We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Ranked #740 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

As a cheaper option in London, the Caswell was perfectly fine - I wasn't expecting the Ritz after all. The room was quite clean, although I wasn't crazy about the fact that we had to go outside a back door to get to it as this meant that when I woke up in the middle of the night I had to go outside to get to the bathroom since there was no bathroom in the room. One of the hotel workers also kept smoking outside the windows to our room even after I asked them not to, which was irritating. So if you don't want that sort of situation, you should specifically request that your room be in the main portion of the building.

I'll also note that if you need an elevator, there isn't one in the building, just some rather steep stairs, so look elsewhere.

The bathroom in the basement level was fairly clean, although it was quite cold in there since the window didn't shut all the way. The shower was fine - rather large, the controls were easy to use, and there was plenty of hot water to be had.

Great location - about ten minutes from Victoria Station and a little less from Pimlico Station on the Underground.

Really, my only real bone of contention with the hotel was that the times I was told were when breakfast were served weren't followed at all; some mornings breakfast started late, some mornings it ended early. I had booked here in part because there was a breakfast served, but out of four mornings I only managed to get it once.

I suppose the up-shot of it is that you get what you pay for, and as such I was pleased with the Caswell; cleanliness is probably the most important factor to me, and, as I said, the room was very clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damariscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear DamariScotta,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Some of your comments have caused me some concern. In particular the smoking. If you can let me know what time this happened so I can investigate the matter. I have also noted you comments about the breakfast times. Going forward I will be personally checking the start and finish time daily, Please accept my apologies for this.

I look forward to you response and I hope that you will choose us when you are next in London.

Nimesh Patel

Manager

email : nimesh@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    87
    110
    50
    68
See reviews for
89
80
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This B&B is certainly not the nicest but its also not the worst. The bathrooms are shared and not very clean, the rooms are very small but have the essentials perfect for a busy traveler. This B&B is perfect for someone who will only be here to get ready and fall asleep. The breakfast is very basic, just a few croissants and cereals. The price of the hotel was very cheap and the location was close to many attractions. The service was very good and helpful as well. I would recommend this b&b for a busy traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatDrinkTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Eatdrinktravel2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your recommendation. I have noted your comment about the shower and we are taking steps to improve the cleaning so that they are cleaned more regularly throughout the day.

I am look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in London.

Nimesh Patel
Operations Manager
Email : manager@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed in the Caswell Hotel whilst on a business trip and needed somewhere close to Victoria station for ease of transport.
The room we had was small but had its own little en-suite, all a bit dated and tired but worked and was clean.
We had one night here and had all the usual necessities- like tea making facilities in the room and even an iron and hair dryer.
I paid £40 for 2 of us in a twin room, which I believe to be very good value. The continental breakfast was included. My only gripe was that the breakfast is served from 7.45am and not earlier, which meant we had to rush to get to our conference.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for value for money and location. I would not bring family here, although for more business trips, or accommodation for shopping in London I would not hesitate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Dear Lucy C

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am grateful for your recommendation. I am look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in London.

Nimesh Patel
Manager
Email : manager@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Myself and a friend stayed at the Caswell Hotel on the 27th October 2012. We were seeing the amazing musical WICKED! We arrived in London earlier than check in time and were allowed to leave our luggage in the reception. We were allowed back in and out whenever we wanted and were greeted with nothing but kindness and friendlyness from the staff. The room was basic but clean but for £75 a night for the two of us we were more than happy! Breakfast was simple but enough and again served by friendly staff. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk away from Victoria Shopping Center, Bus Station and Victoria Train Station as well as about that distance from WICKED! Which suited us perfectly so we were close to the hotel after an amazing but long night at WICKED! The 24hour reception suited us perfectly for this. We will most definitely be going back to the Caswell whenever we were in London as we loved it so much we did not want to leave! Thank you to the staff for helping to make our trip as enjoyable and easy as possiable!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Londonlover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Londonlover25

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am grateful for your recommendation. I am look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in London.

Nimesh Patel
Manager
Email : manager@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great budget room for one night, found it on laterooms.co.uk. The breakfast was basic but nice. The room was really clean with tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and a TV. There were also extra blankets. Close to some great restaurants (I recommend the Mekong) and Victoria Station. The decor is a bit 80's but who cares.....
The only bad thing was the shared shower. It was the size of a cupboard, so had to leave my things outside in the hall. There was a block in the shower so it filled with water very quickly. I couldn't shower for more than 1 minute so impossible to wash my hair but for 1 night, it was manageable.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leannable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel London Victoria, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Leannable

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a comfortable stay.

I am grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment on shower. I am sorry for this trouble. We have unblocked the drain now. We also have some en-suite rooms as well which is perfectly suitable for you. I am look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in London.

Nimesh Patel
Manager
Email : manager@hotellondon.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#699 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#552 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#926 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#869 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#631 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#608 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caswell Hotel London Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caswell Hotel London Victoria

Property: Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Address: 25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #740 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Caswell Hotel London Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value budget Central London stays for cost-conscious travellers at this 19 rooms London Bed & Breakfast hotel with a range of affordable, functional rooms easy on your pocket just a 6 minutes from Victoria station and a short walk from Buckingham Palace. Ideal for families and groups of friends-Basic or Ensuite triple and quad rooms! Elementary comforts, friendly helpful service and well connected to the whole of the capital, with fast direct train links to/from Gatwick airport a short stroll away.Nearest tube station is Victoria (Circle, District, Victoria lines plus regional / national rail links including Gatwick Express, and national / international coach services), 5 minutes from the hotel. Choose from simple, affordable basic rooms with shared bathroom / WC in the hall or en suite options, all equipped with LCD TV and hairdryer. Wi Fi internet is also provided free of charge at Reception area.Local shops, cafes, pubs and eateries are a short stroll from your London base, and it's just 10 minutes on foot to Hyde Park and Marble Arch. The Houses of Parliament, the imposing Whitehall and the historic Westminster Abbey are a 15 minute stroll. By tube just 10 minutes to Earl's Court, fashionable South Kensington (for the Natural History / Victoria & Albert museums), Notting Hill and Portobello Road market, plus the vibrant West End, Piccadilly Circus and Covent Garden. The Tower of London, Tower Bridge and The City are also an easy 15 minute tube journey. Affordable, enjoyable location for your London trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caswell Hotel London Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing