We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay somwhere special, stay at The Goring.”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #7 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2009

My husband and I have been visiting The Goring for the last nine or ten years. We start and end our holiday at this amazing hotel. This is a family-owned hotel that retains the style and charm of a classic British hotel without the snobbery of higher priced "luxury" hotels. The staff is amazing - from the doormen to the reception folks, to the dining room staff, everyone is trained to focus on making the guests feel comfortable and taken care of. The Restaurant is five-star and truly a "dining experience." The Dining Room itself is spectacular. There is no better place to have tea in London, and the lounge is a great place to relax with a coctail. If you want to feel comfortable, taken care of, and get the best food and most importantly, the best staff in London, stay at The Goring. We love it and will go back year after year. Cheers to The Goring!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2009

We spent 7 days at the Goring and could not have been more satisfied. The location, near Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station, is convenient to all public transportation. Our room was spotless and comfortable, with endless attention to detail and service by the housekeeping staff. We were even able to check in well before the traditional time after a long overseas flight. The concierge got us tickets to two sold-out events and was helpful with local transportation and events tips. We had breakfast there daily and enjoyed a lovely high tea one afternoon because the food and service were both so good. This is a great hotel for those who want to experience gracious and hospitable British service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This is old english luxury. Not the usual hotel I go for but this was abolutely fantastic. The best service ever and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelopinion-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Stayed at the goring with my wife and 8 year old twins for a week. We stayed in the family accomodations(two connecting rooms) which was simply fanatastic. Its hard to describe how truly incredible the staff is at this hotel - from the moment you walk in you feel the entire staff is personally invested in your experience. Fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea. Probably the most surprising was in such a high end hotel with a lot of professionals, our children were welcomed with open arms - even to the point of making cookies with the chef in the kitchen one afternoon. This hotel sets the standard for service - tickets to anything you want, even sold out shows were procured without a problem - we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joezeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

What a lovely and charming hotel located near many sites and shopping. The staff was very attentive, friendly and ready to help with any request! The doorman was very helpful with suggestions and directions. The rooms where clean and large, with nicely laid out bathrooms, which is hard to find in larger cities. It was nice to see that it was a family owned hotel, rich with history. (in other reviews... there where notes about missing a mini bar: even though there was no mini bar, the staff was quick to offer beverage service to the room, upon arrival.) The main level bar area was luxurious and very comfortable. I could have stayed all evening. We'll be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dosteravon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Originally planned to stay for one night on business ... extended for three because I loved it so much and was really sad to leave. A small, family owned hotel with staff who really seem to enjoy working there (quite rare) even doormen who remembered my name. Restaurant thats worth a visit even if you're not a guest (rare in hotels). Room was beautiful - clean, traditional, yet with modern touches such as electric curtains. Silk wallpaper, marble bathrooms

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wearsthesoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed in this luxurious hotel from the 7th to the 10th of feb. Lovely ambiance and rooms. Wonderful bar, prices are standard for a hotel of this type. Breakfast was great with a lovely selection..(especially the omlette with cheddar!!) Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The only negative was the night we ate in the hotel restaraunt...The menu is great with some interesting choices, we ordered in the bar while having a drink,I believe the manager took our order but must have made a mistake as the wrong main course was brought to me (beef wellington insted of roast fillet)....this resulted in the service going in to meltdown!!!..my partner's (delicious) roast lamb was eventually taken away as I was sitting there with nothing...We got some complimentary soup in the meantime..when my roast fillet arrived they also brought some new lamb which was barely cooked and stone cold...Roast fillet was delicious though..Sad really as this could have been a memorable meal...despite this we will be back hopefully though perhaps not to dine there!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,915 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,523 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,077 in London
452 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £314 - £593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing