We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Darlington Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #193 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Back to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having stayed before, we made 2 more visits during our Europe trip. The first room a double was quite large, had a separate area for tea and coffee making and as usual, was clean and comfortable. Our second room was a suite, and although not luxurious, was large with a lounge room with separate tv. The bathroom was not much larger than our first room but as usual was clean and of a reasonable size and there is nothing to complain about as the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The wifi does seem to have a few problems and keeps dropping out but that is just a small problem. Breakfast is cooked freshly and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a laundry downstairs with washer and dryer and ironing board. Location is perfect for London, close to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express and lots of restaurants and shops. It is an easy walk to Hyde Park and transport into the city. Overall, a really good hotel in a fantastic location, particularly if coming from Heathrow, it is not far to walk, even with heavy bags so you avoid the need for a taxi. One small note, there is no air conditioning in the rooms so it could get rather hot in some of the rooms in summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumanddaughter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Mumanddaughter08, Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am most grateful for your comments, which are very valuable source of information for the management and help us monitor and improve services we provide. Our guest experiences are very important to us and we were glad to see that you returned to The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. Please do come again when I am sure we will meet your expectations. My renewed thanks and best regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    880
    171
    38
    13
See reviews for
480
752
199
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ideal for a short stay. A single room was very small, but quiet and had everything, including kettle and safe. With lots of luggage could be problematic (also because of the stairs despite the lift), but for me with only a small bag, it was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScepticUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ScepticUK, Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. I do hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Your sincerely, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosseto, Italy
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I know it's hard to find good value for money hotels in London, but this was a good surprise. Very well located, a few minutes walk away from Paddington station. Free wifi working properly. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. Our room was rather spacious, considering we are in London. Anyhow the major surprise was the breakfast. Good choice, eggs made by the order and once again staff nice and always with a smile in their face. Last, but not least, it was included in our rate. A real very good unexpected deal. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Ciopman, Thank you for booking with us and for leaving such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Darlington Hyde Park. I was really happy to read that you liked the hotel, the service and especially our included in the rate great breakfast. I shared your kind comments with the team. Please do come and stay with us again soon. Contact us directly at info@darlingtonhotel.co.uk for the availability and best rates. Warm regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Last minute booking - only looking for somewhere to sleep close to Paddington after late night in town. Only a Suite available but at better price than bog-standard room in mainstream hotel so very good value as breakfast included. Rooms were decent - bed comfortable though sheets a bit thin. Bathroom had good shower. Didn't have time to use 'lounge' but good size and if you were in London for a few days as a tourist or on business then it would offer a good place to rest up other than the bedroom. Staff helpful. Breakfast was only let down but for the overall price can't complain.

Room Tip: Go for a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bath2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Bath2014, thank you for booking with us and for reviewing The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad that you enjoyed the suite room with its comfortable bed and powerful shower. I was equally pleased that you found our staff helpful. I was concerned that you were a bit disappointed with the breakfast- if there are any issues you would like to raise to help improve our breakfast standards, please do not hesitate to contact me on dominika@darlingtonhotel.co.uk. I hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is one of many in the area (almost all of the terrace houses have been converted into hotels). We chose this hotel because they had a quadruple room (cheaper than getting 2 rooms). Location is very convenient to Paddington station for Heathrow Express and the tube, and there are several bus lines serving the area. Also nearby is the stop for the Big Bus hop on hop off tour. Lots of restaurants and shops in the area. Breakfast is included in the rate... The normal English breakfast (but sadly they don't serve baked beans and hash browns with breakfast). Decent rooms (small as expected for London) but the bathroom is a bit tired. Nonetheless, a convenient place for exploring London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear kakijalan, Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide. We take all the comments and suggestions on board and implement changes if possible according to guests' suggestions. We do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you in our hotel in future. Regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Darlington Hyde Park in October 2013 prior to taking a transatlantic cruise.
The hotel is very clean and in a good location near Paddington Station. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The manager even showed me how to run the washer and dryer when I wasn't familiar with them. There are many restaurants nearby and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel for your next London visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room when you reserve as I understand some of the rooms are on the small size. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Luigia60, Thank you for taking time to review The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, the facilities, helpful staff and our convenient location. Your recommendation to others is greatly appreciated. We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed overnight at the Darlington for the first time at the beginning of May, sharing a triple room with two friends. Although the room was in the basement (Room 33), it was bright, very spacious and spotlessly clean with 3 single beds, all of which were extremely comfortable. The hotel itself is conveniently located, in a nice area, just 5 minutes walk from Paddington Station, near bus routes and close to Hyde Park. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafés close by. We ate at the Monkey Puzzle pub, which had also been reviewed on Trip Advisor, and weren't disappointed.
This hotel deserves it's high rating, and I agree wholeheartedly with all the positive reviews it has received, including the helpfulness of the staff. A couple of minor things to be aware of - the water pressure in the wash basin taps is quite fierce, and there is a step down when you go through the main door into Reception. There ARE proper warning signs about this, but I wasn't looking where I was going, and narrowly avoided making a dramatic entrance head first!! All in all, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and it will certainly be my first choice of hotel when I am next in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Garvey118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Garvey118, Thank you very much for your stay with us and for reviewing The Darlington Hyde Park on Trip Advisor. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us including location, friendliness of the staff and that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. Rooms located on the lower ground floor are spacious, brights, full of daylight. They are definitely as lovely as the rooms on the other levels of the building. It is very rewarding to hear that you will definitely come back. Please do contact us directly for the best prices when planning your next trip to London. My kindest regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#302 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#402 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Property: The Darlington Hyde Park
Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing