurants, but they never, in my opinion, measure up to the 'Goring Experience'. What is great about the place is that the quality speaks for itself. The staff don't need 'attitude' to convince you that the place is special; they are ruthlessly efficient but always with an easy manner and relaxed style.

To be able to sit on the terrace overlooking the garden in the warmer weather with a glass of champagne while perusing the restaurant menu is just sublime. In the winter, the bar and adjoining lounge rich, cosy and welcoming.

If running a restaurant is like good theatre - The Goring Dining Room is 'the National'. The setting, service and food are always excellent and you are made to feel that you are special.

If I am pressed to come up with anywhere I like as much, it would be Gleneagles - a similar philosophy, in my opinion.

Room Tip: If the public areas of the hotel are anything to go by - I'd be surprised if they had a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Chgough.

Thank you for your wonderful review of your many visits to The Goring.

I was thrilled to read that we are always your choice for a special occasion as well as many ordinary ones too! It fills me with joy to hear that you are made to feel special on each and every visit. It is so important to us that our guests are made to feel relaxed and at home at The Goring whilst receiving top notch service and I believe it is the manner and attitude of the team here that really create this experience.

On behalf of all the team here, we look forward to welcoming you and making you feel special on many occasions for years to come.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We organised a corporate incentive here. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and all sounded like they had all had elocution lessons! We were very well looked after from the moment we arrived. The staff take you in to the lounge area to check you in which was a very nice touch. They also get you a tea and coffee if your room isnt ready yet. You are not allowed to use phones or laptops in the lounge or bar so if you are planning to work you might have to sit and relax instead. The lounge gets very busy with people for afternoon tea.

The food was wonderful although our starter was a little undercooked so most people left this. The main course and dessert was wonderful though. We sued the Archive room for pre-dinner drinks and dinner and it has its own private courtyard leading onto the garden.

It was a beautiful room and in face the whole hotel was beautiful. You really did feel like you were a name, not a number and that you were being thoroughly spoilt and looked after. All the rooms we saw were excellent so I cant imagine there is a bad room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank melanie_court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear melanie_court,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am delighted to hear that from the moment you arrived you felt welcomed by our friendly staff who really do enjoy getting to know each of our guests by name. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Archive Room, it really as a very unique room with the private courtyard leading out to The Goring Garden. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has been able to make the most of so many areas of the hotel.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon so we can thoroughly spoil you once again.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The welcome is warm. The restaurant is welcoming. Room to breathe between tables. Service immaculate. Restaurant food in even great hotels can be dull. No such dullness here. You have got to have the lobster omlette and duck fat chips. There is of course the dish of the day, which was steak and kidney pudding which one of us consumed with relish. The restaurant was full at lunch time so please be sure to book well in advance. you do not have to take out a second mortgage to enjoy the set menu which was also excellent.
Make sure to watch Poirot before you go, the atmosphere is unstintingly grand hotel with the sophisticated march into the twenty first century
Bon appetit Hercule.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bubbabear174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear bubbabear 174,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your luncheon in The Goring Dining Room.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our warm welcome and found the service to be immaculate. The lobster omelette with duck fat chips is a long standing speciality of The Goring and a firm favourite of mine.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring hopefully in the not too distant future.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for an evening in July, and it won't be the last time! Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive staff, wonderfully comfortable rooms and the perfect location from which to explore the capital. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear HillKent,

Thank you for your "simply excellent" review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both your room and our wonderfully central location. I am particularly pleased to hear that the team here made you feel as though nothing was too much trouble. This truly is the experience we wish all of our guests to have and it is our pleasure to provide this.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and perhaps for a longer stay to further explore London from your home at The Goring.

With warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I had lunch with auntie when she came back from Russia. The interior looked like an Edwardian place. For lunch I had chirps and smoke salmon sandwich. The chirps was tasty! The salmon was the best salmon I every tasted, it was delicious! Overall, best hotel in London.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Lulutheblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear princess0831

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your lunch at The Goring.

I was delighted to read your review of your time with us and thrilled that you consider The Goring the best in London. A Goring Sandwich with delicious chips in our Lounge Bar is one of life’s simple pleasures in my opinion.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so that you can enjoy another sample of our excellent service and food.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

True traditional luxury on a smaller and quieter scale. Service food ambiance could not be improved . Nothing was better in London than to site in the lounge and sip a good single malt in the evening, could only wish I was allowed to smoke a good cigar - but I suppose we must make allowance for these modern times. Don't miss the sheep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonesev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear jonesev,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at The Goring.

I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the traditional luxury which emanates at The Goring. I have to agree that a drink in our Lounge Bar is the perfect way to spend an evening in London. We do have a selection of cigars on offer and, although unfortunately these cannot be enjoyed inside, perhaps you will be able to enjoy one of these in our lovely garden on your next visit.

Many thanks again for your kind words and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for you to enjoy many more leisurely evenings in our Lounge Bar.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,838 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,076 in London
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,992 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £331 - £633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing