We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice church and garden visit at Covent Garden” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)

St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.77*
and up
London Covent Garden Walking Tour
Ranked #307 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,330 reviews
3,420 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,297 helpful votes
“Nice church and garden visit at Covent Garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Directly on Covent Garden, you can find a lovely little church and garden. This is the St. Paul's Church (also known as the Actors' Church) not to be confused with London's famous St. Paul's Cathedral.

The Actor's Church has been at this location since 1633. It is a nice but simple church to visit, we mostly enjoyed the courtyard and garden area around the church, providing quite pleasant refuge from the surrounding neighbour and busy Covent Garden square.

In the end, not a priority attraction in our opinion but a pleasant historic church to see if you happen to be in Covent Garden and like church visits. Its a nice way to spend 10-15 minutes of your time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
764 reviews
267 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“A gem and place to reflect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were here for a Memorial Service but found the atmosphere and welcome to be second to none that we were soon relaxed. The church is a fine example of Inigo Jones' work and has fine acoustics and organ. The church was packed but as we left I was able to view several memorials to actors and their benefactors - from Charles Chaplin to Noel Coward. I would like to return just to sit in quiet from the bustle of Covent Garden when I am next in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Heavenly - an unforgettable mixing of art and religion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I am religious. I stopped in to say a quick prayer and was rewarded with a chamber group practicing La Boheme highlights. The singer in the Mimi role was beautiful and had a flawless voice. Creativity and the Creator in a small, beautiful place. It was unforgettable.

Noel Coward and Charlie Chaplin are buried here. St. Paul's is a treasure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,221 reviews
702 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Building Full of Theatrical Memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

In London for a theatre visit we strolled through the Covent Garden area and returned to this oasis at the core of the area. A very good place to rest and contemplate with reminders of theatre memories wherever you look. Being regular theatregoers over many years some of the names and memorials are particularly poignant. We especially enjoyed the way that this historic building and its grounds are still very much part of this vibrant area. Within the church you can hear the laughter and enjoyment coming from the entertainers outside under The Portico and on leaving the building it is good to see how well the grounds are used, not only by visitors but also residents and staff who work nearby and are on a break.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost Missed this ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

You step through a doorway, and there inside lies the grounds of the Actor's Church ... a comfortable outside area with circles of benches all holding folks relaxing in their day break ... inside a small but intimate church celebrating life and memories ... a spot to light a candle, put your name in a book, pet the cat lazing on one of the chairs near the alter .... stop in, and enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhumesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church) also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing