We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmm?”
Review of Temple Church

Temple Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.53*
and up
Small-Group Guided Tour of The Old City of London
More Info
US$130.30*
and up
Private Guided Tour of the Old City of London
More Info
US$185.29*
and up
Small Group Tour: London National Gallery and the Old City of London
Ranked #102 of 1,655 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm?”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We got to temple church easily enough very excited to get there . Unfortunately at 1 minute past four the guy on the door was quite rude in stating they close at four grabbed the sign & basically shut the door in our face . My advice get there early as we are flying out the next day we were bitterly disappointed at not getting in as temple church was a must see for us

Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    154
    22
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“OK - just OK”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been so often in London but never visited the Temple Church. According to my travel book I expected a lot of different building there but what I finally got was just a church - an old one where I had to pay 4 Pounds entrance and that´s about it.

As an atheist I hoped an interesting building or for a big historical place. So it was just an OK place - seen and finished.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“It should be at the first page with the top attractions!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I can't believe this place is not at the top attractions list for London because it is quite worthy, IMO... It was my 3rd visit to London and I was hoping to spend some time in this church since the first time... Luckily, I've found time for the visit and went there... God, this place is truly a hidden gem, the whole area is nice and not crowded with tourists (some amazingly rare in London).
There's a small fee for the visit but totally worth it. The senior that received us was nice enough to talk a while about the place and give some explanations about it.
A must do for everyone.
A nice tip is to visit the Twinings Tea store after the visit, it is near by an has a great variety of blends for tasting and buying!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SamanthaVlassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aichwald
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of those hidden gems!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Temple church is not so easy to find. Don't give up! It's worth a visit. Very friendly staff. And if you need a break from all the hustle and bustle of the city this is the place to go to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Super friendly staff. £4 admission. And you're welcomed to take pics.

A small, quaint church - steeped in history. Has extensive informational posters about the church, it's origins, it's history, the effigies and of course the famous da Vinci code filming. Although I went there because of the da Vinci code - I ended up learning a lot more about the church itself - which was great!

My favourite thing about the church is that there is enough information around - so you're not hanging around wondering what you're looking at.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybeanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temple Church also viewed

 

Been to Temple Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing