We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old fashioned but amazing for what it is”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #8 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very old fashioned but amazing for what it is”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This is old english luxury. Not the usual hotel I go for but this was abolutely fantastic. The best service ever and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelopinion-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    124
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
242
563
68
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Stayed at the goring with my wife and 8 year old twins for a week. We stayed in the family accomodations(two connecting rooms) which was simply fanatastic. Its hard to describe how truly incredible the staff is at this hotel - from the moment you walk in you feel the entire staff is personally invested in your experience. Fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea. Probably the most surprising was in such a high end hotel with a lot of professionals, our children were welcomed with open arms - even to the point of making cookies with the chef in the kitchen one afternoon. This hotel sets the standard for service - tickets to anything you want, even sold out shows were procured without a problem - we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joezeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

What a lovely and charming hotel located near many sites and shopping. The staff was very attentive, friendly and ready to help with any request! The doorman was very helpful with suggestions and directions. The rooms where clean and large, with nicely laid out bathrooms, which is hard to find in larger cities. It was nice to see that it was a family owned hotel, rich with history. (in other reviews... there where notes about missing a mini bar: even though there was no mini bar, the staff was quick to offer beverage service to the room, upon arrival.) The main level bar area was luxurious and very comfortable. I could have stayed all evening. We'll be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dosteravon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Originally planned to stay for one night on business ... extended for three because I loved it so much and was really sad to leave. A small, family owned hotel with staff who really seem to enjoy working there (quite rare) even doormen who remembered my name. Restaurant thats worth a visit even if you're not a guest (rare in hotels). Room was beautiful - clean, traditional, yet with modern touches such as electric curtains. Silk wallpaper, marble bathrooms

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wearsthesoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed in this luxurious hotel from the 7th to the 10th of feb. Lovely ambiance and rooms. Wonderful bar, prices are standard for a hotel of this type. Breakfast was great with a lovely selection..(especially the omlette with cheddar!!) Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The only negative was the night we ate in the hotel restaraunt...The menu is great with some interesting choices, we ordered in the bar while having a drink,I believe the manager took our order but must have made a mistake as the wrong main course was brought to me (beef wellington insted of roast fillet)....this resulted in the service going in to meltdown!!!..my partner's (delicious) roast lamb was eventually taken away as I was sitting there with nothing...We got some complimentary soup in the meantime..when my roast fillet arrived they also brought some new lamb which was barely cooked and stone cold...Roast fillet was delicious though..Sad really as this could have been a memorable meal...despite this we will be back hopefully though perhaps not to dine there!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2009

the goring is a delightful hotel, ideally located for those like us, visiting the apollo victria theatre. The staff were very friendly, especially the doorman who gave us directions to many places.
The only reasons to give it 4 instead of five were that there was no mini-bar and the lift wasn't working when we arrived. Overall, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank meerkat_simples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoringReservations, Reservations Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, 11 February 2009
Thank you very much for your review of The Goring. We always welcome guest feedback, as it allows us to continually improve.

It was very kind of the reviewer to comment on the friendliness of our staff.

With regards to the mini-bar observation, as we are an AA five red-star rated hotel, we offer twenty four hour room service, with no delivery charges - you are here to enjoy your stay and relax, so let us mix and deliver your perfect gin and tonic to you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Our stay at this hotel was a bad experience. The extra bed for our 8 year old was absolutely terrible (50 pound per night). No mini bar, coffee or thee facilities in the room, when I ordered a thee in the morning had to wait for 35 min. so I to walked downstairs to get a bottle of water. Continental breakfast (14 pounds) is just coffee, thee, orange just, toast and jam and they come once with a basked with muffins. I expected at least a buffet breakfast in a 5 star hotel. The hotel is situated in a small street so don't expect a nice view.

When we left we asked the manager the best routing details to Luton Airport and we almost missed our plane because of the wrong instructions. I really don't understand all the good reviews this hotel is getting considering the price you have to pay.

  • Liked — Tooth brush in the bathroom
  • Disliked — no mini bar
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank PaulineAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,733 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,068 in London
1,906 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,068 in London
376 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#9 of 1,068 in London
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Property: The Goring
Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing