We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Royal Mews

Royal Mews
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.21*
and up
Windsor Duck Tour
Ranked #137 of 1,608 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Mews is home to the royal collection of historic coaches and carriages and is considered to be one of the finest working stables in existence. The Royal Mews is responsible for all road travel arrangements for The Queen and members of the Royal Family and is home to the most dazzling display of coaches including the Gold State Coach, which has been used at every coronation since that of George IV in 1821. During your visit, you will be able to see The Diamond Jubilee State Coach.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

You don't need to be interested in horses or carriages to love this. The carriages are spectacular and if you've even just seen a glimpse of a royal wedding on television, you will recognize these works of art and finery. Very, very interesting place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank charlottebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    375
    111
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Must See if you're going to Buckingham Palace”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We went to the Royal Mews whilst filling in time until our allocated entry time for Buckingham Palace. It doesn't take an overly long time to go through, but is interesting all the same. Interesting to see the carriages that transport the Royal Family.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We enjoyed this immensely. The coaches were beautiful, very ornate, and it was neat to see a couple of the horses and cars. Only difficulty was photographing some of the coaches, you are so close you need a very wide lens, and sometimes the lookie-loos stand right in front of everything for the entire audio guide segment, blocking everyone else's views.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprised by the Hidden Mews”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed looking at the carriages. They are beautiful. We also got to see some of the horse coming back from the morning training.

I think that teenagers would be bored easily, but it was great for us to do before the changing of the guards. It was part of the London Pass so it was quick and easy and really not any extra cost (because it was on the London Pass).

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank penguin28173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, NY USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting sidetrip, though our teens were bored.”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our short time at the Royal Mews though I can't say the same for our two teenage sons who where somewhat bored (understandably). I don't think it was worth the price of admission if purchased individually like we did, but if you have a London Pass or Royal Day Out pass that includes admission to the Mews it's worth a quick stop. All told we we in and out in under an hour.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Preds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Mews also viewed

 

Been to Royal Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing