We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant small museum”

Dr. Johnson's House
Ranked #318 of 1,631 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of Dr. Johnson, where he wrote the first comprehensive English Dictionary. One of the very few residential houses that were built in 1700 and are still standing.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Brilliant small museum”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the home of the writer of the dictionary Dr Samuel Johnson. I found this place because i am a National Trust member and Dr Johnson's House is one of their partners so we got 50% of the entry fee. This house is in a very quite area on the street, but there are plenty of signs pointing you towards the museum, you have to ring the doorbell to be let in. You start in the reception room and work your way up each floor. You learn who Dr Johnson was, and see his library and bedrooms. This is a nice museum, there is a audio guide available for an extra fee, unfortunately when i bought my tickets they did not offer this to us, so i do not know if this adds to the experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    56
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well laid out and very informative”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Home to dictionary writer Samuel Johnson, this gives you insight as to how he lived and the influences and people around him. Also a beautiful house with beautiful furnishings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

You really feel that you have stepped back 250 years as you walk round this delightful Georgian house. It has been very sensitively preserved and provides a fascinating insight into the life of this great man, as well as his time. The information cards in each room are very clear and informative. Of added interest were the displays about the firemen who used the house during the Blitz.
It is tucked away off Fleet Street in one of the many atmospheric alleys and courtyards.
We followed our visit with lunch at the Cheshire Cheese (see separate review) which enhanced the sense of stepping back in time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Inside London's past”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

London's Georgian houses have always fascinated me, so it was a delight to be able to visit one preserved so well. Look out for the statue of Dr. Johnson's cat across the square outside - complete with dictionary! A short walk towards Fleet Street and you will find Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, a local haunt for both Dr. Johnson and Dickens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sassie114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Interesting House”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Well worth a visit. Not crowded when we went on a Saturday morning. Not open on Sundays. Lovely house to wander around in a quiet square.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mulherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dr. Johnson's House also viewed

 

Been to Dr. Johnson's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing