We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #221 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Veru good hotel for short or lo get stay. We had the family room and til was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was good, everything se wanted. The staff was very good and helpful. Good restaurants near by. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Family room was very spacious and good
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Vaka2014, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, service and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,177)
There are newer reviews for The Darlington Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Darlington Hyde Park is a small, very friendly hotel in an excellent location. You can reach Paddington Station within 4 or 5 minutes, and you are equally close to Hyde Park and can easily walk to many central London attractions. There are lots of shops and restaurants close to the hotel as well. For such a central location the Darlington is surprisingly quiet. I can't speak for the other rooms, but the single room I stayed in was very convenient, very clean and even cosy. It was also just the right size, certainly not as claustrophobic as many other single rooms in London hotels! There's a tea and coffee-maker (the Union-Jack mug was a nice touch!) and even a little fridge, and from the window I had a view over some rooftops and even a glimpse of London Eye in the distance.
Breakfast was served in the basement, but the room was clean and bright. Apart from a small choice of toast, cheese, jam, tea and coffee, you could also order full English breakfast if you liked. The staff in the breakfast room and at reception were very friendly.
You have free Wi-Fi in all the rooms, and there was even a choice of magazines in my room, including the very useful Timeout for London.
All in all I can say that this hotel is really good value for money, and I can fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaniK3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear DaniK3009, Thank you for your stay with us and for your lovely review on Trip Advisor site. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your recommendations to others is greatly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best discount rates when traveling to London next. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel is in an ideal, central location, near to Paddington Station, St. Mary's hospital and Hyde Park. We walked from Marylebone; it took about 20 minutes. The No. 7 bus goes down to Oxford St and to the British Museum - handy when the tube is on strike! There are plenty of cafes, bistros and restaurants close by and they have a room service menu which looked good too. There was scaffolding all over the front of the hotel but this just emphasises that they keep the place in good decorative order; inside was clean and bright too. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff and the ladies serving breakfast were superb. Our room was modern, bright and a reasonable size. There were tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was modern too and the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water. Only quibble - to fit in a bathroom around the stairwell meant it had 1 step in to shower level then a further 4 or 5 steps up to the rest; the edges of the steps were a bit hard on bare feet! You could also hear people in the room above. Breakfast was lovely - a reasonable selection for the size of hotel - and the cooked food was delicious. It would be nice to have better quality juice and tea/coffee though, rather than catering standard. However, we would recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a disability, check about steps in bathrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovegeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear lovegeog, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean, spacious and you enjoyed the service as well as our location and transport links to attractions. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide. Best regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Unfriendly reception which does not address concerns. Noisy room in the basement (No. 3). You can hear the running of each person, especially at night, which enters the hotel. During our absence the second door key is stolen by employees from the room without that we were informed. Very simple breakfast. General: Hotel is not recommended!

Room Tip: Do not book Room Nr. 3
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank WalSe702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear WalSe702, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was hugely disappointed to note that we didn't live up to your expectations. We work hard to make each and every guest's stay special at The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. We have been honoured to receive many comments from guests about the friendliness and warmth of every member of my team and I'm sorry to note you did not have this same impression on this occasion. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our service. Regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was my second visit to the Darlington and I was looking forward to seeing if they were still offering the same, great service. I booked directly via the hotel itself, which offers good discounts to previous guests as well as special offers. The other internet booking sites can't compare. Another plus is that you will have a direct dialogue with the receptionists and they do their very best to comply with your wishes. Since I really loved the double room (104) I was in a year ago, I requested this room and it felt like coming home. The staff had written beforehand that there was painting work going on outside the front of the hotel, which meant scaffolding in front of the windows, but that was not a problem at all. Our room was for relaxing in the evening with a nice cup of hot tea, sleeping and taking a hot shower (great water pressure) and it met every criteria for these needs.

If you would like to read in detail about The Darlington, please check my previous review from June 19, 2013.

Otherwise, you can be sure to be professionaly greeted with a smile and a very quick check-in, stay in modern (even though not elaborate) rooms that are clean, spacious, comfortable, practical and with amenities which are re-filled every day, get help with taxis, bookings and suggestions to activities, restaurants etc, and receive the same, pleasant service upon check-out. If they are not fully booked, they will allow late check out if you ask for it but otherwise they will store your luggage for you until it is time for you to leave London.

One thing that I have to mention was the lovely Adrienne who oversees the breakfast room. She greeted us with the warmest welcome and even remembered us from a year ago, which we thought was amazing. Many thanks to her and the kitchen staff for wonderful, well-prepared hot breakfasts. We were always prepared for a day full of activities!

This is a hotel with a heart and a staff who truly show that their guests are important and they would love for them to return. I don't believe you can get the same, personal service at this price anywhere else in the city. You can, of course, pay more, but that does not guarantee that you will be happier or feel more at home.

Room Tip: We still love 104, which is quiet, spacious and has a gorgeous bathroom with a deep tub.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear MissDRM, Thank you so much for your second stay with us and for another brilliant review here on Trip Advisor! I was absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that for the second time we met your expectations. I have passed your lovely comments to all the staff and especially Adrienne, our breakfast supervisor. I was extremely happy to read that you felt the hotel has a heart. It is really lovely. Our aim here is to ensure that each and every guest has a fantastic stay with us and I really do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future. My renewed thanks, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The price was one of the cheapest I found and it included breakfast so decided to give it a shot! It takes you 3-5min to walk from the Hotel to Paddington Station which can take you to the Airport or anywhere you want in London(such as Oxford Street, straight line, no hubs needed).

The location itself is pretty good, quiet and beautiful, not in the heart of London but as state before, its pretty easy to get to the main center by using the subway, and the Oyster card is the most honest thing I have ever seen in my life!

The people from the hotel are always willing to help you out with doubts you might have and they offer you adapters in case you dont have one for London outlets!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luizhorowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear liuzhorovitz, Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay in The Darlington Hyde Park. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the location as well as the service provided by the team and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again. My kindest regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location, a couple of blocks from direct rail service (LHR and beyond) and with easy access to five different Tube lines. You can walk to a number of attractions; Hyde Park is only three blocks away, perfect for a morning walk or run. It's comfortable, clean and quiet, even overlooking the street! We felt safe and well looked after by the excellent staff. The breakfast room is pleasant and they offer good selections, including the all important bran cereals. The made-to-order English breakfasts were tasty and hot out of the kitchen. We'll stay here again, for sure!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Rebecca M, I am delighted to read your recent review on your stay in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. We are all very happy that we have met your expectations and you felt safe and comfortable during your stay. The positive feedback like yours encourages the management and operation team to even harder work which is appreciated by our guests. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Darlington Hyde Park on your return to London. Regards,
Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#428 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,072 in London
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing