We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Goring
Ranked #4 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

From the moment I arrived at the front door until I had to say goodbye, it was like coming home. The staff could not have been more accommodating and the hotel is so comfortable. This was my second stay at The Goring and it just gets better. What a delight to wake up and look out over the garden; or to enjoy breakfast on the terrace. It is like an oasis away from the bustle of the city. The place was buzzing - bar is amazing and the restaurants top notch! Concierge was spot on on things to do while in town. The trip was perfect from start to finish; only sad moment of trip was when I had to check-out. I will be back again and again! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austenfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

Cannot recommend more highly. It's a family-owned hotel and they make you feel like you are part of that family. Beautiful rooms, comfortable linens, fast wifi, 24-hr room service and the perfect location on a quiet side street that is centrally located. The concierge was also courteous and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again - indeed, it will be a reason to return to London!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyra2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This was our second stay at the Goring and confirmed the Goring as our favourite hotel. The staff are truly exceptional. It may not have all the facilities of larger hotels. Some of the quirks, such as the lack of in-room tea and coffee making facilities, would probably be irrittating in any other hotel. However, at the Goring the quirks simply add to the charm. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffordOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This is my favorite.
Beautiful building, cozy and comfortable rooms and halls. Exelent breakfast, very good restorant and lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_P_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with my wife and baby daughter. Great location, just around the corner from Buckingham Palace and many other London attractions. However, it amazes me everytime how much hotels in London cost. Having travelled and lived in many locations around the globe and stayed in numerous 5 star hotels, i find it hard to believe how some of the hotels in London can be considered 5 star. Yes, this hotel has a fabulous location, superb staff, excellent breakfast and reception rooms but, when it comes to the rooms, i was disappointed. Simple things like, Tea/Coffee making facilities were missing, door on the bathroom did not close or lock, lights did not work. Then the add-ons, £29 for breakfast, £40 a night to park the car, £8 for a G&T, £15 for the internet. For me, overall just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eddychanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I visited London during a recent business trip with my wife and decided to spend one night at the Goring Hotel for the first time before heading back home. We usually stay in London around twice a month for a few days on each visit, so believe we have a reasonable idea of what to expect. As an absolute must, we always expect a high degree of respect, courtesy and appreciation for paying guests regardless of creed, colour, rich or poor.

Although it's a good hotel, unfortunately the image (and our opinion) of the hotel was soon tainted by a few members of staff who probably didn't think they were paid to smile (even with a fake one), or respond to a quick greeting (which certainly wouldn't be stopping them from their duties).

Unfortunately with better courtesy seen from some other London hotels (Covent Garden or Soho still our favourite) I'm afraid it's not really possible to rate this hotel as being an 'excellent' experience on this occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raj1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Just arriving from 18 days of pampering on the QM2 we were very please with our choice for a 2 night stay after the cruise in London. Tho the rooms are small, the staff, public rooms, excellent breakfast and location make up for small room...Excellent service from everyone. From Paul & John at the Concierge's desk to the waitstaff in the public rooms....we loved it! Our new place to stay in London.....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napafoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,497 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: 15 Beeston Place, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £312 - £961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing